We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice friendly hotel”
Review of Bal Harbour Quarzo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bal Harbour Quarzo
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bal Harbour
Belfast
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice friendly hotel”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Really nice modern hotel. rooms very spacious Location a little far out. Taxi ride to South beach about 15 or 20 mins or local bus was only $2 each but took a little longer. Bal Harbour is a beautiful area. Very nice shops and restaurants close by. Staff in hotel were very friendly and extremely helpful. The gardens at the hotel were beautiful with plenty of sun loungers and chill out beds

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EithneBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    82
    39
    23
    32
See reviews for
134
75
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

The hotel itself was very nice, and the rooms were also nice and comfortable. The staff was all very accommodating. The pool was extremely small and did not receive any sun until late afternoon so you were in the shade until then. There is a little Zen Garden which faces a canal which was fairly comfortable to hang out on. The beach actually was not too far a walk. It took about 5 minutes to walk over and the hotel has a deal worked out with the One Hotel to use their beach chairs and umbrellas, which worked out well.

The problem with this place is that there are absolutely no amenities. There is not a restaurant or bar onsite. There is not a workout facility on site. The pool is tiny. This would be okay if there were places that are within walking distance. The only place you could walk to is the restaurant in the One Hotel called Mister Collins. So you are stuck taking a cab everywhere.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank I_hate_working
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Overbooking seems to be typical occurrence at this property. Wish I had spent time reading the reviews to realize how often. We booked months in advance and called one week ahead and again the day before and told all was in order. When we arrived we were told they overbooked and some people extended their stay no nothing available in any type of room. They wanted to book us at some property away from beach in lousy area of Miami. No effort to call local properties. We had to do.

Forturnantly, the Sea View Hotel helped us out but it cost more and Quarzo wasn't going to cover the difference. Sea View was nice experience.

Quarzo has good location but poorly run. If your willing to take the risk of showing up to overbooked property give it a try. I think they suck.

Room Tip: Book the Sea View which is down the street. It is professionally run, on the beach and across from B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank tellitstraight0601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QUARZO H, General Manager at Bal Harbour Quarzo, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Quarzo Hotel is in constant high demand, not only because of its quality and size of our Suites, but also for its superb guest services. Unfortunately, as the Hotel industry dictates, there are unforeseen and unavoidable challenges that may arise, especially during fully-committed days, in this specific case we were obligated to accommodate a stay over guestroom extension request which created the overbooking. We compensate accordingly to maintain satisfaction standards and if relocation is required, a comparable Hotel property is secured.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

I booked, paid and had a confirmation for this hotel. They overbooked. We arrived only to be told to return in 3 hours. We returned 3 hours later only to be asked to return 2 hours later. We returned 2 hours later only to find out that the hotel had overbooked and could not give us the suite we had booked. The people who work here kept lying to us, tried to give us the impression that a room may become available. The manager was extremely unprofessional. While attempting to rectify the situation, he offered to help another guest who had stepped in line behind me and tried to bypass solving the overbooking issue at hand. This was extremely rude and unprofessional. The people who run this hotel is extremely unprofessional and have no idea what customer service is! People at this hotel couldn't tell the truth. Plus, while trying to deal with the situation, the manager would speak spanish. I do not speak a speck of spanish. NEVER BOOK THIS HOTEL unless you want to waste your time, money and want to feel scammed.
TIP: DON'T BOTHER BOOKING BECAUSE YOU'LL NEVER SEE YOUR ROOM ANYWAYS!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jacqueline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QUARZO H, General Manager at Bal Harbour Quarzo, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Quarzo Hotel is in constant high demand, not only because of its quality and size of our Suites, but also for its superb guest services. Unfortunately, as the Hotel industry dictates, there are unforeseen and unavoidable challenges that may arise, especially during fully-committed days, these challenges may deem the reserved guestroom unsellable depending on the issue. We sincerely apologize if these isolated incidents cause an inconvenience to the arriving guest. We compensate accordingly to maintain satisfaction standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We found this hotel to be very clean, with spacious, crisply appointed rooms and extremely friendly staff. We stayed in a junior suite, which had a surprisingly large and well-stocked kitchen. It featured a full-sized fridge with freezer, so making breakfast for the kids was a breeze (toaster waffles, yogurt and fruit, which they ate at the bar top with high stools). We loved the comfy lounge chairs in the Zen garden looking onto the Intracoastal bay (we reached that bay by kayak from Oleta State Park one day, and found ourselves surrounded by dolphins). It is a quick walk to a lovely public beach, and the front desk provides beach towels. A car is almost imperative here, as there's not much in easy walking distance. It is a little tricky to find the hotel the first time - make sure to check the directions on the hotel website rather than relying on GPS. We'd stay at the Quarzo again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denamrk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

clean nice property friendly staff
Very nice spacious rooms A perfect placement a bit away from the "hype" down at Miami beach.
Only small thing was a air con that was a bit to loud, otherwise perfect stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Torben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Although pre-agreed at checking, I was overcharged a full night instead of the $ 35 late check out charge. Not only we tried to come to an agreement with the hotel staff but they continuously lied and did not even gave me my invoice (unless I agreed). I was so angry and felt so skamed that I called the local police (yes, i dialed 911 !), so that they could writte a report. The Hotel insisted that they had to charge me such additional night (although such regulation is not on the small letter when you sign at check-in). The police was astonished when they then asked the clerk to give me the key of the room (as they were charging a full night), but the hotel couldn't as they had sold it to some one else! Afortunately, I made charge-back and it was resolved in my favor. The police report really helped, Look out, this hotel is a scam. Stay at the Daddy'o, doesnt have a pool, but the rooms are great, very clean, includes breakfast, it is cheaper and it is very close to the Bal Harbor shops and the beach.

Room Tip: Staff un-profesional, rooms nice but the view has nothing to do with their web.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Rafael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bal Harbour
0.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Bal Harbour, Miami
0.6 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bal Harbour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort
2.6 mi away
Sole on the Ocean
Sole on the Ocean
#4 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,751 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sun Harbour Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bal Harbour Quarzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bal Harbour Quarzo

Property: Bal Harbour Quarzo
Address: 290 Bal Bay Dr, Bal Harbour, FL 33154
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Bal Harbour
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bal Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bal Harbour Quarzo 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique Hotel just steps from the Bal Harbour Beach, offers exquisite and over-sized Suites ranging from Junior Suites to One and Two-Bedroom Suite accommodations. Suites are equipped will full kitchens featuring Kitchen-Aid appliances, living/dining room, walk-in closets and dual private balconies. Bathrooms are tastefully appointed with imported granite countertops and modern glass bowl sinks. High-quality bedding linens. Consistency and excellence in guest services is our main priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Bal Harbour Quarzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bal Harbour Quarzo Hotel Bal Harbour
Bal Harbour Quarzo Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing