We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place to stay”
Review of House of Mark

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
House of Mark
Ranked #1 of 1 Glenesk B&B and Inns
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A very special place to stay”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed at The House of Mark whilst mountain biking across Scotland in July 2012, only a few months after Ian and June, the new owners, opened for business. With its superb location at the head of Glenesk, at the start of the tarmac road, it is ideally placed for a final stop on the Coast to Coast route. After a fantastic ride over Mount Keen from Ballater we were warmly welcomed by Ian, June and Lola (the very friendly dog), and treated to tea, biscuits and June's lemon drizzle cake, which seems to be becoming a regular feature of these reviews! Our room was spacious and comfortable, beautifully presented and spotless, with a really good shower in the ensuite. The highlight of our stay, though, was the wonderful dinner, cooked by June, using mainly local produce. The website modestly offers an Aga-cooked 3-course dinner for £18. We had been looking forward to it all day, and in my opinion you would struggle to get a better meal anywhere, especially at the price (but don't forget to pre-book as there's nowhere else to eat for miles). Ian and June offered a choice of 3 dishes for each course and will happily cater for special requirements. The wild mushroom soup was sensational , as was the coq au vin and June's special variation on Eton Mess. Breakfast was equally good, with smoked salmon and duck eggs on offer along with a particularly tasty full Scottish. We would have loved to stay longer but we had to push on to Montrose, and then back home. All in all, a very special place to stay in a remote and beautiful location - thank you Ian and June

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
30
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carbondale, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2012

While biking from coast to coast across Scotland, this was the last place we stayed. Of all the places, The House of Mark was by far the best, totally in a different class. It was a warm welcome after riding over Mt Keen and we were very happy to have a place to stay in the valley without having to continue on to the next nearest lodging in Edzell, which would have been a very long day. Warm and cosy, with roaring fires in the dining and sitting room, it was great to sit out of the rain and enjoy the homemade lemon drizzle cake and tea. Ian and June are wonderfully cheery hosts, and June is an exceptional cook. We had a grand bedroom with large bed and a full tea service and ensuite bathroom. The old stables served to shelter our bikes from the rain. This bed and breakfast is uniquely situated in the middle of nowhere with a wonderful feeling of wilderness. Wish we'd stayed on an extra day to take it all in and do some fly fishing on the river that runs right past the house. Great valley full of history, including Queen Victoria's well, and a real castle that was actually used for defense, not as a stately home like so many of the castles in Scotland. The House of Mark itself was built from some of the old stones from the castle. I've never bothered to write a review on trip advisor, but this place merits it as Ian and June are doing a fantastic job with their new b&b, which only just opened a month ago. I'd love to come back as they continue to make the place even more comfortable and beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed at the House of Mark shortly after the new owners Ian and June had moved in. We arrived by mountain bike - a thoroughly recommended ride from Ballater over Mt Keen. Tea and home made lemon drizzle cake in the walled garden was the perfect welcome for tired cyclists. Ian and June were the perfect hosts, and June's Coq-au-vin was delicious.
Great to have such a comfortable place to stay in a location with so much countryside to explore.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 197Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yreka, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2006

The House of Mark is an intimate Bed and Breakfast in a remote setting. Excellent home-cooked dinners are available as well, and highly recommended (they cost extra). The guests sit together at meals, and share a parlor--maximum capacity is about 8 people. Although it is easy to drive out into local towns and go sightseeing, the real bonus is the countryside. The hiking is great and on your doorstep. It is popular with anglers as well. The owner, Bea Rawlinson, is a superb hostess, and you feel well taken care of. Different than most B & B's, it is a unique experience in that you get to know Bea and your fellow guests. It was hard to leave after three nights. It was a highlight of our month long trip in Scotland.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
3 Thank moc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenesk
12.3 mi away
Glenesk Hotel
Glenesk Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edzell
534 reviews
11.4 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
346 reviews
22.3 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#3 of 4 in Ballater
580 reviews
15.8 mi away
Northern Hotel
Northern Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brechin
226 reviews
8.5 mi away
Glen Clova Hotel
Glen Clova Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milton of Clova
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of Mark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Mark

Property: House of Mark
Address: Glenesk DD9 7YZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Glenesk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Glenesk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the House of Mark, a friendly bed and breakfast, formerly a manse set within two acres at the foot of the Cairngorms National Park amongst stunning scenery and spectacular countryside, great walking on the doorstep, within an area steeped in history. The House of Mark overlooks the Water of Mark and, along with the Water of Lee, forms the river North Esk close by renowned for salmon and sea trout. After your day sightseeing, walking whatever, sit in the tranquil garden listening to the wildlife and water flowing by, or relax in front of an open fire. You may be lucky to catch a glimpse of the “Northern Lights” (aurora borealis). When particles from space are diverted by the earth’s magnetic field they give off a shimmering light, only visible in the North sky from the Northern Hemisphere. What better way to release the stress of everyday life! An Aga home-cooked dinner is available for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your House of Mark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing