We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Key Deer Haven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barnacle Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Big Pine Key B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Piscataway, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Key Deer Haven”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We planned to be scuba diving but weather kept us grounded. We stayed in the cottage for two nights and found it delightful. Everything worked, cool quirky self contained raised cottage. Lots of windows to see the deer all around the grounds. One reason we choose this location was for the opportunity to see some key deer. Well, if you want to see key deer up close, this is the place. Breakfast was delicious. They have bikes to use and across the street is a small canal/marina with Baracle kayaks to use. We were really surprised at how many key deer came around by the units almost all the time. We walked around along the shore and back on the road and it seems like the deer live at the Baracle. Also, the washed up seaweed, sponges and ocean "debris" that some people complained about occasionally had some smell, and was loaded with bugs, but therefore it attracted tons of birds. They provided some lotion for the "no see-ums" that worked perfectly well. There were really no down sides for us at all. Easy to get lots of pictures https://www.facebook.com/#!/media/set/?set=a.3479269032741.144754.1601730984&type=3 . Flat screen HDTV so we connected our computer via our HDMI cable to HDTV for nice slide shows each day. So we did not get to dive, but had a great time on Big Pine Key at the Barancle.

Room Tip: Cottage was large, well maintained with great windows for seeing when the deer came out of the woods...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SalDelello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    50
    17
    20
    18
See reviews for
15
158
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liberty
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This is a smallish B&B that was built in the 70's. Think Austin Powers, but without all the garish colors. Lots of arcs and curving staircases. An open atrium with lush plants and statuary. Hammocks and palm trees. Pine deer meandering around, inviting handouts. Large bedrooms with inventive effective ventilation and lighting and enormous stained-glass windows. Wonderful breakfasts served either in- or outdoors, depending upon your whim and the weather. Those are the good points.

On the other hand, this is a work of art that was neglected and that is in the process of being lovingly restored to its former beauty. Wonderful to see that process happening. The only other thing is that at certain tidal times, there is a pungent seaweed smell that all but makes impossible the ability to lounge in the beach area. Don't know what they can do about that. Usually the smell isn't too bad, but it is something that a potential visitor should be aware of. On the whole, this was hands down my favorite place in the Keys.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perielf000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeville, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Barnacle. We felt we got to see a more authentic piece of Floridian life than if we had stayed in one of the larger centers. While not fancy, the room had everything we needed plus a lovely view of the ocean to greet us when we woke in the morning (we stayed in the Ocean room). Jane's breakfasts were delicious and each day ate with other, interesting guests at the B&B.

Room Tip: This is a fabulous place if you enjoy meeting interesting people in interesting places. If you expec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthernON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We arrived for a two night stay, but had to leave after one night for health reasons and no credit was issued for the second night. Our host, Jane, was very friendly and accomodating and the room was very clean. However, if you have allergies or breathing problems, this place is not for you. The seaweed stench was unbearable giving me a very bad headache, along with breathing problems. My partner, who has asthma, ended up sleeping in the chair half the night. The seaweed was approximately 25 feet up the beach making it impossible to walk out to the water. The beach area is not maintained as it should be for paying guests.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roaring Branch
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

The Barnacle B&B is a favorite spot for us. It is located on a quiet peninsula just off RT 1. Little traffic, no noise, a wonderful setting for those who love nature and peace and quiet. Terrific breakfasts, Easy access to Bahia Honda St Park , Key West, restaurants and activities. Kayaks are part of the package as well as bikes, beach chairs, coolers and the magnificent stars you can watch from the roof. Spend your time just enjoying the private beach watching the show put on by all the birds and little Key Deer wandering about.

This place is not a 5 star hotel, it's much better!

Room Tip: Tarpon or Dolphin rooms are the largest, Ocean room is beach level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcie53557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

I have no idea where to begin.
We arrived to the smell of what I can only describe as seaweed and death. The manager on duty didn't know who we were even though there was only one other couple staying at this inn. When giving us the tour he pointed to the broken windsurfer we could use that was buried in seaweed. There were bicycles but the tires were flat. Our room smelled like bleach and the manager kept insisting we stay around for his fire dance. The other couple was told not to go in their room between the hours of 2 to 3:30 because there wasn't any air conditioning and it would be too hot. The complimentary breakfast consisted of some horrible vegeterian egg dish that was burnt and being that he wasn't a good cook we didn't get them all at the same time so we sat there watching one another eat as we waited for the bland tofu creation. I could go on and on but I suppose I blocked the rest out.
I'm surprised there wasn't an eyehole in the shower.

Room Tip: there are no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jsbaldwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarnacleB10, Owner at Barnacle Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
We are very sorry that your trip was less than what you expected at the Barnacle and there is no excuse for this experience. Since your visit several changes have taken place. The manager that was here is no longer with us and we have made every effort to make our place to be the most pleasant experience for your Keys vacation. We have spent many hours improving the look of the Barnacle. As you can see from recent reviews, we have been successful at accomplishing that goal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellow Springs, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

We stayed a week and loved it. So homey. Instead of hotel-like formality, everything was curved and cozy. Our room opened into an atrium - a great compensation for the cold weather we had come from. The breakfasts were great and they accomodated to our dietary needs when they could. It was a great launching place for walking in the state parks and visiting Key West. Watching the sun set with the key deer was just fabulous! If you are tired of square corners, visit this place of round rooms and arches. At the end of the week some friends joined us and it was great to share the place with them. And we greatly enjoyed the breakfast table conversations with the other interesting guests.

Room Tip: if you want key deer to visit your door, ask for the ground level, ocean side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank springsgirl_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Pine Key
16.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
16.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
3.6 mi away
Parmer's Resort
Parmer's Resort
#2 of 2 in Little Torch Key
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Deer Run Bed & Breakfast
Deer Run Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 4 in Big Pine Key
140 reviews
3.1 mi away
Little Palm Island Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Little Palm Island Resort & Spa,...
#1 of 2 in Little Torch Key
842 reviews
16.5 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnacle Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnacle Bed and Breakfast

Property: Barnacle Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1557 Long Beach Dr, Big Pine Key, FL 33043-3511
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Big Pine Key
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Big Pine Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Barnacle Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Barnacle! We are a bed and breakfast in Big Pine Key, FL which is about 30 miles from Key West. Our place is peaceful and very quaint. A perfect place to get away from the hustle of everday life, but still close enough to Key West to enjoy a day downtown. We pride ourselves on making your stay the most memorable and relaxing experience that you have ever had at a b&b, with excellent gourmet breakfasts and bbq's in the evening to reflect on the days activities while you watch the sun sink into the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Barnacle Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnacle Hotel Big Pine Key
Barnacle b&b
Barnacle Bed And Breakfast Big Pine Key, Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing