We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE American & European Decorative Arts Museum & Garden”

Winterthur Museum, Garden & Library
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Once a Du Pont family country retreat, this estate's spectacular gardens surround a 175-room mansion housing the world's finest collection of American decorative arts from 1640-1860.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

A must see for anyone interested in historical decorative arts of any kind! Great tours (general to custom / private) given by amazingly informed docents - one of the great collections in the US - surrounded by one of the most spectacular great estates landscape gardens.

1  Thank architect1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Marketing Department at Winterthur Museum, Garden & Library, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at Winterthur. We appreciate all feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (822)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

438 - 442 of 822 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2014

A wonderful attraction just a few miles from downtown Wilmington. One could easily spend the day visiting the House, gardens and all of the shops. A Downton Abbey Exhibit was on display while we visited. Very popular. Winterthur visits are made easier by shuttle and tram services between the visitor center, gardens, and galleries.

Thank jrjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Marketing Department at Winterthur Museum, Garden & Library, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

We appreciate you providing information about your visit to Winterthur and are so glad you enjoyed yourself while you were here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

I was very excited to go see the Downton Abbey exhibit (which was wonderful). We have 3 young children who my husband planned to let play in the gardens while my oldest daughter and I viewed the exhibit. We were very surprised by the amount of kid friendly areas and activities they offer. We ended up purchasing a family membership (which was only $25 more). They offer Kid Tuesdays with free tours and hands on activities for children plus many other events. We received two free guest passes with our membership plus two passes for some of the tours that would cost extra. The gardens are beautiful and my kids really enjoyed exploring. They also allow picnic lunches which is a big plus for those interested in going regularly with a season pass.

Thank MJWnJRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Marketing Department at Winterthur Museum, Garden & Library, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Thank you for providing your feedback on your visit to Winterthur. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope you get great use out of your membership. There are so many family programs at Winterthur throughout the year. Please check our family programs page for more information so you can take advantage of them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

This is a very interesting place, but mainly for adults. Children will likely be restless since the mansion is devoted solely to furniture from the time of the beginning of our country. Interesting because DuPont, the owner, was more interested in the woodwork from colonial times and the furniture and other artifacts came along simply to complement the woodwork he had stripped from houses that were being torn down. Very impressive collection of furniture with perhaps the best colonial and pre-colonial US made furniture around. The Chippendale pieces are marvelous. DuPont's collection is all hand made. He did not want to collect furniture once machines were used to create it. Extremely interesting. The grounds are nice, but it is the collection of furniture and rooms (he custom built rooms in his mansion to exactly fit the dimensions of the woodwork he collected from houses being torn down. Just goes to show what you can do when you have more money than you know what to do with.

Thank barbara r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Marketing Department at Winterthur Museum, Garden & Library, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Thank you for providing feedback on your visit to Winterthur. We are delighted you enjoyed the furniture in the house. The collection has something for everyone!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at noon and the only available house tour was at 4:00pm.
So we toured the galleries and saw the Downton Abbey exhibit, walked the grounds and STILL had too much time to kill before the tour.
There just wasn't enough there to keep us busy in the interim so we left without touring the house.
There seemed to be a lot of construction going on in and around to house. It made me wonder if the tour would've been abbreviated.
The grounds were beautiful.

Thank TeamCooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Marketing Department at Winterthur Museum, Garden & Library, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at Winterthur. We appreciate the feedback. As you can imagine the Costumes of Downton Abbey exhibition has been very popular, so we certainly advise to call ahead for reservations and/or to get to Winterthur early to ensure you have time to see everything. Our general admission tickets are good for two consecutive days as well, in case you don't get to see everything you want to the first day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winterthur Museum, Garden & Library also viewed

 

Been to Winterthur Museum, Garden & Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing