We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AWFUL!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Barnacle Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Big Pine Key B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“AWFUL!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Good Lord, $275 for this. The current manager by the name of Eric was on staff there when we went the week of December 19, 2012. Whoever created this building in the beginning did a fabulous job because the design and everything is creative, funky and wonderful. But Eric, well.... he appears to be doing the minimal amount of work to just get by between hangovers. One night, he and the girlfriend (works at the local bar) had a party right outside our room, thanks. I was awake half the night. Everything is in disrepair and I see this lasting only a short time longer before somebody comes along and closes it down. Such a shame because the building itself is wonderful!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarnacleB10, Front Office Manager at Barnacle Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
We are sorry if your rest was disturbed on one night of your stay by a holiday get together of 5 people sitting by the ocean that was over between 11 - 12.
If your stay was so awful why would you stay 6 nights if this disturbance occurred the second night.
Why also would you call on the last night to see if the room was available for another night stay.
Every GREEN business only changes the towels every other day conserve water. And if you wanted daily maid service you should have asked. As it is not our policy to to come clean your room every day . And after six days its wasn't that dirty except for where you got some kind of white paint on the floor and the bed spread that took 4 hours to get up before the next guest arrived.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    50
    17
    20
    17
See reviews for
15
157
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Best bed & breakfast in the Florida Keys. This lovely place is a great location for day trips to either Key Largo or Key West. Kayaks and bikes right there for guests to use. Wonderful breakfast with an ocean view. The Key deer and iguanas are fun to see too. Eric is a fun, friendly, and helpful host. The star gazing was amazing!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizrayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicksburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

I chose the Barnacle B&B for its cool, quirky architecture (built in the 70s with lots of arches, concrete curves, funky touches), beach access/view, and the inclusion of some toys (bicycles, kayaks, etc.). We stayed three nights and had three wonderful, different, colorful, hearty breakfasts... good job, Eric! Hubby and I rode bicycles (do check if you need to air the tires). Bikes are cruisers so refresh your memory on how to put on the brakes! We rode only on Long Beach Drive which if you make a complete loop you'll travel 4.5 miles. We also braved the muck of the seaweed to take a double/tandem kayak out for an afternoon. Take it out at high tide (tide runs every 6 hours) to minimize the sinking in the seaweed... I wore water shoes for protection from the rocks and gunk. Tim (owner/Eric's step dad), Eric and Eric's girlfriend (sorry, I never got your name) stayed busy working on property so were often available to answer questions and give advice for local eateries and attractions. No snorkel gear was available as it had all disappeared or been damaged and removed. There was a small hot tub available in the Atrium common area which we never tried. Also there was a larger one outside for which parts had been ordered. We loved talking to the other guests from all parts of the US. Maps with pins show visitors from all over the world have stayed here. Hammock in the tiki hut was great for napping. Climb up to the roof for stargazing. The key deer were so tame and plentiful around the house and on the road (you are in a protected habitat). The odor was noticeable (but for us it smelled like someone had been boiling peanuts), but we got used to it so that it was not offensive. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had one of the two Atrium Rooms (I think Dolphin) which was spacious and comfortable. We never t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnitaMargarita51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the Cottage at this bed & breakfast and it was great. It may be a little small for some people especially the shower. There isn't really any complaints about this place. People have said it before about the Seaweed but it is the Keys & Big Pine so that will always be something there. There is really no reason to give this place a bad review for that. It is just Nature. So if you want to stay somewhere that is cozy and has the most comfortable bed ever!! Stay in the Cottage. You also feel like you are in your own little private island because you will be nesseled between trees! it is great!

I made 2 videos of the Cottage which is the room we stayed in and also of the outside area and beach front and also the inside of the main house. Other than me and other people writing reviews, watching videos is a great way to see what this place is really like. So I wanted to post the links to my You Tube videos for people to watch and help you decide if this may be the place for you.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rCyrWLrbr24&feature=share&list=UUrDMe0fl2yeyZhkqrF_2hog

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tr94_PYGaU4&feature=share&list=UUrDMe0fl2yeyZhkqrF_2hog

If the videos are not popping up for any reason my You Tube name is ButterFlyKey422

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Butterflykey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We just returned from our first trip to the Keys had stayed at Barnacle B&B for 2 nights. We stayed in the Ocean Room which was right on the beach. We were able to sit out there at night and were greeted by some Key deer. They came right up to us & just walked around. It was a very neat experience. The room was comfortable & the breakfast was wonderful! Thanks Eric!!! I do need to get the recipe for the baked French toast!!! We would definitely return!

Room Tip: Take the Ocean Room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Barnacle Bed and Breakfast 3 years ago and again this August for our anniversary. We stayed 8 nights and it was truly the best vacation we've ever had! We stayed in Key Largo about 2 years ago and realized that Big Pine Key and the Barnacle are the place to stay!!! As many people have said before, if you Don't like nature and being in a secluded area, Don't stay here! This place is for people who appreciate the outdoors and don't require the amenities of The Hilton Hotel. If you have the opportunity, try the Sebago Island T'ing for your snorkeling and kayaking trip! Fewer crowds and better service than other companies. Big Pine Key restaurant is amazing and you don't have to spend $100+ on a meal. I honestly thought it was better than the overrated Lazy Days restaurant. Eric is very nice and accommodating and also makes an incredible breakfast. The iguanas and the Key deer were as beautiful as they were last time. I love the Barnacle Bed and Breakfast and will NEVER stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lance_misty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights. Nice room, had a balconey on the beach, quiet location. The seaweed was in on the beach but wasnt as bad as other people made the smell out to be. Key deer were everywhere. Went to No Name Pub, get the fish dip and went to Lay Days in Marathon. Get the hogfish seminole. would stay here again. No problems

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank e33pipeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Pine Key
16.3 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
21.8 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
16.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Parmer's Resort
Parmer's Resort
#2 of 2 in Little Torch Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
3.1 mi away
Little Palm Island Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Little Palm Island Resort & Spa,...
#1 of 2 in Little Torch Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
0.4 mi away
Deer Run Bed & Breakfast
Deer Run Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 4 in Big Pine Key
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnacle Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnacle Bed and Breakfast

Property: Barnacle Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1557 Long Beach Dr, Big Pine Key, FL 33043-3511
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Big Pine Key
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Big Pine Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Barnacle Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Barnacle! We are a bed and breakfast in Big Pine Key, FL which is about 30 miles from Key West. Our place is peaceful and very quaint. A perfect place to get away from the hustle of everday life, but still close enough to Key West to enjoy a day downtown. We pride ourselves on making your stay the most memorable and relaxing experience that you have ever had at a b&b, with excellent gourmet breakfasts and bbq's in the evening to reflect on the days activities while you watch the sun sink into the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Barnacle Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnacle b&b
Barnacle Hotel Big Pine Key
Barnacle Bed And Breakfast Big Pine Key, Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing