We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GooD southern cooking”
Review of Fred's Southern Kitchen - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Fred's Southern Kitchen
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Knoxville
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“GooD southern cooking”
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Lives up to its name. Southern cooking buffet offers all of gandma's specialties...fried chicken, baked corn, big veggie selection, fish and plenty of desserts. Quick and prompt service.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank atjr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    13
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Always a friendly face”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

They have a buffet bar that most people eat at but I prefer to order off the menu. I haven't ordered anything just that wasn't just good ole southern cooking. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful even though they're always busy. The prices are reasonable as well. I go there at least once a month. It's so good. Of course you might gain a few pounds after your visit but didn't you always eat more when you visited Grandma's.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank karen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food at a reasonable price”
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Not your typical buffet food! Tucked away in a small shopping mall area, we were pleasantly surprised at this gem. Everything seemed fresh and tasty. I would definitely recommend Fred's to friends!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keystonecanoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quite a surprise of fresh Southern cooking”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

In the middle of the state where I expected to find only fast food restaurants, we stumbled across this real gem from a billboard. We were there for lunch. They have a delicious buffet of southern foods with many, many selections from which to pick and too numerous to mention all.. You can also order from their large menu if you prefer.. The buffet food is visually appealing in just the layout and you can get everything including from fried chicken, beans, fried green tomatoes, collards greens and cobbler. It looked great and tasted. I would make my route through Bartow just to eat at Fred's Southern Kitchen

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DarKalada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutz, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Stopped on our way from bok tower in lake wales. It was early afternoon, after lunch rush but the food on the buffet was fresh, delicious and hot. Service very good and friendly. Will stop again.

Helpful?
Thank neonargy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fred's Southern Kitchen also viewed

Bartow, Central Florida
Bartow, Central Florida
 
Bartow, Central Florida
Bartow, Central Florida
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing