We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coconuts”

Coconuts Bar & Liquor Store
Ranked #1 of 2 Nightlife in Big Pine Key
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Coconuts Bar & Liquor Store has been a local bar on Big Pine Key for over three decades. We have a full liquor bar & Liquor Store, professional regulation Brunswick pool tables, video games, dart boards, Foosball ,WI-FI and cold AC. If you've never been here before or your on your way to Key West, stop in and check us out! Thanks!-The Coconuts Family
Cottonwood, Alabama, United States
2 reviews
“Coconuts”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

A GREAT watering hole, owned and run by GREAT people in the heart of paradise!! A visit while in the Keys is certain to be a time to remember.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RickandWendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcbsr1, Owner at Coconuts Bar & Liquor Store, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Hey Rick, sorry Meri-Lynn and I missed ya. I did see the photo of your bike in the NUT's parking lot, nice ride. We were in Naples celebrating our grandson's 2nd birthday. Heck we missed the whole Poker Run. Thanks for tak'in time to stop at the NUT & thank you very much for taking time to write & post this review. TripAdvisor makes a difference, a big difference. Stay safe & keep the shiny side up on that fine looking scooter & have a blessed day. Joe/ Coconuts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    7
    7
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Coconuts on Big Pine Key”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Relax like a local at the best place in the Lower Keys......friendly, clean family atmosphere.....play pool, or just enjoy the music, Coconuts has it all!! Stop by & say Hi,.....you'll be glad you did! :D

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lilwalshie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcbsr1, Owner at Coconuts Bar & Liquor Store, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hey there Nancy... Thank you for taking time to write your review . The NUT has been rocking you Right at the Light for over 30 years now. We couldn't do it without our loyal customers & folks just passing through on their way to Key West. Smart phones are used by millions of tourist to find "whatever" it is that they want. If it's what the NUT offers, we want them to know about us. TripAdvisor makes that happen. You're a sweetheart . Joe / Coconuts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great place for a beer and pool.”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This down to earth Keys Bar is a land mark on Big PIne Key. They are open late with great beer prices. They also have pool and darts to keep you entertained while enjoying this truly local hangout.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TheotherBoyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcbsr1, Owner at Coconuts Bar & Liquor Store, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thanks for the kind words. that's a great plug my friend. The "NUT" has the best prices on beer and mixed drinks on Pine Key. We also have the finest Brunswick 9 X 4 1/2 pool tables. The "NUT" has always been a very local roadhouse at the light on Pine Key. Our prices our geared for the hard working local folks of Pine Key & a very nice surprise to any one visiting the Keys. Heck a few trips to the NUT and you become a local. You can't stay in business for 30 years unless your doing a few things right. Thanks once more for the review. See ya at the NUT. .... Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Locally owned, locals frequent, feel at home...”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The "NUT" as referred to by the staff and great locals is the place to go if you like to stay away from the runaround of large tourist filled places. Coconuts is owned by a few of the best folks in the Keys. They are genuine, local, friendly, and just know how to make you feel welcome.

Neither the locals who frequent the place at the end of the day or the staff will fall short on stories to tell, advise on things to enjoy, or their genuine invitation back. When I visit the 'Nut I am sad to leave and look forward to the next visit.

If you're looking for a quick stop in Big Pine and you like local haunts. This place won't disappoint.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kyhokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcbsr1, Owner at Coconuts Bar & Liquor Store, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for the kind words. It means a lot to Meri-Lynn ,myself and the folks that help us at the NUT. When someone like yourself stops what they are doing. Takes time out of there day to write a review, A nice review. It just makes our day. I sure hope we get the chance to meet. I would like to thank you once more in person.
Without you and your support alone with our locals. There would be no NUT, no kidd'in. Have a blessed day ..Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Watering Hole in Big Pine Key!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

If you enjoy ice cold pitchers of beer with a good old "Boiler Maker" in a fun Bar with locals, you must stop. Liquor drinks and beer are available until 4:00 a.m. The prices are fantastically cheap! There is dancing, great music, good food, pool tables and plenty of friendly and interesting people from all walks of life. Patty,one of the bartenders is super, as is the entire staff. My friends and I had a blast and met many of the locals and learned a lot about the Keys.
Looking forward to going back again!
"Hats Off" to Joe & Meri Lynn for having a great team. I recently left my coat in the bar and went
home to Jacksonville, FL without it. I called the bar the next day and it was found and mailed to me within a few days. Coconuts Bar exceeded my expectations with great Customer Service
and attention to detail. Thank you Coconuts Bar Team! I highly recommend Coconuts Bar & Liquor Store on your next visit to Big Pine Key.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jhart936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcbsr1, Owner at Coconuts Bar & Liquor Store, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thanks for the kind words. The NUT has been Rocking you right..before there was a light. 30 years in March. The NUT will be having a party on March 10th, stop by and bring yor friends. I would like to thank you face to face. Taking time to write and post a review is much appreciaped my friend.
Coconuts...Rocking yor Right at the Light . Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coconuts Bar & Liquor Store also viewed

 
Big Pine Key, Florida Keys
Big Pine Key, Florida Keys
 

Been to Coconuts Bar & Liquor Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing