We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Hotel, hard to find” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bal Harbour Quarzo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bal Harbour Quarzo
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bal Harbour
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, hard to find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights prior to a cruise. Hard to find and looked a bit naff from outside, but inside is a very nice, clean and friendly hotel. The room was large and well kept. This is a very good place to stay, apart from there is no where to eat. The nearest is the hotel across the road. Very good food but not cheap!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    78
    38
    21
    29
See reviews for
122
72
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Quarzo lacks of a clear identity, after staying with them for 3 nights it is still not entirely clear to me whether it is a vacation rental or an hotel.
It is too expensive for being a vacation rental (about $380 a night), but has not enough services to be considered an hotel.
Besides this, there is a blatant lack of personnel to be considered a luxurious property. Basically any type of manual operation (ie. Housekeeping) may take ages to be completed.

PROS
- Extra big rooms, with a full size kitchen and a living room
- Modern and tasteful décor
- Nice Zen Garden

CONS
- Noisy Air Con (to the point that it is preferred to shut it down and suffer the heat).
- No view from the rooms
- No restaurant or even a place to have breakfast
- Small pool, with no heating and limited sun exposure (freezing)
- Poor TV offer (just 20 channels)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuroAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

All I can say is that I teared up when I first saw the bedroom. The room was so clean that we could eat on the floor if we wanted to. Everything was meticulously organized and beautifully decorated. Wherever you go within the hotel, there is this soft and relaxing music playing and amazing scented candles/mists all around. The beach is just a few steps away and there's all the structure you may need - chairs, towels and even beach toys for the kids. This is by far the best hotel I ever stayed in the Miami area - and I've been to Miami more than 10 times already. The staff was really amazing and pampered us to the highest level. We had our one-year-old with us and there was even a teddy-bear for him when we got in the bedroom. We definitely plan to stay at Quarzo again and - as far as I'm consulted - there won't be any doubt on recommending to all our friends!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rafaela1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

My girlfriend and I visited this hotel for 11 days fromthe netherlands
I have been to other hotels on miami beach but this hotel stands out for its service,cleanliness and wonderful staff.In one word perfect hotel for a wonderful holiday
Everyone is friendly and willing to help.
Also the rooms are beautiful,clean and spacious
There is also a beautiful garden with modern garden seating in one word we would definitely spend our holday there again when returning to miami/ bal harbour.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank l k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

This property is nestled away from SOBE Chaos. Set perfectly next to the beach and water with beach chairs. Staff was amazing, very accommodating. They helped with everything even, checking me out at my requested 1hr time. The hotel smelled amazing, like a golden spa retreat. The room was huge, white, modern! Just the way I like it. The only neg, is room service. DO NOT order the food on the menu. This part of the stay was not their strong point. The staff explained to me that they're in the process of extending the hotel and building a restaurant on site, hence the lack of great food. Other than that you can hop on a shuttle to the Bal Harbor shops to grab a bite to eat. Do not eat at Mr. Collins. The food was not that great. It was mediocre in addition to the staff being very pressuring for you to leave. I will definitely return to this hotel and they have definitely made my stay very very great!

Room Tip: My room 206 was great. Right next to pool. The hotel was not noisy in general. It was very peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SARA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QUARZO H, Manager at Bal Harbour Quarzo, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Hello Sara!

Thank you for all your delightful comments. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and of course would like for you to come see us again.

Find us on Facebook and like our page for updates, discounts, and promotions.

Also, we encourage you to book directly with us for your future stays at quarzomiamihotel.com or call us at 305.222.7922.

Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

This hotel exceeded my expectations on every level. Very friendly and personable staff, beautiful rooms that were much larger and more modernly furnished than I even expected from the pics I had seen online, and incredible housekeeping. This place feels like your own stylish apartment. The kitchen was decked out with every appliance and tool you need to make a gourmet dinner and I could have easily entertained 30 people in the huge living area. The walk in closest was amazing to display all my purchases from Bal Harbour Shops (less than a 10 min walk away!). Kamille Ricketts at the front desk was so gracious and kind to me and made my stay even more memorable. The housekeepers were wonderful - they even washed the dishes I left in the sink (Thanks, Maria Eugenia!) This hotel MADE my trip. I will definitely go back!!!

Room Tip: Get a one bedroom king! Very open layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

What a great hotel, the rooms are luxury apartments, the position and ambiance is like that of a private retreat though its close to so much in Mami. And the staff , well they make it more than a place to stay. Its impeccable, comfortable, and the staff so helpfull and professional, I have stayed in very exclusive (and expensive) hotels on many continents and dined in some of the worlds most renowned restaurants , places that have spent years and years perfecting teams of staff. The staff at Quarzo just seem to be naturals and and I think they have a great future. We had a great stay it was our last few days in the USA this year, it made it a perfect send off. Personal thanks to Joseph and to all the staff, who were always more than willing, more than helpful.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SF60insulation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bal Harbour
0.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Bal Harbour, Miami
0.6 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bal Harbour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Marenas Beach Resort
Marenas Beach Resort
#2 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
0.7 mi away
The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort
0.9 mi away
Sun Harbour Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bal Harbour Quarzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bal Harbour Quarzo

Property: Bal Harbour Quarzo
Address: 290 Bal Bay Dr, Bal Harbour, FL 33154
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Bal Harbour
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bal Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bal Harbour Quarzo 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique Hotel just steps from the Bal Harbour Beach, offers exquisite and over-sized Suites ranging from Junior Suites to One and Two-Bedroom Suite accommodations. Suites are equipped will full kitchens featuring Kitchen-Aid appliances, living/dining room, walk-in closets and dual private balconies. Bathrooms are tastefully appointed with imported granite countertops and modern glass bowl sinks. High-quality bedding linens. Consistency and excellence in guest services is our main priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Bal Harbour Quarzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bal Harbour Quarzo Hotel Bal Harbour
Bal Harbour Quarzo Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing