We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty of Deer”

National Key Deer Refuge
Book In Advance
More Info
$155.88*
and up
Dolphin Research Center and Florida Keys Tour
More Info
$155.88*
and up
Full-Day Tour to Florida Keys Aquarium Encounters from Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Fourteen square mile natural habitat of white tailed Key deer.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Plenty of Deer”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We didn't expect to see many deer since we were driving around in the middle of the day, but we did see some in a field on the northern part of the key. We tried to find the southernmost walking trail shown on the park map (south of U.S. 1), but couldn't. We found a muddy, trashy, 4-wheeler trail instead. You will want to ask for directions at the park visitor center if you're looking for that trail.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    179
    68
    12
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Did I miss something!!”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I did sight a couple of these charming creatures but they were at the local Publix rummaging through the garbage

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank peter_allen46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lots of Deer. Drive carefully.”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Lots of Deer. Drive carefully. Watch your speed. We saw more deer this year than ever. Bucks to yearlings. We saw Groups of 6-8 grazing on the medians on the way to No Name Pub. Single deer darting out of the woods like something was chasing them. One resident was having diffulculty mowing his yard because a deer wouldn't move must less relocate. My sister-in-law did not find them adorable because she has a deer problem(her garden & the Virginia deer population).

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Perpaw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Loved seeing the Key Deer”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

While trying to find No Name Pub we spotted lots of Key Deer. They were everywhere and so cute!! One even posed for a picture.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank KalcSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Deer on an island!?”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I had to see it to believe it. don't forget to charge your camera. not a place you want to plan your trip around, but definitely worth a little time.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Key Deer Refuge also viewed

Big Pine Key, Florida Keys
 
Big Pine Key, Florida Keys
 

Been to National Key Deer Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing