We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get away from it all”
Review of House of Mark

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
House of Mark
Ranked #1 of 1 Glenesk B&B and Inns
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Get away from it all”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

About half an hour drive away from the nearest other hotel, b&b or restaurant we could find lies this gem. Literally in the middle of nowhere (well actually on the north eastern edge of the Cairngorms NP). If you like your cell phone service this is no place for you because no reception here. Also no television in the rooms. There is WIFI though.

If you like hiking/walking, good food, a great host with great anecdotes, or just some piece and quiet this is the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vossekop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
30
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

What a memorable experience! The guest house is in a beautiful setting with surrounding gardens and views to the mountains of the Cairngorms National Park. Walks to the hills, lochs, streams, historic points of interest . . . all on your doorstep. The bedrooms are very spacious and tastefully decorated. Dining is in a beautiful room with other guests around a dining table - it feels more like a private dinner party you would have in your own home - lots of fascinating conversations. Ian was a truly wonderfully attentive host, full of helpful advice and some intriguing stories of the area. The service was impeccable. The place exudes a warmth and understated class without being pretentious or ostentatious. The breakfast is superb and, thanks to June's recipes and attention to detail, the dinner is better than most top quality restaurants at a fraction of the cost. The remoteness of the location lends itself to a tranquil and relaxing stay. It was an absolute pleasure being here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheVals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

House of Mark is an extraordinary B&B in an extraordinary place. 15 miles from anywhere, it's a classy place to stay far beyond the end of the road. You will never lack for attention from your hosts, intellectual stimulation, privacy, nor good meals, and all at reasonable prices. Plan to stay here for good walks, meals, conversation, company, and scenery, and enjoy a taste of the very best of Scotland. You may *visit* Scotland, but this place is what you'll remember.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suomigrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

We were warmly welcomed to House of Mark and enjoyed lovely food in a very beautiful location. This was a very therapeutic stay! Watching the birds over a hearty breakfast, walks and biking to Queens Well then relaxing by the open fires before and after dinner.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edinburghlass67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
House of M, Owner at House of Mark, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
It was lovely to meet you, thank you for taking the time to write a review. June and I hope to see you again in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I stayed at the House of Mark for three nights and was very impressed with the excellent food (locally sourced meat, including game, home made bread etc) and the welcoming atmosphere, with Ian and June being great hosts. After a long day out on the hill it was fantastic to have a drink before supper in front of an open fire in the sitting room, then going through to the dining room for a delicious meal, also in front of an open fire. I had a large room with a good ensuite shower room, all spotlessly clean. As I finished breakfast on my last morning I watched red squirrels eating off the bird table outside the dining room window - a lovely way to round off my stay.

Room Tip: I stayed in a room called the Glen Esk.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Being my first visit to Scotland, Ian and June went to extraordinary lengths as hosts to make me feel at home and brilliantly navigated me through the length and breadth of Scotland. I stayed for 5 nights and the experience surpassed my expectations. Ian and June enlightened me on the areas rich history and heritage, moreover they both catered for all my needs from spectacular locally sourced sumptuous food through to helping me to plan daily activities visiting museums, prime locations of awe inspiring historical significance. Ian and June enriched my stay and I cannot thank them enough. One must visit them again and again as the experience is extremely rewarding and does wonders to re energise ones batteries.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_1234444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We went for a 2 course evening meal Martin had a wonderfully cooked Sea Bream and I had a steak cooked to perfection and both had bread and butter pudding to follow - delicious! Both June and Ian were wonderful hosts and spent a lot of time chatting to us. This is set in the most beautiful of settings - what more could you ask for? 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JANICE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenesk
12.3 mi away
Glenesk Hotel
Glenesk Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edzell
534 reviews
11.4 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
346 reviews
22.3 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#3 of 4 in Ballater
580 reviews
15.8 mi away
Northern Hotel
Northern Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brechin
226 reviews
8.5 mi away
Glen Clova Hotel
Glen Clova Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milton of Clova
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of Mark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Mark

Property: House of Mark
Address: Glenesk DD9 7YZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Glenesk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Glenesk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the House of Mark, a friendly bed and breakfast, formerly a manse set within two acres at the foot of the Cairngorms National Park amongst stunning scenery and spectacular countryside, great walking on the doorstep, within an area steeped in history. The House of Mark overlooks the Water of Mark and, along with the Water of Lee, forms the river North Esk close by renowned for salmon and sea trout. After your day sightseeing, walking whatever, sit in the tranquil garden listening to the wildlife and water flowing by, or relax in front of an open fire. You may be lucky to catch a glimpse of the “Northern Lights” (aurora borealis). When particles from space are diverted by the earth’s magnetic field they give off a shimmering light, only visible in the North sky from the Northern Hemisphere. What better way to release the stress of everyday life! An Aga home-cooked dinner is available for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your House of Mark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing