We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Convenient and charming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Daddy O Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Daddy O Hotel
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Convenient and charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed in two adjoining rooms for three days to attend a wedding in Bal Harbour. It was great to have adjoining rooms for our family. The rooms were spacious and beds very comfortable although the bathrooms were a bit tight. The hotel is reminiscent of boutique hotels in Europe. There is no elevator which could be a challenge for someone with limited mobility but there are only a few floors to the hotel. Location was within walking distance to Bay Harbor shops, Bal Harbor shops and Surfside. Never needed a car to get around. The hotel includes a continental breakfast and all day coffee, tea and water. Great value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happytraveler1528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, General Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank You for your kind review of the Daddy O Hotel, we are very pleased to hear that your stay with us was a pleasant experience. Always nice to have guest stay for a fun event such as the wedding you described. We appreciate your feedback, it’s how we as a staff evaluate the service we provide. We do hope you will think of us for any future lodging needs you may have and we look forward to seeing you again.

Regards,
Daddy O Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    326
    95
    47
    35
See reviews for
117
428
73
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Superbly comfy beds, nice rooms, staff like Courtney on front desk couldn't do enough for us. Take a walk over the bridge and check out the local shops and restaurants and then hop on the bus to Colin's ave and south beach (not worth driving as bus get in same time) and be glad to have piece and quiet to sleep here away from the madness of SoBe

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, General Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind review! We really try to exceed our guest's expectations, and if something isn't going well, we'll make up for it. We're glad you've enjoyed your stay with us, and hope you come back soon.

Sincerely,
Daddy O Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Great value hotel for Miami. Very helpful front desk, free phone calls - both local and international, free parking and well located for local shopping & restaurants. Breakfast, which is basic and communal, is included. The neighborhood is quiet and seems secure. We had trouble with our TV which they tried hard to fix and, in the end, made more than reasonable compensation for the inconvenience. However, if you are planning to spend a lot of time around South Beach, whilst the distance is not too far (10 km or so), the traffic is terrible and it can take the best part of an hour each way. Mainland Miami is much easier to get to.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tedstravelblogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We really appreciate your remarks. And we must have really liked you to include the parking- unless you gave us some type of code that can be found here on trip advisor (wink wink)! We hope you come and stay with us again- dash the traffic.

Warm regards,
Daddy O Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
299 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,024 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We are just back from a first-time stay at Daddy-O, where we spent 5 days while on vacation in the Miami Beach area.

We generally liked our stay, and any criticism we have is offered in a constructive way, as we would like to return here in the future.

On the plus side, the front desk staff is extremely courteous, attentive, and professional. The complimentary breakfast is quite sufficient. Internet access is uneventful and complimentary and carries the extra benefit of free domestic and international calls from the guestroom telephone. Rooms are equipped with king-size beds, 42" flat television sets, safes, refrigerators, and a Keurig coffeemaker. The hotel offers free mineral water and coffee drinks at the breakfast area on a 24-hour basis; may I add the complimentary coffeemaker makes cappuccino, latte, mocchaccino, and whatever else one wishes.

The hotel offers parking at $12 a day as an alternative to parking at an adjacent city lot, where parking meters must be 'fed' between 8am and 6pm.

On the minus side is an observation many TripAdvisor reviewers have made: sound insulation is non-existent. One can hear conversations in the next room, people walking in the upstairs room, television sets. While it might be too late for the owners to soundproof the rooms, it may be a good idea to post signs in rooms that ask guests to keep their voices and television set volume down. If you cannot fall asleep while the television set next door is on, this is not a hotel for you.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room on the second floor might offer better sound insulation
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EANYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We at the Daddy O are so pleased you enjoyed your stay- for the most part. You raise a wonderful suggestion, and we will definitely take it into account for the future. Noise really is our most prevalent criticism and with good reason. We do hope that you will come back and stay with us soon. It was a pleasure to have you with us.

Sincerely,
Daddy O Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Daddy O hotels is located in a quiet neighborhood not far from Collins Avenue - A1A in the North Miami, Bay Harbor Islands area. The hotel is sized larger than most boutique hotels in which we have stayed. The decor is very up to date modern. The bedding is comfortable. A small refrigerator and microwave oven are in each room. A laptop computer sized safe is provided in the closet. The room is, to quote another reviewer, really nice. The front desk offers a good selection of wines and beers. The complementary breakfast buffet is typical, offering cereals, coffee and yogurt, with the addition of some very nice hearty and tasty breads for toasting.

Noise is a issue at this hotel. Rooms are not totally soundproofed. Adjacent room noise can occassionally be heard. If you are in the rooms fronting East Bay Harbor Drive, above the porch fronting the lobby, you can hear conversations taking place on the porch. To avoid the porch noise issue, try not to get rooms 213 A & B and 214 A & B.

The location is ideal for walking. Around the corner to the right on 96th Street are several fine restaurants. To the left on 96th street is a very upscale shopping mall with several nice restaurants. Intersecting 96th Street, to the right of the Bal Harbour Shops are several more economical restaurants, a Subway sandwich shop, a drugstore and retail shops. Daddy O is nicely situated for convenience of shopping and dining.

The staff is friendly, personable and, most of all, helpful. Courtney, Assistant Manager, and front desk concierge Elaine were delightfully courteous. The breakfast attendant is most helpful and friendly.

We visit South Florida regularly and will make the Daddy O our hotel of choice from now on.

Room Tip: Front porch noise may be an issue. Try for rooms not over the porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2gators
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Everyone at the Daddy O, especially Courtney, Elaine and Jane, appreciate your comments and acknowledgments very much. We strive to make your stay as comfy as possible. We’re glad you enjoyed your room and breakfast, though we’re not sure where you found the in-room microwave and breakfast cereal as we don’t offer those commodities. At any rate, thank you for this very nice review and we hope you’ll visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Daddy O Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I recently stayed at the Daddy O hotel while in Miami for a wedding. The reception was at a nearby hotel on the beach, but the much more affordable rates at Daddy O were well worth the short walk, about 5 minutes, to the beach. It's also located next to a nice shopping center. The staff was very helpful and even offered to pay the difference between a cab ride and shuttle to Ft. Lauderdale Airport due to miscommunication on my part. They were flexible with check in/out and the room was spotless. The complimentary breakfast was perfect for the post-wedding "blues." I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We are thrilled you had a great experience with us. Thank you so much for the brilliant review and we hope to see you before the next wedding.

With warm regards,
Daddy O Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Initially, I was terrified. With a name like Daddy-O's, I wasn't sure if hourly rates were also available, but i had checked tripadvisor, and all signs pointed to a nice place. I was coming to Miami for 2 nights for work, and I was bringing my boyfriend along for company. I was really just hoping it was clean.

I came to check in with 1 hour to get to my room, shower, change, and leave to get to a meeting 20 minutes away. The check-in process took a little longer as our front-desk chica was training someone. If I didn't have to accomplish the impossible, I would have been A-ok, but my North-East pace of life was getting the best of me as we stopped to give directions, and got a million questions. In retrospect, both ladies were INCREDIBLY nice.

The hotel is right over the bridge from Bal Harbor too, which I'm told is an experience to say the least. Very ritzy and high end. We didn't get time to check it out as much as I had hoped, but it was beautiful.

Our room was great! We were in 219-B which was a corner room so we had a view of the parking lot, but a great breeze and lots of light. The bed was INCREDIBLY comfortable. There was nowhere to really unpack, but it was fine since we were only there for 2 days. The room had a keurig which ROCKED, and lots of comfortable amenities- hair dryer, shampoo, conditioner, lotion, bottles of water, bathrobe, slippers etc. When I hopped in the shower, there were short black hairs stuck to the opposing wall of the shower head. That was a big disconcerting, but I assumed that the owner of said hairs was at least clean... so i just ignored it and did my thing. There is no way to close the shower door, so the floor can get a bit damp if you don't angle the shower head perfectly. We figured that out and was good from there.

I've seen complaints about noise, but it really wasn't a problem for us. I'd recomend our room. I guess we were in a good spot.

We took the 10 minute walk to the beach and Daddy-O's supplied us with beach chairs. The beach was GORGEOUS. I wouldn't have wanted anything else out of a 10 minute walk. It really is the perfect set up. I wish i didn't have so much obligation. I would have loved to have stayed for an extra day and spent more time right there.

Parking was interesting, but they had it WORKED OUT. For $12/day (most people seem to have paid $8?), you can either park on the side for free, or around back at meters that they would keep full for you. As spots on the side opened up, they'd pull your car around for you. It was really nice to not have to worry.

Breakfast was decent. Nothing amazing, but it sure got the job done. We ate but toast, bagels, yogurt, muffins, fruit etc, plus the coffee maker in the loby that just cranks out medium cups of goodness all day long- Cafe Mocha, Cappuchino, Expresso, Macchiato... I wasn't tired once the whole time i stayed.

All in all, I would be back here in a minute. The price was right, and it was a cute boutique hotel. The staff was friendly, the amenties made the stay very comfortable, and you weren't nickled and dimed along the way which totally annoys me, yet lots of hotels seem to have moved in this direction. The name Daddy-O's felt a lot more relevent in Miami, but coming from the North East, it was a bit scary. The place really is quite nice. I'd love to spend more time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CohenLaurenA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We’d love to have you! Thank you for this great review. We’re happy it wasn’t what you expected, though we will definitely be more vigilant with the housekeeping in the bathrooms. If it gets too crazy up north, we’ll save a spot for you on the beach. Hope you come to claim it soon!

With warm regards,
Daddy O team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bay Harbor Islands
0.5 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside
0.5 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bal Harbour
3.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bal Harbour Quarzo
Bal Harbour Quarzo
#4 of 5 in Bal Harbour
4.0 of 5 stars 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort
0.4 mi away
Sun Harbour Boutique Hotel
5.2 mi away
The Confidante
The Confidante
#20 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daddy O Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daddy O Hotel

Property: Daddy O Hotel
Address: 9660 E Bay Harbor Dr, Bay Harbor Islands, FL 33154-2104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Bay Harbor Islands
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bay Harbor Islands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Daddy O Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish boutique hotel provides guests with a sophisticated yet personal experience along with convenient access to South Beach hot spots, dining, shopping, nightlife and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Daddy O Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing