We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Fishing Lodge is in a great location and was extremely clean and, the boat access and ramp were great.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Pine Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Pine Key Fishing Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2010

Went down with four buddies for a fishing trip, We stayed in a rustic campsite with our boat in the water next to us. The ladies in the store were very nice. The bathrooms were really clean. We had a great trip.

Thank you to the staff at Big Pine Fishing Lodge,

Scott - Orlando, FL

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ScottAlxSmith160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 198 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2010

We camped in the rustic tentsite area and loved the Key Deer and Red Winged Black Birds. We thought they could use an outhouse in that area for convenience. Other than that the facilities were clean and the owner's key lime pie was to die for. Thank you for a wonderful vacation.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DanaKarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

We loved this place! We had a rustic site, which only had 2 tables and a space for the tent and the car. Check in was quick and painless. Gated entrance/exit made it secure. Facilities are convenient and immaculately clean. Nightly entertainment was great, although we used the game room to work on a computer, everyone there looked like they were having a great time. People are very friendly and social. Banana split night was the best! We cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nick1ir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Big Pine Key Fishing Lodge. The rooms are comfortably large, able to accommodate the 3 of us that stayed there for the weekend. It was nice and clean, no mold or mildew anywhere, which is quite a challenge with the constant humidity down there. While the weather didn't allow us to take advantage of all the amenities, it has a great pool deck (no hot tub), fishing boats waiting to be rented and a place you can fish from land if you'd like to.There's a big screen TV in an open air room that has a small game room attached to it. Clean as could be in the common areas too. The highlight is seeing the key deer roaming the grounds. The hotel was able to accommodate our large van and truck we needed to travel in as well. It's got a nice gift shop with fresh coffee every morning. We're looking forward to our next stay in the lodge.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SNCLVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2009

We spent last Christmas at Big Pine Key Fishing Lodge and I kept meaning to write a review. The campground is great and the people are wonderful. The people at the front desk are informative and friendly. The showers and bathrooms were very clean. Our kids ages 13, 11 and 8 had a great time. We felt very comfortable letting them bike around. They meet some nice kids from Canada. The pool was great and they had a fun icecream sunde night. Free coffee every morning. Everyone was very, very nice.
It was very challenging to get a 30 foot trailer around the corners. We found out later that they have a tractor that will park it for you for $15, do it! It seemed like we were close together but I never saw or heard our neighbors unless you wanted to. We would go back tom. if we could.
Mary Manasquan NJ

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cafcafmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

We visited the Big Pine Key Fishing Lodge as an alternative to staying at a hotel in Key West. It's a relatively short distance away from Downtown Key West--about 30 minutes.

Location- Big Pine Key is well hidden. We missed it completely the first time around and had to turn back. It's nestled in and kept away from the traffic and main street. The actual lodge consists of RV sites, small motel like rooms, and campsites, both rustic and with hook ups. We showed up the same day and got a rustic campsite (the only one available), that was beachfront.

Amenities- the lodge covers all the basics--there are shared showers, laundry, a rec room, a pool, a well stocked and fairly priced grocery store, electric hook ups, etc. The rustic campsites are the bare minimum, but you only have to walk a short distance to use the facilities.

Staff- The staff was polite and helpful. A big thumbs up goes to the maintenance crew, who were extremely helpful and organized. They allowed us to use some of their tools to inflate our air mattress. They also take good care of the grounds.

Visitors- All visitors seemed to be repeat or frequent RV'ers, campers. Most people seemed to have extended stays. The overall atmosphere was very nice and relaxing. People are constantly out barbequeing, drinking, lounging, etc. There are lots of families and teenagers.

Cons- The only and primary con was the BUGS! It may have been largely due to the time of the year, but we realized very quickly that we were not properly prepared to handle the amount of gnats, no see ums, sand flies, etc.. that were lurking about. Our campsite seemed to have swarms of them! It wasn't so bad in the daytime, while we were setting up our tent, but once nighttime hit, we were severely bitten, despite having insecticide. At the end of our 1 night stay, we have been bitten all over our bodies. I would highly recommend packing Deep Woods OFF or bringing along a multitude of sprays and deterrents to handle this problem. Alternatively, you can also try going during the winter months or camping away from the waterfront. This problem only was almost enough to overshadow all the other wonderful pros!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MJT0813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2009

We just returned from our stay at the Big Pine Key Fishing Lodge and it was an absolute pleasure staying at this fantastic, fantastically priced camp ground. A few highlights of note:

1.) Bathrooms are cleaned daily, and cleaned thoroughly. Many campgrounds end up with swampy, bug infested latrines of doom. Not here. The floors are clean, the metal of the sinks and fixtures is clean, and the "at home" feeling is definitely there.

2.) Access is ideal. Big Pine Key, if you haven't looked at a map to figure out where it is yet, is between Marathon and Key West. That means if you want to take a day trip over to Bahia Honda's fabulous beaches, you're mere miles away. If you want to jet over to Key West's attractions, it will be a relatively short journey. OR,

3.) It's on Big Pine Key, which is fabulous, actually. For the nature lover there is Blue Hole, the Keys' largest body of fresh water and hangout of a number of species of lizard, snake, alligator, and turtle. Of course, there is no secret that Big Pine Key, as a refuge for the endangered Key Deer, is covered in the critters. The ones at the Lodge are going to be a bit obnoxious (think of really forward squirrels, getting into whatever you don't secure properly, food-wise)... but the wild ones really are majestic to watch, where you can watch them.

Now, a few additional details. We stayed in one of the primitive sites, right on the water. I have heard many people share concerns over the the noise from the traffic (it faces the water, and also US1 coming from the North), but I didn't really find it to be all that bad (and we were sleeping in a tent). Definitely, though, you should be aware that some padding of some variety is a GOOD idea as the ground is rather hard over there.

The Fishing Lodge is, of course, in addition to being a campground, a Fishing Lodge first and foremost. This means for the nautically inclined, you'll find all of the important factors where your boat is concerned. I'll let other reviewers tackle those topics, but I would like to add that the Big Pine Key Fishing Lodge store is quite well stocked with all of the necessities. I'm a chronic over-preparer, but the wife and I actually took stock of what was in the store at the Lodge, and realized that had we left straight from work with nothing prepared for our trip save a few bags, we could have outfitted ourselves properly and affordably right there in the Lodge's store. No joke, they had tents, tent stakes (we needed some different ones, it got a bit windy), a well-stocked refrigerator and freezer area, inflatable mattresses, bug spray (even an all-natural one!), camping pads, flashlights, all sorts of batteries, propane canisters, a variety of clothing items (sun protection hats - very important!), and fishing supplies. When I asked the staff how they arrived upon such a useful collection, they explained that their consistent stock has been prepared painstakingly over the years out of a "most wanted" list supplied by their campers. Now THAT is customer service.

If I had to complain about one thing, and one thing only, I'd say that a few more smallish path lights would make the walk from the rustic area to the bathrooms a bit easier, though please nothing to diminish the beautiful star-scape visible on clear nights.

So that's it. If you're a camper heading down to the keys, ignore the 11-month advanced notice to book in the State Parks, skip the same-old-same-old KOA, and treat yourself to something a little more interesting.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pressurewave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Pine Key
14.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.7 mi away
Sunshine Key RV Resort & Marina
4 mi away
Parmer's Resort
Parmer's Resort
#2 of 2 in Little Torch Key
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
1.7 mi away
Deer Run Bed & Breakfast
Deer Run Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 4 in Big Pine Key
140 reviews
3.6 mi away
Old Wooden Bridge Fishing Camp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Pine Key Fishing Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Pine Key Fishing Lodge

Address: 33000 Overseas Hwy, Big Pine Key, FL 33043-3519
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Big Pine Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Big Pine Key
Price Range: $60 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Pine Key Fishing Lodge (BPKFL) occupies ten pristine acres between the Gulf of Mexico and the Atlantic Ocean. Perfectly positioned in the Middle Keys at MM33, the BPKFL offers a friendly home-base from which to enjoy all the Florida Keys has to offer. The BPKFL has several lodging options to choose from including rustic campsites, electric/water RV campsites, water-front campsites, plus efficiencies and motel rooms. With a boat ramp and canals, you can put your boat in the water (and leave it in the water) during your stay. This idea of "boat-side" camping gives you the freedom to jump in your boat and go whenever the mood strikes. Our camp store is stocked with everything you need to be comfortable at camp and out on the water. This includes food, beverages, and snacks, plus fishing/marine supplies like marine gas, bait and basic water sports equipment. Whether this is your first visit to BPKFL or your fiftieth, we look forward to sharing our little slice of paradise with you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Pine Key Fishing Hotel Big Pine Key
Big Pine Fishing Lodge Big Pine Key Fla
Big Pine Key Fishing Lodge Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing