We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice, but....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bal Harbour Quarzo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bal Harbour Quarzo
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bal Harbour
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice, but....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The setting--under a road overpass. A bit offputting at first. The exterior almost looked like a low-rent hotel. But inside, it was nice and clean. I arrived earlier than planned, and my room wasn't ready. They upgraded me--nice! I was alone and on a business trip, so the big living room and kitchen were kind of overkill. Still, very nice of them. The hotel is across the road from the beach--also nice! But it appeared the Quarzo had no room service at night (when I needed it), so I went to the big hotel across the street and had a delicious burger.

After I had check out, however, I noticed an additional charge of $13 from them on my credit card bill. I called and asked what it was--they had charged me for a missing glass and a bag of potato chips. It was only around $13 bucks, but still. I didn't steal or break a glass, and I didn't eat any potato chips. (I don't even like potato chips much.) I asked them to remove that charge from my bill. (And again, I was on a business trip, so I could and would have charged that to my company, had I in fact eaten the chips or broken the glass. But I didn't.)

They said they would take care of it. Around a week later, I see a refund of $1 from them on my credit card bill. I called and asked them what was up with that, and could they fix it. I never heard back from them and my credit card was never reimbursed. I would think a good hotel would a) check inventory before the next guest is ushered in, to avoid this awkward situation, and/or b) give a guest who says she didn't eat the potato chips or break (or steal) a glass the benefit of the doubt. I am very surprised that they didn't make this right, as they seemed nice and on top of things otherwise.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fortgreenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    71
    33
    21
    27
See reviews for
110
69
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

This is a great place to stay - and I would have give a "5-star" if it was a away from the brigde.
The room is very sound-isolated - so you will not hear the traffic outside, but the rooms facing eastwards are staring straight into a bridge.
We, a family of 4, had a 120 sqm apartment with 1 bedroom, livingroom+kithen, great bath and balcony - and we loved it.

Location: it is close to the beach (200m) and the hotel have beachservice incl in the room-rate. But as mentioned is is to close to the bridge.

Pro:
- great rooms
- great service
- great utside area, pool, beds ..

Con:
- A/C is noisy, and works well in living-room, but not that effective in bedroom.
- you hear people in the corridor rather easy.

Room Tip: 2nd og 3rd floor is probably better due to noise from the corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Napoleon72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

well i'm from germany, so my english is not so good.
But it's even good enough to see that they tried fo fool us.

i booked 22.03.2014 over spledia a room and there and at the quarzo homepage there was standing that i have to pay 10$ for overnight parking.
After i arrived (02.04.2014) they charged me 15$ per night and they told me, that they raised the charging fee more than 2 months ago to 15$.

how can that be? they fooled us.

but it wasnt the only thing there. We had worms in the room and they cleaned it not away.
after confrontating the service they asked us: why didnt you told me that there are worms?

so - i have to tell them how they should do there job? ^^

however:
good rooms and a nice hotel, but the service is arrogant and bad.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank warsheepx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QUARZO H, Front Office Manager at Bal Harbour Quarzo, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Warsheepx!

Thank you for your feedback!

We are truly apologize for the misunderstanding.

As it is mention on our website and the travel agent that you used,

we do have an additional charge for the resort fee, which is $10 per day,

as well as charge for parking, which is $15.

We always make everything possible to provide the best

service to our guests.

Sometimes there are factors beyond our control but your

experience let us know what we need to improve.

Our team also tries very hard to avoid situations like

this to happen in the future.

Very Best,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

its a good hotel. Not so fantastic like ive seen in the oficial site photos. But its is well sited. The channel in front the hotel is very charming and the beach, beautifu. I recommend it for a weekend.

Room Tip: ask for a room with the channel view, not in the side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vivian a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Our room was really huge, with a complete kitchen, living room, etc, felt like home. Everything new and working perfectly, very clean, helpful staff. Overall an excellent value dor the money, as we booked well in advance with a good rate. The hotel is a little tricky to find for the first time and you need a car to go to most places, but then again you'd probably pay double the price for a worse hotel at South beach.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QUARZO H, Front Office Manager at Bal Harbour Quarzo, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Jonass!

Thank you for leaving a feedback about our beautiful hotel!

We do really appreciate your input and we will be very glad to

see you in the nearest future again!

Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

I was here with my girlfriend about two years ago. We had really nice room with kitchen and the bathroom was so nice. Staff was very helpful and they helped us to order NBA tickets etc. I can highly recommend this hotel to young couples who don't mind parties etc. Garden area was perfect and very beautiful.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HenriParo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QUARZO H, Front Office Manager at Bal Harbour Quarzo, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear HenriParo!

We do really appreciate your time,

that you found for the review. All our team is

absolutely happy that they made your stay

unforgettable.

We hope to see you anytime soon!

Best Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
181 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel mainly because we like Bal Harbour.
Well decorated, comfortable rooms; but the bathroom we had was quite small compared to the size of the room, and the cupboard space a little crammed.
Wi-fi works well, but you have to keep signing in all the time, which is a bother...
Very few TV channels. No Bloomberg (although listed) and no Golf channel.
Air conditioning very noisy and be sure to leave the card on your bed if you want the sheets to be changed during your stay...Friendly service. The Reception team needs to acquire more experience. Parking can be a bit tricky at times because space is limited.
Why do they call the hotel a "Boutique Hotel"?

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neri I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QUARZO H, Front Office Manager at Bal Harbour Quarzo, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Neri:

Thank you for your rating and comments, we do really appreciate your time for leaving your feedback.

We are currently working on upgrading our television and internet systems to provide more channels and faster internet without the log-in log-off problem. As well we are in the process of retraining all of our front desk staff.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bal Harbour
0.6 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bal Harbour
3.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Bal Harbour, Miami
1.0 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort
2.6 mi away
Sole on the Ocean
Sole on the Ocean
#4 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,521 reviews
3.5 mi away
Marenas Beach Resort
Marenas Beach Resort
#2 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bal Harbour Quarzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bal Harbour Quarzo

Property: Bal Harbour Quarzo
Address: 290 Bal Bay Drive, Bal Harbour, FL 33154
Location: United States > Florida > Bal Harbour
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bal Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bal Harbour Quarzo 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique Hotel just steps from the Bal Harbour Beach, offers exquisite and over-sized Suites ranging from Junior Suites to One and Two-Bedroom Suite accommodations. Suites are equipped will full kitchens featuring Kitchen-Aid appliances, living/dining room, walk-in closets and dual private balconies. Bathrooms are tastefully appointed with imported granite countertops and modern glass bowl sinks. High-quality bedding linens. Consistency and excellence in guest services is our main priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Bal Harbour Quarzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bal Harbour Quarzo Hotel Bal Harbour
Bal Harbour Quarzo Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing