We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room for the price”
Review of Big Pine Key Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Pine Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Pine Key Motel
Ranked #4 of 4 Big Pine Key B&B and Inns
Bedford, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good room for the price”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

It's not fancy, but it's a good deal. We stayed for two nights on our trip to the keys (2 parents, 2 kids).
It's under 30 miles to Key West, but a lot less expensive than Key West. It's also under 10 miles from beautiful Bahia Honda beach. We saw an endangered Key Deer in the parking lot the first night.
The room had two comfortable beds, a full size fridge, and a microwave. It's clean. They provide a lot of plastic cups, but no coffee, so bring your own. The Cracked Egg cafe next door is great for breakfast. It's a great spot for the budget conscious in the Keys.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    26
    25
    24
    8
See reviews for
19
26
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Little Torch Key, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

I stayed there a few nights while waiting to move into my new home on Little Torch Key. I found the hotel parking lot full of water. It had rained heavy for days. I was still able to park the truck and trailer. The 2nd floor room was fine. I saw no problems with the room. Everything worked just fine and the stay after a long drive was very relaxing. It isn't much to look at on the outside, but the interior was just fine for those who don't mind the 30 mile drive to Key West.

The Cracked Egg Restaurant good food-cheep (Their motto) I eaten there a number of times and have enjoyed the meals. They make a pretty good Eggs Benedict, with a variety of additions, like crab. I recommend the place. It ain't the Palace Grand, but it will work for those on a budget.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GoneTropical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We were on vacation in Fort Lauderdale and made a very last minute decision to go to Key West for 2 days and 1 night. We needed 4 rooms and just needed a place to sleep. We wanted something inexpensive given we would be getting to room about 12M and leaving in the morning about 8:00. The price was right and I checked here on TA for reviews and figured it would serve our needs. The bottom line I guess is we got what we paid for- $99/night in April! Pro's- beds were very clean, we saw no bugs, the AC and water worked and 3 out of the 4 rooms had a working TV. Con's- our room smelled like fried onions, literally! our faucet in the BR poured out hot water all night, all of the electrical outlet were either missing a cover or they were falling off- we were afraid to use them. We did have 1 nice size hole in the wall near our bed that appeared to go either into the other room or closet etc- not sure what that was about but the molding was missing on that wall so I think that was part of the issue. I will say we had the worst room out of the 4, The others did not have a smell. Again I will say, we went site unseen and given the price we knew we were not going to the Hyatt. However, I was a little surprised at the positive reviews from TA.Maybe the conditions of the rooms vary and we got the worst they offered. I am not hard to please and I do not stay in"high end" accomodations when I travel. But that I probably would not return to this motel. It was just a little too "icky" for me to feel comfortable. You know the feeling when you are just waiting for something to come crawling out from under the bed:) Next time we will just pay more and stay in better accom. The other pro was The Cracked Egg diner next door- really good and cheap breakfast! But we had a great time in Key West as always and even a bad motel to sleep in is still better than being home :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank anga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Big Pine Key hotels

Gulfport, Fl.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

I guess if you are a pampered GEN X wussy that has to have your rear end still wiped by your mommy you might want to pass this hotel by. But if you are looking for a deal in the keys this is your place!! Clean rooms and super friendly staff !! Debbie the Head cleaning Lady is probally the best Ive ever encountered!! A+++++ Also the Dinner (on property) is one of the Best deals from Jacksonville to Key West !! with OUTSTANDING service, portions/quality and over all small town Baby Boomer charm for those that remember REAL DINNERS. you are only 30 miles to KW if you want to take in the Fun and crazy madness and still drive back here with a smile!! You are also very close to Marathon for great fishing too ! Also one of the best sandy beaches in the keys (Bahia Honda) !! So if you know what your doing down here... dont pass this Fabulous bargain by! Also leave your electronic hand held crap home and enjoy the keys like a real local !!! Jim

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ConchDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, CA
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We did lots of homework prior to going to the Keys , but somehow were mislead about staying at Pine Key. Do not stay here. The island itself has NOTHING to offer. You will drive somewhere else for anything you do or eat. This hotel is horrid. It made me sad to stay there. A typical 1960s motel 6 type place. Rooms are beyond tired. Very dreary brown blanket on bed. Shower/bath needs to be torn out/replaced. Don't stay here. We suggest going to another key altogether. The restaurant next door The Cracked egg was busy, but it was so "laid back local" that it was really more "low class truck stop dining" . Not my kind of place. The hotel is right off of the main highway --all the ambiance of a 7-11 parking lot.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travelgal5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendall, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

If you are thinking on going to key west and you know its a busy week or weekend you won't want to stay at a key west hotel or resort , for example I went to key west during spring break and everything was packed I didn't have a hotel so we called Marriott and other hotels and the cheapest price was $250 a night so if you don't mind driving 30 miles from the southernmost spot than your okay and the price I got in this hotel is unbeatable for just $119 a night it was great .

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andreaurrutia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

I gues that most accommodation is overpriced in the Keys....this place is no different. Bed was comfortable and clean, room had a refrigerator and TV. Wifi didn't work and I suspect it probably never would as the person on the front desk didn't want to share valuable bandwidth! Place is nowhere near a water but is right on the highway. Ten minute walk to a couple of mediocre restaurants for supper in a plaza.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Pine Key
2.3 mi away
Parmer's Resort
Parmer's Resort
#2 of 2 in Little Torch Key
915 reviews
2.2 mi away
Little Palm Island Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Little Palm Island Resort & Spa,...
#1 of 2 in Little Torch Key
842 reviews
3.5 mi away
Looe Key Reef Resort
Looe Key Reef Resort
#1 of 1 in Ramrod Key
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Old Wooden Bridge Fishing Camp
2.4 mi away
Barnacle Bed and Breakfast
Barnacle Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Big Pine Key
205 reviews
13.6 mi away
Sugarloaf Lodge
Sugarloaf Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sugarloaf Key
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Pine Key Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Pine Key Motel

Property: Big Pine Key Motel
Address: 30725 Overseas Hwy, Big Pine Key, FL 33043-3411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Big Pine Key
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Big Pine Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes from Key West. Double Queen beds, full private bath, cable TV, Pavilion for cooking outdoors, A/C , complete daily housekeeping included. Restaurant at your door with full hot breakfast at great prices. Large boat & trailer parking. Numerous dive shops and fishing charters. Minutes from Bahia Honda State Park, Big Pine City Park and Key Deer Refuge Center. You will be glad you checked us out. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Pine Key Hotel Big Pine Key
Big Pine Key Motel Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing