We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
An oasis from US 1

There are two nice observation points. We saw an alligator close up. This place is well signed... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
AmosRedux
,
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Interesting

My wife and I have looked for the Blue Hole before on other trips but managed to find it in October... read more

Reviewed November 30, 2018
TNCatfish
,
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Read all 461 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Big Pine Key
from $155.88
More Info
from $155.88
More Info
Reviews (461)
Filter reviews
461 results
Traveler rating
152
157
122
20
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
152
157
122
20
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews key deer observation deck short trail big pine fish short stop resident alligator viewing area nature trail worth a stop nature lovers visitor center neat place key west alligators freshwater quarry
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 461 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2018 via mobile

Part of the trail is still closed here due to the damage from the hurricane. We did get to see the alligator swimming around though. The water was pretty clear. There were Key deer across the road as well. Got good photos and video.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank coconutpalmtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018

Short walk from parking lot (room for just a few cars). No entrance fee.
Beautiful lake in a former quarry.
We saw turtles, lots of birds and fish, but unfortunately no alligators.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Pia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2018 via mobile

is all you really need here. We saw the alligator, turtles and fish. make sure to wear sunscreen, it was hot. Worth the stop.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2018 via mobile

Wasn't expecting this to be a pond. Was expecting a bit more grandeur. Still, a short walk, a little viewing dock to see a turtle in the water. If you are passing by and like nature, make a quick stop, if not, don't drive far for this. 15 mins is all you need here.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Michele c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2018

Nice short trail around pond. Went to see alligators and ended up seeing two. The trail wasn't to crowded so you could enjoy it.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews