We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it and WILL return!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunshine Key RV Resort & Marina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love it and WILL return!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

This was my first experience with any RV park, being a new RV owner. We loved the park, very cute, clean, nice location on Big Pine Key. Do not be fooled by previous reviews that suggest the place is like refugee camp! This couldn't be more incorrect! And yes, sea grass has unpleasant smell, but you cannot get around this in the keys! Previous reviewer who states park not near anything: well, you really come to keys to enjoy the water, the wildlife, etc. This isn't Myrtle Beach, people! If you enjoy nature, wildlife, birdwatching,fishing, snorkeling, and solitude, there is no better location than Big Pine Key! We took our kayaks, found a beautiful mangrove island on east side of island. You are also just next door to Bajia Honda, which has one of most beautiful beaches in my opinion on all of east coast! Back to park, poolside lovely. We had gulfside waterfront site, was definitely worth the money. Bathhouses clean, albeit shower stalls on small side, that did not deter from our wonderful experience. Park close enough for day trip to Key West. We had a wonderful time and would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alandcrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    149
    68
    47
    64
See reviews for
251
162
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

I have read the other reviews and would like to comment to some of the comments I read there.
Anyone who visits the Florida Keys knows that the 'sewer' smell is due to rotting sea grass. Sea grass is the reason this area is the fishing capitol of the world.
Vacationers need to understand the diffrence between vacationing and living full time in an RV. People on vacation are usually all excited about their trip. They are high on living their short period of time making the most out of their 2 weeks. Full timers are more low key. They live from park to park. They also have lots of time to do their activities at a relaxed pace. they enjoy being laid back in the park and taking it as it comes. We like meeting fun people and it does not bother us to make instant friends with 'temporary' campers. Others may feel diffrently and want to stick with the full time friends that they have developed over years of going to the same park every winter. It may be perceived as rude, but the truth is, these people come and go quickly, and are usually not intrested in mixing with the community. I know, we used to be those people. Now we are full timers and have developed our 'winter friends' list.
Sunshine Key RV park is in a great location. We have never been treated rudely by anyone there. Even when we were just short term campers. The bait shop always treats you good when you buy your shrimp bait giving you more then what you ask for. The pool is always sparkling crystal clean and the tennis courts are the best. It is nice to be able to go to the Atlantic side or the Gulf side right out of the harbor. The park is super clean and well managed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Deb559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

The beach/swimming areas smelled of sewage. I did not see one person swimming in the ocean and I believe this is why. The website that they use is decieving. Alot of things were run down but the park was clean. The travel trailer we rented was fine except the water in the storage tanks had a strong smell of mildew. We couldnt use the water to even wash our hands because it smelled so bad. The pool was nice. There restaraunt closes at 2:30 pm. Im glad we didnt bring kids to this place because there is really nothing to do there. We spent our entire time in Key West. The address is Big Pine Key but its 10 miles away. Nothing to do within walking distance. Like others said.alot of the amenities did not work. I did not complain because some of the permant residents said it wouldnt do no good. I will not stay here again. Did I mention the sewage smell in the air??

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Psyclefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had an 8 night stay here. It's a beautiful place in that it's right in the heart of the keys. This was our first camping trip here. We usually stay in the keys for a week annually and rent a house and bring our boat. However this year we opted to bring the kayak's and camp in our RV. There are quite a few permanent residents. Most of them are NOT polite. We made it a point to smile and greet these residents and most did not even nod back in return. A lot of folks and families come down from Miami for the weekends and pile a lot of people on the campsites. This does not bother me at all as I live in a melting pot with a good mix of people, but you could tell a lot of the snowbirds hated it and I heard them complain all around me. One afternoon the big entertainment was watching the police officers and Border Patrol truck speeding all over the campground looking for someone apparently. The camp staff are very rude with the exception of the maintenance employee, Dewey, who was helpful and even gave us good tips on launching our kayaks and where to swim off the island with the kids. About 5 of the dryers in the laundry area have been "out of order" for a least 5 years (I had heard from some snowbirds) resulting in quite a competition to get your clothes dry. Around 5 each day several groups gather for "happy hour" by bringing all their chairs together and spread out over the street to the point that my 6 year old could not ride her bike down the street, You are not invited to this party unless: 1. you are over 60, 2. do have have kids traveling with you. A couple who pulled in days after us was invited to the party but they met the requirements aforementioned. I really would not care, but everyone was so rude! Another first happened during this trip and our above ground, elevated, covered, attended firepit got hosed down. One staff member told me it was "Monroe county law" when I told her that I could have the same firepit 2 miles down the road at Bahia Honda, she got flustered and said it was "encore's rules" which also is not correct because we have camped at many Encore properties. To NOT have a campfire while you are CAMPING just seems like an oxymoron and a big disappointment to the kids.The firepit and the wood that we bought specifically for camping should have been within regulation. We talked to one gentleman who had been coming to the park for 20 years and said that nobody knows the rules because they had changed ownership so many times.

The pool deck had been resurfaced with pavers and was nice. We also enjoyed the poolside cafe which had good specials and the fish sandwich was tasty. The pool got very busy on both Saturday's that we were there. A few families with their own Spanish music played an amplified speaker and cleared out all the snowbirds within 10 minutes. It did not bother me, but I can see how this can certainly interrupt your relaxing time by the pool.

Several of the rental trailers also had been upgraded to brand new ones and they looked very nice. The marina ramp looks in good working condition. The fee is $20 to use it if you are not a guest and $12 if you are a guest.

They have a "business office" but the internet does not work. My husband even had his company IT guy on the phone and basically their internet is very intermittent. We got WIFI from the RV one day and we both logged in a couple of hours of work on our laptops. If you need guaranteed internet service for work, you might want to go to the McDonanlds in Marathon.

The Magician was really nice for the kids. It was a breath of fresh air to have an event catered for kids.

With everything considered, I would stay again here. We mind our own business when we go camping and are quiet and keep to ourselves, I usually expect the same from others and I did not find this here.

Room Tip: If you enjoy the water, pay for an Elite spot, you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Coming off the 7-mile bridge to it's own private key is a very pretty site. The park is clean and some of the staff are truly friendly and helpful. Many of the amenities listed are sub-standard and not working the majority of the time. Those include the limited internet access, cable television that is grainy, with some channels just not working and laundry facilities that are 50% broken. The pool and surrounding deck are very nice. Needs some brick repair. The entry landscaping is appealing and kept up by a very vigilant woman. The game room had no functioning games and the bathrooms near the pool are in disrepair and dirty. The office staff are not very friendly, which carries on throughout the park. It is not a welcoming, friendly park. Very disappointed for the amount of money we paid to stay here for one month.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank L A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We have just returned from this campground a week ago. We absolutly loved it. Campsites are great, the pool and pool area was always extra clean. The bathrooms in the game room near the pool were also very clean. The whole campground is well kept. Staff were very friendly. Amazing magician there, puts on shows with bunnies and a dove. Lots of activities in the evenings. We were there for new years eve and they held a wonderful pool party with music, free food and punch. The campground is surrounded by water, lots of palm trees. At the marina, there are manhatees that come visit, my kids were giving them fresh water from the hose which they love. The only negative thing i have to say is that the beach was not nice- full of dried seaweeds on the sand but I was told this is how the beaches are here in the keys. As for the dog walk area, well its not much of an area but we would walk our dog in the campground anyways. As long as you pick up after the dog, the staff dont say anything. Worth every penny!! We are returning for longer period next year!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nancy3797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garfield Heights Oh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Have stayed there 6 times over twenty + years both in camper and in boat. for as long as 31 days. weekends and espeacily holiday weekends people from Miami come down and it does get noisy and loud. But normaly is clean. Nightime security on gate. on site snack bar, shuffle board, ping pong decent pool. Gulf side pier with access to gulf and can explore entire island with beach. Used to come down with camper and rent boat. many pull through stes gravel, full hookups. separate tent area with grass.Now last 3 times trail boat and stay on board my own boat at Marina. Midway at mile marker32. We come to dive looe Key and swim. Only downside is about 10 miles either way to island with resturants, groceries ect. But facilities were generaly nice, and the people were generaly very nice to us. Staying at the Marina you get to use all the facilities. ramps floating docks and wall docks with electric and water. Fish cleaning station, picnik tables fuel dock marina store, convienance store. Not the Ritz Carlton but we like the place. They also had activities like exercise at pool, garage sales, BBQ rib dinners ect.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fred L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Pine Key
9.3 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
9.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
14.9 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
8.9 mi away
Parmer's Resort
Parmer's Resort
#2 of 2 in Little Torch Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
8.9 mi away
Little Palm Island Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Little Palm Island Resort & Spa,...
#1 of 2 in Little Torch Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Key RV Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Key RV Resort & Marina

Property: Sunshine Key RV Resort & Marina
Address: 38801 Overseas Hwy, Big Pine Key, FL 33043-3518
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Big Pine Key
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Big Pine Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunshine Key RV Resort & Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 409
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunshine Key RV Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Key Rv Hotel Big Pine Key
Sunshine Key RV Resort & Marina Big Pine Key, Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing