We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay When you know what your doing here!!”
Review of Big Pine Key Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Pine Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Pine Key Motel
Ranked #4 of 4 Big Pine Key B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 8, 2012

I guess if you are a pampered GEN X wussy that has to have your rear end still wiped by your mommy you might want to pass this hotel by. But if you are looking for a deal in the keys this is your place!! Clean rooms and super friendly staff !! Debbie the Head cleaning Lady is probally the best Ive ever encountered!! A+++++ Also the Dinner (on property) is one of the Best deals from Jacksonville to Key West !! with OUTSTANDING service, portions/quality and over all small town Baby Boomer charm for those that remember REAL DINNERS. you are only 30 miles to KW if you want to take in the Fun and crazy madness and still drive back here with a smile!! You are also very close to Marathon for great fishing too ! Also one of the best sandy beaches in the keys (Bahia Honda) !! So if you know what your doing down here... dont pass this Fabulous bargain by! Also leave your electronic hand held crap home and enjoy the keys like a real local !!! Jim

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ConchDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 95 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2012

We did lots of homework prior to going to the Keys , but somehow were mislead about staying at Pine Key. Do not stay here. The island itself has NOTHING to offer. You will drive somewhere else for anything you do or eat. This hotel is horrid. It made me sad to stay there. A typical 1960s motel 6 type place. Rooms are beyond tired. Very dreary brown blanket on bed. Shower/bath needs to be torn out/replaced. Don't stay here. We suggest going to another key altogether. The restaurant next door The Cracked egg was busy, but it was so "laid back local" that it was really more "low class truck stop dining" . Not my kind of place. The hotel is right off of the main highway --all the ambiance of a 7-11 parking lot.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travelgal5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

If you are thinking on going to key west and you know its a busy week or weekend you won't want to stay at a key west hotel or resort , for example I went to key west during spring break and everything was packed I didn't have a hotel so we called Marriott and other hotels and the cheapest price was $250 a night so if you don't mind driving 30 miles from the southernmost spot than your okay and the price I got in this hotel is unbeatable for just $119 a night it was great .

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andreaurrutia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

I gues that most accommodation is overpriced in the Keys....this place is no different. Bed was comfortable and clean, room had a refrigerator and TV. Wifi didn't work and I suspect it probably never would as the person on the front desk didn't want to share valuable bandwidth! Place is nowhere near a water but is right on the highway. Ten minute walk to a couple of mediocre restaurants for supper in a plaza.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

This is an old motel that we were glad to find...the rooms are clean and the shower was very nice!!! The pool is clean and nice...everyone was very nice and helpful...we would definately stay here again...nice rooms at a very reasonable price!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marcie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

NO lotion or shampoo, tiny TV, no brkfst, flat old pillows, NO clock even, curtain barely spans window thus letting in lots of light. Thin walls means hearing every other guest coming & going. Beat up furniture. Poor lighting, 1 tiny lamp, sparse linens.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeryld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

I was in need of a short get-away over Christmas. The folks at Big Pine Key Motel were able to provide a room at a reasonable rate. The front desk was willing to stay late as I wasn't sure I could make it there by 10PM and upon arrival, I was greeted with a smile. Thank you for being there when I needed you!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Pine Key
15.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
21.3 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
3.5 mi away
Looe Key Reef Resort
Looe Key Reef Resort
#1 of 1 in Ramrod Key
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Parmer's Resort
Parmer's Resort
#2 of 2 in Little Torch Key
926 reviews
18.5 mi away
Coconut Cay Resort & Marina
13.6 mi away
Sugarloaf Lodge
Sugarloaf Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sugarloaf Key
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Pine Key Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Pine Key Motel

Address: 30725 Overseas Hwy, Big Pine Key, FL 33043-3411
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Big Pine Key
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Big Pine Key
Price Range: $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes from Key West. Double Queen beds, full private bath, cable TV, Pavilion for cooking outdoors, A/C , complete daily housekeeping included. Restaurant at your door with full hot breakfast at great prices. Large boat & trailer parking. Numerous dive shops and fishing charters. Minutes from Bahia Honda State Park, Big Pine City Park and Key Deer Refuge Center. You will be glad you checked us out. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Pine Key Hotel Big Pine Key
Big Pine Key Motel Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing