We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need a car!”
Review of Sea View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sea View Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bal Harbour
Bribie Island, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Need a car!”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Hotel was a little tired, however very clean. Large rooms - our family of four was very comfortable with the space! Not a lot to do near the hotel so a car is a must - Parking in an open lot was expensive. We stayed 4 nighs and would have liked more variation at breakfast - maybe waffles or pancakes but being included in the room rate was good! We found the breakfast staff very friendly and helpful. The only issue we had with staff was at check in, the man was extremely arrogant! In summary a little tired, clean, ok breakfast, away from the busy Miami, need your own transport, expensive parking, nice beach location.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea View Hotel o, General Manager at Sea View Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Dear Vanessa M ,
We thank you for choosing The Sea View Hotel for your hotel destination. We always appreciate your comments as well because it helps us with our staff training which we will continue to do to make our hotel the best we can be. The Village of Bal Harbour is in a nice tranquil location situated north of South Beach and Surfside setting it apart. The night life is a cab or bus away at anytime. We hope we met your expectations as a hotel and will see you again real soon.
All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    190
    99
    35
    31
See reviews for
172
150
22
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I wanted to give me feedback about my experience at the Sea view Hotel.
We arrived Thursday June 7th 130PM.
We had a partial view of the ocean from room 107.
My wife and i enjoyed the laid back environment compare to the wild atmosphere of south beach.
The cost of a cabana on the beach was $27 for 3 1/2 hours.
Free wifi in the hotel which can help if your smartphone signal doesnt work
Since there are so many food locations nearby we did not have a need for room service.
Tip; There is a cvs three blocks away from the hotel so you can by water bottles since there is a mini fridge in the room.
Public parking lots are everyone on collins ave thats why i reccomend renting a car to see as much of Miami beach as possible.
I would go back again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peterrod16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea View Hotel o, General Manager at Sea View Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Dear peterrod16,
Thank you for your comments and feedback as it always helps us make a better hotel experience for our guests. We are pleased you had a nice stay with us and look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I visited the Seaview Hotel in late May 2012, apparently this is the "Off season", apart from breakfast (which closes earlier than the times stated in the room brochure), the dining room is closed and meals are served in the bar. Similarly the poolside cafe is closed for the "Off season".

Apart from the Bal Harbour shopping complex (all the displays have no price tags, and if you have to ask you can't afford them) there is hardly anything within walking distance of the hotel.

There is a good bus service ($2) to either downtown or the Aventura Mall, but both are about 20 minutes away.

My advice don't visit the hotel in the "Off Season", although when that is I am not sure.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea View Hotel o, General Manager at Sea View Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Dear George H,
We thank you for visiting us during your holiday. Although a hotel will have an off season, it certainly doesn't mean that we are not in full operation in keeping our guest satisfied. We apologize if we didn't fulfill this expectation and would like to make it up to you upon your return. We always welcome our guest, be it high or low season, and treat all the same. Your patronage is paramount to our business and we take all our guests visit seriously.
The Village of Bal Harbour is quite unique and exclusive for it's beaches and shopping. If you enjoy the night life of South Beach, it's just a hop, skip and jump 20 minutes south.
We are proud that our hotel and village cater to a clientele that enjoys much relaxation and pampering. We hope you decide to visit us again real soon.
Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

The hotel was clean enough but there it ends. The staff in general were sulky and rude (notable exceptions were Lewis around the pool area and Ashley, Ricardo in the bar.

The Gym is archaic and there is a charge which I could not find a reference to on the website, but it is definitely not included in the hotel charge.

Also there is an additional charge for sun beds which I did eventually find on the web site but I find it unbelievable that they could charge $10.7 per day per bed, this added $171 (£117) to an eight day stay.

If you hire a car they also charge you to park it despite there being more than enough parking space within the hotel footprint.

In terms of location the Sea View is North Beach and quite a way from decent restaurants and bars and a Taxi to the South is around $40.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea View Hotel o, General Manager at Sea View Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Dear Graham S,
The Sea View Hotel thanks you for your visit and for your comments as well. Bal Harbour is preferred by the distinguished shopper as they come from around the globe to visit Bal Harbour Shops. Our village is quiet and tranquil, just as our clients enjoy it. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced and will reorient the staff to better serve our guests.
Currently we are reviewing our hotel policies regarding added fees and hope to have this resolved soon in the guests favor. We welcome you back for another visit as the door is always open.
All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bal Harbour hotels

Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I've stayed at the Sea View a good number of times. It's in good location for me on our trips to south Florida. I reviewed it, here, after a recent stay and noted that the hotel is a good one but that the mildew in the bathroom is a real problem and I would have to reconsider ever staying there again. Well, I did go to Florida again earlier this month and because of the hotel's convenience we decided to give it another go, hoping for the best. Well my wife and I were happy to see that the room was clean and fresh and had been renovated since our last stay in November of 2011. The rooms apparently no longer have a "kitchenette" and the space is now more conveniently dedicated to a place for suitcases. The room was really comfortable. The bathroom was also completely redone and now has a spacious stall shower rather than a bathtub....and the tiles are clean and new with no sign of any mildew! Overall, the hotel remains a fine place to stay and I've raised my rating because of the very positive changes that have been made.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Avrumeleh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea View Hotel o, Manager at Sea View Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Dear avrumeleh,
We are pleased that you decided o give us another shot! Thank you for that and for the comments as well. We know how demanding our guests can be and rightfully so. We have renovated the rooms and continue to upgrade the air conditioning system, as we are presently doing. We do have a few more renovation phases before we complete our upgrades and appreciate your visits. We strive to better the hotel, services and welcoming smiles. Your visits are key to our success and we hope to keep you coming back.
Thank you again,
Anthony Hill
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

I like this hotel,for their spacious rooms,with big closets .The staff is always very friendly, Very clean rooms and hotel.With a beautiful lobby which is well preserved.We used the beach facilities every day, the prices are reasonable, but unfortunately there are no beach umbrellas included with the chairs.
Close to south beach or aventura mall.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tcmontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea View Hotel o, Director of Sales at Sea View Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
tcmontreal,
Thank you for your feedback as it always helps us reach higher standards for our guests. We are currently reviewing the hotel policies on added fees and hope to have that completed in the months to come. The hotel is located in a very tranquil spot situated on the best beaches Miami has to offer. We are pleased you enjoyed yourself and hope to have you back as soon as you are ready to travel again.
All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 16, 2012

The room was great, and the host at the little coffee shop was great!!!!! He provided us with excellant service. The pool was great, but since their was not a lot of people in the pool.
The staff watched my kids really closely and it was difficult to enjoy the pool. Otherwise out staff was great.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea View Hotel o, Guest Relations Manager at Sea View Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Dear guest,
We thank you for your patronage and are pleased you enjoyed yourself.
We hope to see you real soon again for a more fun filled vacation.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bal Harbour
0.5 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside
0.2 mi away
The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort
0.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Bal Harbour, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Beach Surfside
5.4 mi away
The Confidante
The Confidante
#34 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,769 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sun Harbour Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Hotel

Property: Sea View Hotel
Address: 9909 Collins Ave, Bal Harbour, FL 33154-1808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Bal Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bal Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sea View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea View Hotel is a deluxe European style, full service beachfront Hotel best known for its exceptional personalized service. The Hotel features spacious designers appointed newly renovated Guest rooms with views of the Atlantic Ocean and Biscayne Bay. An intimate private oasis of luxury with an awe inspiring landscape and breathtaking sunrise provides a personalized ambiance to our Guests whether sunning, swimming or jogging down the shoreline or beach jogging path at any time of the day.Located directly across from the World renowned Bal Harbour Shops. Equidistant(18 miles/30 minutes), from the Miami International Airport and the Ft. Lauderdale International Airport. Within walking distance of fine shopping and dining, just minutes from South Beach, Aventura Mall, South Beach, Sunny Isles Beach, Haulover beach and the Art Deco District, Downtown Miami and four superb PGA Championship golf courses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Sea View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea View Bal Harbour
Hotel Sea View
Sea View Hotel Bal Harbour, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing