We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Ludicrously expensive...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bal Harbour Shops

Bal Harbour Shops
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Prestigous, upscale shopping mecca.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ludicrously expensive...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Only good reason to visit is to try something on that is very expensive and then shop for it on-line or at another store for a more reasonable price or with a store discount. Quite pretentious - shop staff a bit rude (normal for MB,) but really awful at times if you are not already dressed in this season's Prada ensemble, with up to the minute Gucci bag and coordinating 6 inch, $600 stilettos in animal print and of course, dripping with diamonds on pristine manicured hands and around sun-aged and tan necks and wrists, as well as in ears framing the face with a fresh blow-out of extensions. And listening to employees and shoppers talk about "good help" and trash talking anyone and anything imaginable. Hard to understand the values of people who spend the afternoon buying couture that costs more than a Yale Bachelors Degree while complaining about inanities. I like to dress up pretty, but boutiques and people with money and class appeal far more to my sensibilities if I am looking to spend....a lot.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bella W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    464
    196
    58
    14
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
179 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Lovely, fun and expensive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

I doubt many of us will do much spending at Bal Harbour, but that doesn't mean it can't be a lot of fun. The window shopping and strolling alone is worth the trip. As noted, all the high-end and designer stores are concentrated here and it's fun to see what this type of merchandise costs. There are nice cafe-type restaurants upstairs too. My favorite part of Bal Harbour is the fish and turtle habitat that runs along the interior. We spent 20 minutes just watching the turtles. A pretty, pretty place even if you don't set foot in any stores.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EBPandDSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Worth a browse.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Worth it for a look around but not really for sensible shopping! Venture a bit further to the Ventura Mall.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TicketPassportMoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
99 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Shopping at its best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stopped by Bal Harbour Shops on a Saturday for a morning of shopping. The center is made up of a variety of high-end stores that you won't find in most cities. We especially enjoyed Thomas Pink, Gucci, and Tiffany's. The salespeople in all three stores were fantastic--very personable and helpful. It is a great way to spend some time whether you are just browsing, or have definite items that you want to shop for. We had a great time!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wombat21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful shopping experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Enjoy this experience, but definitely be ready to spend some $$! Nothing like having a full shop of your favorite designer, instead of a section at a department store. Only the best designers here, so well worth the cost...unless you are just window shopping, but even in this case, it's a grand experience. The landscape itself is gorgeous and worth the trip. My boys and I really enjoyed this place.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Zdenka219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bal Harbour Shops also viewed

 

Been to Bal Harbour Shops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing