We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“very good meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of J&G Grill - CLOSED

J&G Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
102 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“very good meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Very nice dining experience. Great view and good food. We were staying at the hotel so it was in a great location for us. Very typical high end restaurant. Would go back.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank mdr9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    68
    36
    16
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“NIce Vibe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Nice, sophisticated vibe. Very good food and attentive service. Good spot for a treat as the restaurant is very well appointed with windows overlooking the beach.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

The food was outstanding as was the service
The decor was one of the best
We are newyorkers and have dined at the J & G at the Mark Hotel and the St Regis beats the Mark
Very Impressed

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dqny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
113 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“High price for average experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Visited Nov 30, 2012. The reason to go to a chain hotel restaurant when there are so many other great choices in Miami is the view. Unfortunately, the wind was blowing hard when we arrived so the ocean view patio was closed. Tip 1: check before you go that it's open. The J&G Grill interior dining room is your average upscale W Hotel/St Regis whatever lookalike: generically elegant, with way too many staff and way too little service. It took us 10 minutes after seating to meet our waiter and another 8 minutes to get a drink. Not that we were in a hurry, but invisibility is not what you are paying for.

Our server was fine once he showed, but the food was blah. My $32 Tuna was thin and not overly fresh i.e. below average. Her local snapper was better, but just okay. Butternut squash soup was a little too sweet.

The glitzy lobby is interesting the first time, but you get the sense coming into this property that it's all flash and no heart. Not worth dealing with the valet parking and the attitude

You can get better seafood and a better view at 1/4 the price at Shucker's Grill if you can forgo the chic.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ItTakesTwoToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“meh”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

i just felt it was trying to be a little too clever...for example, having an avocado pizza. i would rather they do something a litlte more standard but execute it perfectly.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank andergtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J&G Grill also viewed

 
Bal Harbour, FL
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing