We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a gem in a gem of a hotel”
Review of J&G Grill - CLOSED

J&G Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Toledo, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“a gem in a gem of a hotel”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We ate here for Mother's Day brunch. The menu surprised me because it is a tasting menu vs. an enormous, eat everything you can buffet. The food was beautiful and delicious; the service was superior.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank STB424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    69
    36
    16
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Mary, Florida, USA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Eh, not very impressive”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I liked the location and the view; food was not very impressive-rubbery lobster risotta, dried filet, just not the best overall. Service was mediocre, friendly but not helpful, if that makes sense. Its not a repeat for me.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelBuff510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious meal...”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The setting is lovely - food was quite good but REALLY expensive. I love to cook and sometimes get annoyed at the price gouging that goes on for a plate of risotto and fish. It was good but...check it out for the scene, and good food. Not GREAT food, but good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anandamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Special Place”
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We booked our evening for 7pm on OpenTable. We were welcomed by several St Regis staff as we entered.
Location-this is located in the St Regis with a nice ocean view. We were seated at a window table,perfect for us.
Ambience-this was very nice and quiet with a scattering of people.
Meal-Black Truffle Pizza, a must have. My wife ordered Yellowfin Tuna Tartare for her meal and it was delicious. The Soy Glazed Wagyu Short Ribs cut like butter. Also the Asparagus & Lemon Gratin was very good. The Warm Chocolate Cake, Vanilla Ice Cream was a solid selection. Lychee Martini had a distinctive yet pleasing taste.
Service-stellar as one would expect from St Regis. The waiter and each of the servers were exceptional. Polite yet not too pretentious.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape may
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely ambience in an exquisite setting”
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

We chose to dine at J&G Grill, located in the new St Regis in Bal Harbor, a Jean George's restaurant. It did not disappoint! The dining room is very upscale with a very cool vibe. We were given a table overlooking the pool and the ocean. We couldn't have asked for a lovelier setting. We shared the scallop appetizer which was good, although nothing special. We then shared the tomahawk rib eye for two which was cooked perfectly and the presentation was very appealing. The highlight of the meal was the desserts. We ordered the salted caramel ice cream sundae which was incredible. We also shared the warm chocolate cake with vanilla ice cream. That dessert also did not disappoint! All in all it was a very special evening and we would not hesitate to dine there again. Thanks to the staff of J&G Grill for making it so memorable!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank soutiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J&G Grill also viewed

Bal Harbour, FL
Bal Harbour, FL
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing