We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to par in a few instances”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bartow
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bartow
Certificate of Excellence
New Port Richey, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not up to par in a few instances”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

At least two of the ice machines didn't work, and the internet didn't work either. I went to the front desk in both instances, and the clerk was aware of the problems. Wondering how long they were out of service. Other than that, not bad, kind of bland breakfast compared to similar hotels. Barely an average rating for me.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bartow, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Hernandoman,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am sorry that this visit was a disappointment for you particularly with the condition of the amenities being sub par and Internet connection not working. Your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Regards,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    36
    17
    6
    6
See reviews for
26
16
9
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minneola, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The night clerk was extremely rude. His name was Oscar. He acted condescending and if you asked him something, he acted like it was a big deal. Oscar acted like he would rather be playing on his computer than doing his job.I dropped off my three children at the door and parked. (This took around thirty seconds to a minute.) He was over to them acting like they were a pain to have in the lobby. When they went to go get a cookie, he started harping "You can have one if you use the tongs." rather rudely. I was right theree and they definitely know how to use tongs. He was definitely not use to young children.
.My young daughter dumped a bucket of ice on accident and he rolled his eyes and stated,"Just can't get a break around here." I complained to the assistant manager the next morning, and his reply was that he must have been having a bad night. there were also small ants in the bathroom.They had us on the first floor and I kept waking up to the office door slamming. I will never stay there and I would advise anybody not to.
the maids were very sweet and the pool was nice.

Room Tip: Don't choose one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bartow, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Amy S,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please accept my sincerest apology for the unacceptable experience you had with the service you received during your stay and the room accommodations which affected your stay negatively. I am also sorry for any inconvenience the noise may have caused you. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service. For that reason, I assure you that your feedback will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Met the needs. Not great service but conveniently located for Bartow / Lakeland area. Comp breakfast offered mor selections than average hotel & suites. Rooms and hotel aged. Shower leak and A/c loud.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank atjr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bartow, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear atjr1,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced because of the room conditions. Our goal is to provide clean and comfortable stay to all of our valued guest and make their stay a memorable one. The issues you have raised will be addressed and appropriate actions will be taken. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I agree with a previous reviewer. This is the best hotel in Bartow and for miles around. It is a fairly large and well kept Holiday Inn Express. We had a nice room with two double beds, it was clean and I assume they gave us extra towels because we were staying for two nights...which was nice. The free breakfast will not hold off hunger; if you have a busy day ahead. There is a Perkins just up the road, so we went there once and it was fine. Also, a retro McDonalds right across the street for late night snacks (I had a cheeseburger and real milk shake). The town closes up pretty early during the week, so not much to do in Bartow.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sultan1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton TN
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Clean and safe place to stay. Within minutes of several eating establishments. Wal-Mart down the street too. There are not alot of other hotels near by, at least not yet. The area is growing just to the north on 98. The Hot water was never as hot as i would like it but it did the job. The internet was slower then it should have been. Breakfast was the less then desirable, but plenty of other places near by. Very nice friendly staff.

Room Tip: If you'll need laundy stay on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bart2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Hotel was clean and had a helpful staff. Room was quiet when no one was walking down the halls. Wifi was terrible. It kept kicking me off with the laptop and phone. Breakfast was standard. No washer and dryer on second floor. I did not notice anything on first floor either. Air conditioning would not stay on regardless of temperature setting. If you are a business traveler, you may want to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ba3jbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bartow, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Ba3jbrown,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you found our hotel clean and our staff helpful. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I am very sorry for the challenges you encountered regarding our internet service and for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay. Please be assured that all comments are acted upon and used to improve the products and service we provide to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moundsville, West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Clean and bed and pillows very comfortable. Breakfast was adequate but could be expanded somewhat. Internet was intermittent as we were not located near the lobby. Lots of restaurants located nearby and some were in walking distance. Walmart and Walgreens also nearby.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 74Flowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bartow
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Bartow
Hampton Inn Bartow
#1 of 3 in Bartow
238 reviews
9.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Winter Haven
Holiday Inn Winter Haven
#3 of 16 in Winter Haven
240 reviews
14.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lake Wales N - Winter Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Winter Haven
Hampton Inn Winter Haven
#2 of 16 in Winter Haven
595 reviews
10.3 mi away
Best Western Auburndale Inn & Suites
9.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lakeland South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bartow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bartow

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bartow
Address: 1565 N Broadway Ave, Bartow, FL 33830-3317
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Bartow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bartow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bartow 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to the Bartow area is the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, just a short drive from Tampa and Orlando. This business and leisure hotel is convenient to Cypress Gardens, Sun n Fun Amusement Park and the Spring Training Camps of the Cleveland Indians and the Detroit Tigers. Special in room amenities are complimentary high-speed wireless Internet, microwave and refrigerator as well as free local calls. Businesses: Cargill Mine, Florida Department of Transportation, & Lakeland Regional Hospital. Area attractions: Boc Sanctuary, Disney World, Busch Gardens and Universal Studios. Universities: USF, PCC, FSC. Visit Bartow, FL and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bartow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Bartow
Holiday Inn Bartow
Bartow Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing