We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful carribean beach in the lower Florida Keys” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bahia Honda State Park and Beach

Bahia Honda State Park and Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, AL, USA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful carribean beach in the lower Florida Keys”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

The beach at Bahia Honda State Park is one of the most beautiful I have ever visited -- a classic, gorgeous carribean beach. It is pretty special in the Keys, where a sandy beach that is deep enough for swimming fairly close to shore is not the norm. If you want to visit a beautiful sand beach in the Keys, this is where I'd recommend -- it is lovely! The entire park is lovely -- I'd recommend bringing your camera. You can also snorkel off the park beaches. The park runs a boat that can take you out to Looe Key for snorkeling (absolutely awesome!), and you can rent kayaks to snorkel around the gorgeous waters of the park. You can go out on part of the old bridge for a breathtaking view. We have camped at the park in the past and really enjoyed it (do bring bug repellant, though -- you are in the tropics!).

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank riverspirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,906 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,878
    707
    191
    66
    64
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stopped on our way to Key West to view the historic railroad bridge. It was amazing to see and the views from the bridge were unbelievable. It was one of the highlights of our vacation. Having read a book about Flagler and the building of the railroad from Miami to Key West made it even more enjoyable. This is a must see if you get the chance to go.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank dli1320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelius, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Where's Waldo?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

That's what i was thinking when I saw how many people were there. I'm not a crowd person. We went there to do the reef snorkeling but the reef was invaded by jelly fish that sting... So no diving there.. Now for the bad.. You have to pay to get in. I think it was $8 for my wife and I. But if you leave the park and come back the same day, you have to pay again. Not use to that. I would recommend the reef snorkel place there though if you're on a budget like we were.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Todd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A must stop in the Keys”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

If you drive to the Keys, Bahia Honda State Park is a stop you must include. For a small fee you can camp, boat or snorkel this is a great place to do any or all of these. This park has a very good beach and some of the best snorkeling that we found in the Keys. Some great sites of sunsets and the old railroad too.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cincy417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odiham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nice beach and snorkelling”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

we went there after spending a few hours at Sombrero beach. Sombrero is free and the snorkelling and sand quality seem pretty comparable to me. However this is a nice spot to just sit, relax, snorkel whatever.

Some great sunset views from the old bridge as well. There is some weed but it wasnt too bad, it wasnt an issue for us enjoying our time there as others seem to have found.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bahia Honda State Park and Beach also viewed

Marathon, Florida Keys
 
Marathon, Florida Keys
Big Pine Key, Florida Keys
 

Been to Bahia Honda State Park and Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing