We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Sea View”
Review of Sea View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sea View Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bal Harbour
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Love Sea View”
Reviewed October 31, 2008

We arrived at hotel yesterday to a lovely welcome from porter and reception staff. We were kindly given an upgrade to a room with balcony which is charming. A large room ( bathroom on the small side but has everything you need ) with lots of character. Beds very comfortable and the chocolate with the turndown service was much appreciated. We can recommend the bar meal which we enjoyed last evening. The young lady in the bar was more than pleasant and helpful as we have found all the staff to be. We are only here for two more days unfortunately, wish we could stay longer but we will return.

  • Liked — The character of the hotel and friendlyness of the staff
  • Disliked — A little remote
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank GillWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea View Hotel o, Director of Sales at Sea View Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
Dear Love Sea View,
We are extremely flattered by your comments regarding your recent stay. We also thank you for taking the time in sharing with us your experiences, since they are an encouragement to all of us and especially for the staff who was involved. We continue to work in search of excellence and total quality, eager to serve you in the near future.
Many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    194
    99
    37
    32
See reviews for
174
153
23
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2008

Arrived at the hotel in a taxi, the driver kindly removed my suitcase from the boot and while I was paying I expected a bell boy to come and help with my luggage.
There was a bell boy standing there and it looked as though when he saw me he ran off so that he didn't have to help. I had to drag my suitcase in (I never pack light) to the lobby where the gentleman at the front desk made no attempt to help or apologise.
Once he had checked me in he gave me the room number without directing me until I asked and again made no offer to help with the cases. Once I managed to drag myself to my room I found it to be clean if a little old and tatty.

I then went downstairs to request information from the concierge (who it turned out happened to be the bell boy and gift shop helper all at the same time which is maybe why he ran away) and he offered no assistance whatsoever. I even asked for a map and this was given without him even bothering to mark where the hotel was on it and that would be because the map was so bad it provide enough detail!

On the up side the view was beautiful but unfortunately not enough to make up for the bad service. I would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — The view from my room and the location
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Sumarai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea View Hotel o, Manager at Sea View Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
Dear Sumarai,
We thank you for your feedback as we hope to improve our guests experiences.
It's disappointing when we don't meet our guests expectations as we work hard to do so both
independently and as a team. Although we are smaller operation as an independent hotel, there is no excuse for our guests to not be treated as if they are the only one visiting us. Personal attention and service is what we are all about. Our team is in place to service our guests and meet their requests. We have shared your comments with the management team and GM and have reoriented our staff to provide the best service.
We welcome you back and hope you will accept our invitation.
Our team is always here for you.
Contact us again should you pass our way. you'll be pleasantly surprised.
All the best,
Anthony Hill
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bal Harbour hotels

Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2008

After 11 wonderful nights with my family at the Sea View I can only say the very best about this hotel. Beautiful large room, very clean, grandiose service from all staff members, perfect for children (mine is 15 months old). What makes the service special is the surprisingly wonderful cuisine of the hotel restaurant and the fact that you will never hear anything like "sorry, can't do". Everything seems to be possible, and I loved to hear the sentence: "Anything you want, M'am!"

Get a room with a balcony if you like the fresh air as the windows cannot be opened for safety reasons. And then: enjoy and let them spoil you!

  • Liked — Great Service
  • Disliked — windows don't open in rooms without balcony
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank andreaderler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea View Hotel o, Manager at Sea View Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
Dear turtelina,
We are extremely flattered by your comments regarding your recent stay. We also thank you for taking the time in sharing with us your experiences, since they are an encouragement to all of us and especially for the staff who was involved. We continue to work in search of excellence and total quality, eager to serve you in the near future.
We hope for a speedy return as we're making changes that you'll love.
Many thanks,
Anthony Hill
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miamisburg
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2008

The hotel has kind of an old school look and feel. Overall it's a nice hotel, with a quiet oceanfont...one of the reasons why I selected the hotel. The drinks are the poolside bar are a little weak, and incidental charges for towels and the use of lounge chairs is a bit much for the caliber that the hotel fashions itself to be. Location is perfect...about a 15 minute drive to ocean drive. In my opinion, the hotel is a best kept secret for those who want to get away to the beach with oceanfront view without all the noise and traffic of being in the center of things.

  • Liked — only a few feet from the ocean
  • Disliked — poolside incidentals
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pbqhop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea View Hotel o, Manager at Sea View Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Dear pbqhop,
Thank you for the feedback and we hope you enjoyed yourself while staying with us.
We hope too see you again as there are lots of changes happening around here, all for the best!!
We're installing the new air conditioning system followed by the upgrade renovation of the entrance and façade. We think you'll be impressed.
Although we may be a "best kept secret" in Bal Harbour feel free to spread the word. We appreciate the recommendations as always.
All the best,
Anthony Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs uk
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2008

Exactly what it says on the tin............
Helpful staff.
Nice pool - but you have to pay extra for sunbeds min $10 per day each
Car park - at a charge
Business Centre - $5+ per 15 mins internet connection
Great shopping centre opposite - take credit card!
Easy access to south beach Miami - $1.50 bus trip
Beds uncomfortable.
No tea bags in the room, just coffee
Good restaurant & bar
Good breakfast

  • Liked — Shops opposite
  • Disliked — additional charges for everything
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Spotlottydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea View Hotel o, Director of Sales at Sea View Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Dear Spotlottydog,
We thank you for your feedback and welcome you back again as a lot has changed!
We've updated the rooms and reoriented the staff to meet higher standards. The hotel is also undergoing upgrades as well with the installation of the new a/c system followed by a new and improved entrance and faced on the way. We welcome you back and hope to see you soon.
Many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2008

Just returned from 4 nights at the Sea View in Bal Harbour. It's a wonderful, old school hotel. There are guests who have been coming back there for 50 years, and for good reason. It's a good quality, family type hotel where the staff greets you by name.

Our room was an oceanview with a balcony. The room was large and clean, and the beds were very comfortable. The bathroom, small by today's standards, was also clean and well-fitted. There was a huge walk-in closet that was big enough to use as a dressing room.
There was also a small refrigerator that we used to keep sodas and bottles of water.

Room service was quick and efficient, and without the ridiculous service charges that other hotels impose. There's no $12 piece of toast here.

There's a great snack bar/coffee shop as well as a terrace dining area for lunch. Jose at the snack bar makes the best milkshakes!

We spent most of our time at the beach, which is beautiful. The attendants at the beach were the nicest people on the staff. The pool is huge and well maintained, and kept at a warm 85 degrees.

The location is great - just across from the Shops at Bal Harbour, where there are several good restaurants. It's about 20 minutes from Aventura, which is great for a rainy day. It's about 20 minutes from South Beach, 25 minutes if you're looking for Joe's Stone Crabs (go for the take-out -- no wait and the same great food).

If you're looking for all-out indulgence, the Sea View is not for you. This is a good quality beach hotel - a rare find in the Miami area. It's not flashy. It's a good value for the money, especially in the middle the high season.

  • Liked — location, room size, comfort, beach
  • Disliked — Fitness center was lacking
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank just up and go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea View Hotel o, Manager at Sea View Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Dear just up and go,
We appreciate you staying with us at The Sea View Hotel during your holiday.
We always welcome your feedback and are pleased when we have achieved our goals
of meeting our guest's expectations. We hope to see you again real soon and we know you'll
appreciate the changes that are happening here!
Hope to see you soon-
Anthony Hill,
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2008

we stayed here for three nights, it was a very nice hotel, elegant in the old fashioned way. we booked a bay view on a high floor so that was nice, the staff was friendly, nice size pool, the beach is right there, very nice walkway by the beach!
The location was amazing, upper class, the bal harbour shopping is right across the street, only fancy shops, good for window shopping!
the bedroom was very nice size and nice bathroom, walk in cubboard, very clean!!
All good rounder!!!

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sar4y0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea View Hotel o, Director of Sales at Sea View Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Dear sar4you,
Thank you for the kind feedback. We always appreciate this as it helps us grow and meet our guests expectations.
We're pleased you had a fantastic time while visiting us and hope you return soon.
The door's always open.
All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bal Harbour
0.5 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Beach Surfside
0.2 mi away
The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Bal Harbour, Miami
0.6 mi away
Bal Harbour Quarzo
Bal Harbour Quarzo
#4 of 5 in Bal Harbour
295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sun Harbour Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Hotel

Property: Sea View Hotel
Address: 9909 Collins Ave, Bal Harbour, FL 33154-1808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Bal Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bal Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sea View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea View Hotel is a deluxe European style, full service beachfront Hotel best known for its exceptional personalized service. The Hotel features spacious designers appointed newly renovated Guest rooms with views of the Atlantic Ocean and Biscayne Bay. An intimate private oasis of luxury with an awe inspiring landscape and breathtaking sunrise provides a personalized ambiance to our Guests whether sunning, swimming or jogging down the shoreline or beach jogging path at any time of the day.Located directly across from the World renowned Bal Harbour Shops. Equidistant(18 miles/30 minutes), from the Miami International Airport and the Ft. Lauderdale International Airport. Within walking distance of fine shopping and dining, just minutes from South Beach, Aventura Mall, South Beach, Sunny Isles Beach, Haulover beach and the Art Deco District, Downtown Miami and four superb PGA Championship golf courses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sea View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea View Bal Harbour
Hotel Sea View
Sea View Hotel Bal Harbour, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing