We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unbelievable cancellation policy for a 5 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bal Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“unbelievable cancellation policy for a 5 star hotel”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

we just cancelled a 15 night stay there as they sent an updated version of our reservation only after i called to check a few things with a 2 week cancellation policy otherwise we would have to pay all 15 nights. i told them i was not happy. a manager just called me and said the policy was 1 week. i told every 5 star chain i know like four seasons and mandarin oriental have a max cancellation time of 24 hours. he would not budge whatsoever. i cancelled and will never stay again. i dont mind paying top dollar but i want total flexibility to cancel whenever i want.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalHarbourManager, Manager at The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear londonbanker67,

Thank your for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community.

We appreciate your feedback on our cancellation policy and hope to have a chance to welcome you in the future.

Sincerely,
Dant Hirsch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,099
    176
    66
    41
    25
See reviews for
440
565
30
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

We were in Miami for one night with our boys and the concierge--Giselle --acted as if we were there for a week. She spent at least 25minutes with us personally tailoring activities to suit our needs. The room was view was wonderful and it had all expected amenities.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stacy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalHarbourManager, Manager at The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Stacy B,

Thank you for the kind review of your recent stay, and for the exceptional service Giselle provided. We are happy to hear she made your stay memorable, and I'll be sure to share this comment with her. We look forward to your next visit to Bal Harbour.

Sincerely,

Dant Hirsch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, PA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the St. Regis Bal Harbour for four nights in a small suite. The welcome was very gracious. The view from the room was beautiful. However, the house keeping was not up to par. The daily cleaning was slip shod; failure to replace bath products and other consumables, failure to clean tile floors, etc. when letting hotel know of the issues, the response was an irritated ho-hum.

The facility is beautiful, but based on our experience, way over priced. It is back to the Four Seasons, Ritz or Manderin Oriental.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank durhamjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalHarbourManager, Manager at The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Durhamjw,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community. We are sorry that our Housekeeping service did not take the appropriate steps in servicing your room, and I will address this concern with the team. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.

Sincerely,

Dant Hirsch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

As a frequent traveler, I have become accustomed to beautiful hotels. The factor that distinguishes The St. Regis Bal Harbour from other beautiful hotels is the outstanding level of personalized service the majority of staff demonstrate from the doormen, valet attendants, butlers, servers, restaurant management and pool and beach attendants.

As a frequent guest at the hotel, my two sons, wife and I absolutely adore the relationships we have established with Elaine, Jamie, Anthony, Charlene, Demetrius, Laura, Henry and the rest of the wonderful restaurant staff at the morning breakfast buffet.

Additionally, Chef Tom and Chef Senol have been wonderful accommodating my youngest sons Egg, Dairy and Peanut allergies.

Chef Parlo and Chef Senol's attention to his allergies and preparing foods that are safe for him to eat provide a level of relief difficult to find when on vacation.

The pool staff is equally wonderful as lead by Rodrigo, Rosanna and Julio. Marie is a fantastic server and Kurt is a fantastic pool attendant who could not be more concerned with our satisfaction and meeting our needs. The other pool, beach and servers are equally attentive and friendly.

Today, my youngest son fell on the pool deck and gashed his forehead.

Rodrigo, Rosanna and Jose immediately sprung into action and immediately provided assistance while waiting for first aid from a security officer. We rushed him to the hospital for additional care and Rodrigo and Rosanna immediately offered to watch after our oldest son so he did not have to visit the hospital. Our oldest son had a wonderful time under Rodrigo's and Rosanna's care. Rodrigo frequently sent me text updates with pictures showing what a great time he was having. It provided us with a great sense of relief as we were in the emergency room.

The management should know they have several wonderful employees who are great ambassadors for the hotel and have taken the time to establish relationships with frequently visiting guests.

It means a lot to my family that the above employees take the time to recognize us for our repeat visits and make us feel valued as frequent guests.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ira L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalHarbourManager, Manager at The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Ira,

Thank you for the very kind review of your recent stay with us. We are so happy to hear that our staff make you feel at home here at our resort. Their dedication is evident by the kind words such as yours, and I'll be sure to personally share this with each of them mentioned. I hope all has healed well with your youngest son, and he's bounced back quickly. We look forward to you and your family's next visit with us, here at your home away from home. Until then...

Sincerely,

Dant Hirsch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
69 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Don't get me wrong, the St. Regis Bal Harbour is a 5* hotel. Rooms are great, higher floors offer fantastic ocean view. The beach is beautiful and the Florida sun is hot. BUT... for that price (starting at about $900 per room/night) I would expect an appropriate service and that's what we didn't get. It starts with inattentive beverage service at the beach (you order Samuel Adams and get Amstel without any excuse). At the bar in the evening: same inattentive service... Ordered Martinez cocktail, waitress even did not try to ask the bartender if he could mix it. After long wait we've got something completely different, again, no excuse.
We've stayed 3 nights at St Regis and there were many such small but typical episodes of poor service, that you wouldn't expect at such a pricey resort.
Next time we will definitely go for another hotel in Miami Beach.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucentis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalHarbourManager, Manager at The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Lucentis,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience. I am deeply sorry to hear that our service did not exceed your expectations, and our requests were not executed to your desires by our staff. We take all feedback seriously, and I will address these matters with the teams. We appreciate our feedback, and hope to have another chance to exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,

Dant Hirsch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We arrived at the hotel on March 22 for a family wedding at the hotel. It was around 1 pm and we were told check in was guaranteed at 4 pm but they would call me on my cell if room was ready earllier. At 4pm there were numerous people waiting and we were all told the rooms were not ready. i insisted on seeing a manager and he found me a room that was ready.On monday after a large family wedding and monday brunch at 11 am at the hotel i was refused 1 extra hour to check out. I went to the manager and was finally given an extra half hour till 1230.every person who stayed at this hotel was given the same disgusting treatment! This is run as a 1 star hotel!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vestadrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalHarbourManager, Manager at The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Vestadrive,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience here on TripAdvisor. I am deeply sorry that your room was not ready at the posted check-in time of 4pm. We do our best to accommodate requests for late check-outs, but sometimes it is simply not possible based on the business demands and number of new guests arriving. We are very sorry that this experience was aggravating, as we do understand that is not the desired start to a relaxing vacation. Again, thank you for sharing your feedback.

Sincerely,

Dant Hirsch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We just had a wonderful five-day stay with our family at the St. Regis. The rooms are gorgeous. The grounds are beautiful. The food is delicious. Jose Sanchez at the front door is beyond helpful--including at 7 a.m. when you are strolling the lobby with your baby.

It is a big hotel, as well a luxurious one, so there are a lot of guests with a lot of requests. My only complaint is that some of the prices for food and beverage are over the top, such as $6 for a small cup of milk or $7 for a small lemonade. I think for a family-friendly resort, they should consider an all-inclusive food plan for children, like the one Westin offers. I know Westin is a lower-end Starwood property, but it would go along way to please parents who are already paying upwards of $1,000 or 30,000 points/night for a room and $15 for a glass of wine.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalHarbourManager, Manager at The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Lisa R,

Thank you for sharing your family's recent experience here with the TripAdvisor community. We are happy to hear you had a wonderful stay and you enjoyed the hotel and amenities. Unfortunately we not able to offer an all-inclusive meal plan at this time, but appreciate the feedback. We hope to welcome you and your family back again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dant Hirsch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bal Harbour
The Setai
#6 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,054 reviews
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#8 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faena Hotel Miami Beach
#7 of 208 in Miami Beach
629 reviews
The Miami Beach EDITION
#14 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,342 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#10 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort

Property: The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort
Address: 9703 Collins Ave, Bal Harbour, FL 33154-2243
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Bal Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bal Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience an exclusive enclave in Bal Harbour with luxury oceanfront accommodations, quiet unwavering taste, anticipatory service and seductive amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Travelocity, Prestigia, Priceline, Vacatia, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Bal Harbour Hotel Bal Harbour
The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing