We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Headquarters in the shopping mall, start there”

National Key Deer Refuge
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$155.88*
and up
Turtle Hospital and Lower Florida Keys Day Trip from Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Fourteen square mile natural habitat of white tailed Key deer.
Wilton, California
Level Contributor
1,349 reviews
668 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 793 helpful votes
“Headquarters in the shopping mall, start there”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We were very impressed with the artifacts and knowledge contained in this storefront headquarters. The Ranger was hugely helpful on places to stop and see the deer and other roads to check, also noting what other wildlife we may encounter. With his map and new information we went to the blue hole area and walked the trails around the water. It was bright daylight and we didn't see any deer there, but saw two alligators basking in the reeds and on a rock. Beautiful foliage. The one deer we did see was on our drive down towards the lower keys behind the mesh fencing where they need to be. The deaths of these unique and endangered deer are down from last year but still a staggering 125 have been killed this year. A great place to influence young children of the value of all nature.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ruthandvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    175
    67
    12
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tamarac, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“so very cute”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Key Deer are every where, they will come right up to you, but don't feed them...A great experience for children and adults

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Janie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun for whole family!”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

What a sight to see herds of these little Key Deer ! They roam freely on Big Pine Key - drive carefully so as not to miss seeing them/or to hit them. Especially fun for the kids - you can get fairly close and get a good look - a nice quiet experience! We always see plenty of them as we make our way to No Name Pizza/Pub!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
246 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Always deer to see..”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Just drive west from the light... at the first stop sign turn right to the end. Drive through the neighborhoods and the deer will be there eating peoples lawns, flowers and gardens. Pretty little deer.. Not very afraid of people because the island is a reserve.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank islandjerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Pine Key, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Come see the minature deer”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The National Key Deer Refuge is a place where deer will walk right up to you. In addition to the deer, the bird population is incredible. During the fall, you have the chance to see Peregrine Falcons, Bald Eagles, Ospreys and Vultures. It's quite a unique place and pretty family friendly. Be sure to stop into the shopping plaza and hit the Refuge Office. They've got a small display and information about the refuge and some of it's history. They've also got a gift shop. If you are on Big Pine Key, it's worth a stop.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BonefishZen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Key Deer Refuge also viewed

Big Pine Key, Florida Keys
 
Big Pine Key, Florida Keys
 

Been to National Key Deer Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing