We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Family campground and marina” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunshine Key RV Resort & Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunshine Key RV Resort & Marina
Garfield Heights Oh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Family campground and marina”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Have stayed there 6 times over twenty + years both in camper and in boat. for as long as 31 days. weekends and espeacily holiday weekends people from Miami come down and it does get noisy and loud. But normaly is clean. Nightime security on gate. on site snack bar, shuffle board, ping pong decent pool. Gulf side pier with access to gulf and can explore entire island with beach. Used to come down with camper and rent boat. many pull through stes gravel, full hookups. separate tent area with grass.Now last 3 times trail boat and stay on board my own boat at Marina. Midway at mile marker32. We come to dive looe Key and swim. Only downside is about 10 miles either way to island with resturants, groceries ect. But facilities were generaly nice, and the people were generaly very nice to us. Staying at the Marina you get to use all the facilities. ramps floating docks and wall docks with electric and water. Fish cleaning station, picnik tables fuel dock marina store, convienance store. Not the Ritz Carlton but we like the place. They also had activities like exercise at pool, garage sales, BBQ rib dinners ect.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fred L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    134
    63
    41
    60
See reviews for
225
147
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here a number of times and we really like the place. There are only a few issues we have, 1, I don't think they should allow children to drive golf carts/four wheelers around. They all pile on them and they drive really fast and they don't pay attention to things around them. The parents should keep a better eye on them, but I do think the park should have rules against this kind of thing. We have almost been run over a few times. Also, the swimming pier has been closed for the last two years that we know of. Why don't they fix it? There are a few broken showers that are in need of fixing. Also I think they should have some sort of adult only day at the pool. We don't go to the pool because its never a relaxing experience when kids are running around screaming all day. Even if they do a adult only half day, that would be nice for the people that don't have kids but would like to enjoy the pool. Maybe put in a second pool but make that an adult only pool. Also the club house has been under construction for quite awhile.. Other than those few issues we've always enjoyed sunshine and everyone there is so friendly. We go every year because of the friends we've made here. I do think it is one of the best Rv parks in the keys.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We enjoyed camping at Sunshine Key Resort. The campground sites had decent spacing between them. The campground is located on its own island, so it's really awesome to walk the campground and see that you are surrounded by water. The pool area is beautiful and the cafe offers food and coffee. There are recreational activites and all ages participate - Bingo, ice cream social, etc.

We will be back again. It is conveniently located between Marathon and Key West. But the real treat is that it is only two miles from Bahia Honda State Park-an absolute treasure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 01DayTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmer City, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We've stayed on Sunshine Key a number of times. It is a wonderful location. The landscaping and facilities have always been very nice. We noticed that they are bringing in new campers for rental units when we stayed. We alway liked to go to the pier to watch the sunset but it was closed in need of repair. I hope that gets done soon. Loved seeing the manatees in the marina as they were passing thru the area. The shower rooms were kept very nice for all of the use that they have. I hope that they will continue to renovate the facilities to keep this a nice place for years to come.

Room Tip: By the marina is nice but is a busy area. The north and east sides by the water can be very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

The Park advertises these camper trailers you can rent but you cannot have a pet in. These trailers aren't fit for humans these trailers are Katrina flood trailers that are the biggest pieces of junk you've ever seen there falling apart they have bad mattresses they have mold but yet the Park tells you these trailers are beautiful and so nice that you can't have a pet in them read some of the stories about the trailers. I talked to a couple last year that were renting one of the trailers and they were told by the Park it had to full-size beds it did not the couple said on everything in the trailer didn't work he had used sticks to prop up the windows to keep the windows open and he had used a shower in the Park because when you use the shower in the trailer it leaked all over the floor. The Park would like you to think that these are beautiful new trailers, just the opposite their old junky pieces of crap of which last year they had to get rid of four of them because they were beyond repair

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank RVerWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed memorial day weekend and left a night early. The bathrooms were so disgusting that there were tampons and maxi pads strewn all over. Hair clogging the drains and water flooding the bathroom floor. Toilets had no toilet paper on Saturday and the toilets had poop, pee and feminine products as mentioned above all over them. I called Scott who was the manager and when I showed him the pictures on my phone he told me he just didn't have the staff to keep the bathrooms clean. We got into a rather large fight where he proceeded to tell me that not only didn't he care that my children and I couldn't use the toilets or even shower but to add insult to injury he told me I wasn't due any compensation. I told him I was calling the health department and going to send all the pics in my phone and he told me to go for it. We left a night early and am working with American express to get all charges reversed. Please don't stay here if you value clean bathrooms. One other thing is that at night almost every campsite blares very loud music and people party until 3 and 4am. Scott is a very disrespectful person and has no business managing anything. I will be calling his boss tomorrow.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Gymgirl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

To preface, this was our first camp trip in The Keys. We're used to camping in the mountains of Virginia, so we have nothing comparable to assess this campground against. It's just over the Seven Mile Bridge. Big Pine Key is the closest key with commercial development and Key West is a 45 min drive minimum.

We arrived on a Thursday night in mid-May. The campground was about half full with mostly semi-permanent residents. The bathrooms were spotless. The campground was quiet until Friday night. Then it was party time until the wee hours of the morning. On Saturday, the campground felt very busy even though it was not full. The bathroom didn't stay as clean, but the rain kept the partying to a minimum that night.

We didn't use the on-site amenities, so I can't comment on them. The "dog walk" area is just a narrow strip of grass on the side of the road. The beach is a lot of mangrove hammock and sea grass. It's good for exploring wildlife.

The sites are all gravel, some on the outside edges have grass. They are pretty level and we had no problem with the hookups. The picnic tables are very small, four people max. You can park as many cars/boats on your site as you can fit.

No problems with mosquitoes, but there are some annoying tiny gnats. They're bites don't last, so they're just an annoyance.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Suba-ROO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Pine Key
9.4 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
9.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
14.9 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Parmer's Resort
Parmer's Resort
#2 of 2 in Little Torch Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
8.9 mi away
Little Palm Island Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Little Palm Island Resort & Spa,...
#1 of 2 in Little Torch Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
9.5 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Key RV Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Key RV Resort & Marina

Property: Sunshine Key RV Resort & Marina
Address: 38801 Overseas Hwy, Big Pine Key, FL 33043-3518
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Big Pine Key
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Big Pine Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunshine Key RV Resort & Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 409
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunshine Key RV Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Key Rv Hotel Big Pine Key
Sunshine Key RV Resort & Marina Big Pine Key, Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing