We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this gem!”

Bahia Honda State Park and Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$155.88*
and up
Turtle Hospital and Lower Florida Keys Day Trip from Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Hanover, MN
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Don't miss this gem!”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This was our 4th visit to Bahia Honda in the past 12 years. We are snorkelers and have had 2 great experiences with the walk-in snorkeling on the east side (ocean) of the park. There is a nice beach (don't be discouraged by the rack-line) and the water is like bath water! Water is knee-deep for about 100 feet into the ocean. There is also some nice walking trails that lead up to amazing views of the old bridge and of the beautiful water itself.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MNRN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,103
    797
    222
    72
    69
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Unbelievably nice beach. 6$ per car to visit. Public beach part of a national park. Free parking, picnic tables, clean restrooms, outside shower... Water is amazingly clean, sand is Bahamas style. No rocks, no sea weed for 100 feet starting from shore. Amazing landscape and views. Bring your camera: it's good enough for postcards! Well worth the drive from Miami (about 2 hours).

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank stephane_levesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous clean beach, nice walks, good for half day outing”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Not one to lay in the sun all day, I found walking on the ocean shoreline, swimming in the waves, walking the nature trail, botanic garden and path over to the bay side was a fun outing. We would have stayed longer to snorkle if we could have. Beach was fine white sand, but not terribly deep from water line to grass line. Snorklers looked like they were having a great exeprience.

There is a camp ground and "cabins" to rent on the bay side of the park. See reserveamerica.com The bay side lagoon seems a good spot for kayaks, fishing.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank SueSTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“beautiful and clean”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Lovely state park. Great place to camp. But dogs aren't allowed on beach or in water.. two beach areas. Good snorkeling, kayaking, or stand up paddleboarding. They offer tours too. Beautiful sunsets.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Camping Experience!”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I was fortunate enough to get last minute reservations on reserveamerica.com for this state park during spring break. I loved how close to Key West we were able to get and the beautiful view of the sunset from our tent site in front of the lagoon. I wished I had the sense to pay a little extra for an RV site and put my tent there just to avoid the sounds of the highway traffic at our site all through the night. The beaches were just amazing- the water was unbelievably clear and we had a chance to see some beautiful fish around 5:30pm when the crowds were gone. The seaweed on the beach was a bit of a turnoff, but I think it's due to conservation from the state park. Rent a kayak and take advantage of seeing the coral reef island near the beach- really nice. The bathhouse was nice and clean and we enjoyed our 2 day stay!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leigh E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bahia Honda State Park and Beach also viewed

Marathon, Florida Keys
 
Big Pine Key, Florida Keys
 

Been to Bahia Honda State Park and Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing