We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Little Motel on Big Piney Key”
Review of Big Pine Key Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Pine Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Pine Key Motel
Ranked #4 of 4 Big Pine Key B&B and Inns
Miami Beach
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Little Motel on Big Piney Key”
Reviewed May 16, 2010

I was there for one night May 14-15.
We had 2 rooms bouth where very clean and confortable.
About 30min North of Key West and 15-20min South of Bahia Honda Park.

VERY GOOD MOTEL - GOOD LOCATION - PRICE......

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miami1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    26
    25
    24
    8
See reviews for
19
26
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2010

Our room was okay, but bathroom/ shower was pretty old. Breakfast at the "Cragged Egg" was fine.
At the end:
The Big Pine Key Motel is okay for one night on the journey through. Makes a great location for a late 1960s movie.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lplusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slmintx
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2009

Great place to stay for a first time visitor to the Keys. It is centrally located therefore allowing you to visit Key West or head back towards Marathon or the other Key Islands. It is an older Motel but has been kept up nicely, the beds unlike what I have read in other post are quite comfortable and I did not see any bugs in the room either. I felt lucky I had picked this Motel because the traffic heading into Key West was really bad at times. But to my surprise the traffic cleared up after the one red light in Big Pine Key on HWY 1 which is only a block or two away from the motel.
There is also a restaurant located on the property that is open for breakfast everyday and dinner, which is nice place to grab a cup of coffee and something to eat before heading out on the days adventures.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank slmintx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierce, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 466 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2008

We are thankful we were only booked for two nights, as the mattress was strange and very uncomfortable. The beds are platform-style, which we have at home and like. However, the mattress was extremely firm, leaving both of us with backaches. It was impossible to get a good night's sleep in that bed unless you are on serious drugs which, unfortunately, we were not.

This is a shame, because we wanted to like this place, which has an "old Florida" feel to it. The desk clerk -- possibly he was the manager -- was very friendly and helpful. The motel is situated near "downtown" Big Pine Key, such as it is (a small shopping center with restaurants and a grocery store), and is also near Bahia Honda Beach, probably the most beautiful beach we've ever visited.

But the Big Pine Key Motel is set up sort of like an old Comfort Inn. We stayed in a first-floor room, which had been upgraded and contained a refrigerator and microwave. I'd rate the rook as "okay," but not particularly clean, and the shower was weak. The motel is short on amenities -- They give you several bars of soap, but no shampoo, and there is no hair dryer.

There is some road noise, but not a lot. The hotel also serves as a local Greyhound bus stop, so if you;re inclined to travel by bus to other spots in the Keys or back to the Florida mainland, you may find it worth your while to stay here.

Ultimately, the disappointment with this place is over the fact that for more than $100, you're staying in a place with very little curb appeal, marginal comfort and a mattress with absolutely no give in it. I could see staying here if it's all there is and you get a cheap rate, but even by the inflated room rate standards of the Keys, you should be able to do better.

  • Liked — Location on Route 1 near shopping and the beach
  • Disliked — The bed was impossible
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank tomcat33333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jtp12, Mgr at Big Pine Key Motel, responded to this review, March 18, 2009
I just wish this guest would have told us about this bad mattress. Most of our mattresses are new, and if we missed one they should let us know. We have no way to get in touch with this unhappy guest. We have thousands of guests each year. We have had only one or two reviews each "year" from a guest that is not pleased. If they let us know, we can do something about it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Big Pine Key hotels

Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2008

Beds were BAD , very uncomfortable..kind of a platform bed with no box spring ...which might work... but the mattresses were worn out. I did not see any bugs but slept all nite with 1 eye open...ice in small bundles... doled out If you asked.
.I was told we were given a no smoking room and we got a well sprayed (febreezed )smoking room...stunk horribly by morning.
I understand they have a great restaurant on premise,The Cracked Egg,but was too afraid to eat there after the rough nite.
Very unpleasant stay I would not recommend this place to any one.
The best I can say is it beats sleeping outside.

Try The Old Wooden Bridge Fishing Camp (just down the back streets)if you are staying more than a nite ...they have 1 or 2 small cabins(the rest are larger with kitchens) the cottages are clean and well maintained.. the staff and the people that stay there are very nice..Florida Bay is across the small sand road accessed by a marina... and there is a CLEAN swimming pool and the cute key deer roam all around the cabins.

Helpful?
3 Thank AndyOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2008

I would call the Big Pine Motel a worling class motel. Many local contractors stay there therefore I would dispute the very negative reviews I have read. The room was neat and clean and the managemen was very friendlly . Ther are not phones in the room however most people have cell phones so I did not see this as a problem. If you are looking for a basic room at a good price I would reccommend the Big Pine Motel. I have stayed there several times and never had a bad experience!

  • Liked — Working class room at a good price.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiverHarrisburgPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jtp12, Mgr at Big Pine Key Motel, responded to this review, March 18, 2009
As management is not exactly sure what this guest means by "working class" motel, we try to accommodate all our tourists and any person that stays at our establishment equally, and as best we can. We have all types of guests and we like to think it is because of the Value they get.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Pa on the Lake
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2008

My Wife, 8 year old Grandson and I stayed from 6/25/08 - 7/2/08.

This was our second trip to the keys and we were looking for economical accommodations. Our needs were a clean, comfortable room to use for showering and sleeping. Our room had two-double queen size beds that were quite comfortable to sleep on. There was a full size shower situated behind a door with a commode and a large mirror, counter and basin just outside from it. We were on the second floor end room facing the pool.

The pool was visited by our grandson first thing in the morning and whenever we stopped for a change of clothes or shower. It was very clean and taken care of throughout the day. My wife and I joined him on several occasions.

No phone in our room was not a problem because we used our cell phone for all our calls. The TV was a small 20 inch color set but had a good selection of cable channels.
The balcony overlooking the pool was a nice place to sit and watch our grandson splash and play.

The air conditioning was nominal during the heat of the day, but cooled the room well after the sun set. Being an end room exposed an additional wall and it faced west. There are louvered windows across the top front of the room that leaked air. If they would seal them it would probably make all the difference. Again for sleeping, we were pulling the blanket over us through the night.

An added bonus was “The Cracked Egg”, a restaurant located in the hotel parking lot. The restaurant was open for breakfast and lunch only. Nearly every morning we ate there and were never disappointed in the food. Some of the best biscuits and gravy I’ve had! Everything we ordered seemed to come with enhanced proportions…

We used the hotel for ‘home base’ during the week and had a full itinerary. Our room more than met our expectations. For the economy, location and amenities, I will not hesitate staying there again.

  • Liked — Comfort
  • Disliked — na
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank aerospot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Pine Key
2.3 mi away
Parmer's Resort
Parmer's Resort
#2 of 2 in Little Torch Key
914 reviews
2.2 mi away
Little Palm Island Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Little Palm Island Resort & Spa,...
#1 of 2 in Little Torch Key
840 reviews
3.5 mi away
Looe Key Reef Resort
Looe Key Reef Resort
#1 of 1 in Ramrod Key
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Old Wooden Bridge Fishing Camp
2.4 mi away
Barnacle Bed and Breakfast
Barnacle Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Big Pine Key
205 reviews
13.6 mi away
Sugarloaf Lodge
Sugarloaf Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sugarloaf Key
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Pine Key Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Pine Key Motel

Property: Big Pine Key Motel
Address: 30725 Overseas Hwy, Big Pine Key, FL 33043-3411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Big Pine Key
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Big Pine Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes from Key West. Double Queen beds, full private bath, cable TV, Pavilion for cooking outdoors, A/C , complete daily housekeeping included. Restaurant at your door with full hot breakfast at great prices. Large boat & trailer parking. Numerous dive shops and fishing charters. Minutes from Bahia Honda State Park, Big Pine City Park and Key Deer Refuge Center. You will be glad you checked us out. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Pine Key Hotel Big Pine Key
Big Pine Key Motel Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing