We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not to be missed experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Winterthur Museum, Garden & Library

Winterthur Museum, Garden & Library
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Once a Du Pont family country retreat, this estate's spectacular gardens surround a 175-room mansion housing the world's finest collection of American decorative arts from 1640-1860.
Wilmington NC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not to be missed experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

This estate is home to lush natural gardens and a museum which started out as a family home. H.F. DuPont was to bring it to its glory as a museum in 1951. He rescued in interior architecture of american homes. He installed these rooms and decorated them with items which might have been found in homes of that period. Fascinating!
Until January 2014 a separate exhibition is available which showcases costumes of Downton Abbey. See the maroon dress which Lady Mary wore when she was proposed to among other items.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank judy0741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Marketing Department at Winterthur Museum, Garden & Library, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed the exhibition and the grounds. Please come back and visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    543
    147
    45
    15
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Went to see Downton Abbey exhibit, and discovered a wonderful destination.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

We went to Winterthur to see the Downton Abbey exhibit, which was fabulous, and we discovered that Winterthur is a wonderful destination by itself. The grounds were beautiful and peaceful, and the staff were all extremely helpful and friendly. We enjoyed seeing the soup toureen collection, taking the 25-minute guided garden tram tour, and walking through the gardens. A day was not enough to take in all that Winterthur has to offer. We were surprised to learn that the Dupont mansion was not opulent (like the mansions in Newport, RI), but it houses some really interesting collections of period furniture and other pieces (such as a china set owned by George Washington). Time slowed down as we walked through the gardens to see the koi ponds amidst small waterfalls and beautiful foliage. This was a very enjoyable destination! We will definitely return soon.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DrSteve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Marketing Department at Winterthur Museum, Garden & Library, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed the exhibition and the grounds. Please come back and visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Downton Abbey comes to Winterthur”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

Winterthur Museum and Garden is great at any time of the year, an institution preserving and sharing American treasures of architecture, furniture, and decorative arts. May is spectacular out in the garden with azaleas abloom. Add the special Costumes of Downton Abbey exhibit open til 1/4/2015 and you have a must-see attraction. I took an hour to hear a presentation by the curators of the exhibit speak on the challenges of literally mounting the exhibit--the making of the forms to fit each individual piece--so informative. Then I moved on, camera clicking to capture the wonders on display. Unfortunately my photos don't do either the costumes of the garden true justice--go and see these wonders in person!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Potso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Marketing Department at Winterthur Museum, Garden & Library, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed the exhibition and tour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
197 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great exhibit and gardens but house (eh!)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

We went to Winterthur Museum, located near Wilmington, DE to tour the Downton Abbey exhibit that is there for several months through 2014. The costume exhibit was wonderful. It was informative and the displays were spectacular. After the exhibition tour, we went through the museum gardens which are really quite nice. Since it was late spring, there were a lot of flowers still out, and the colors were wonderful. Our admission ticket included a tour of the DuPont mansion. We wanted to tour at a particular time (they only admit so many folks at different times), so we went off to tour the gardens and came back to find out that the desired hour was full. The staff member had neglected to tell us to sign up in advance. We then had to sign up for a tour several hours later, which we did. We got back and waited in a long line only to see a tour bus group ushered in ahead of us. Oh well, I guess they had paid more. Anyway, we were ushered into a waiting room where we sat for about another half hour while groups of 10 or so were herded into the part of the mansion to be viewed. The house tour is short and confined to only about 10 or 15 rooms of the 175 room mansion. And during the entire tour, we kept being cattle-prodded to stay in a group and not to dawdle. If you lingered for a second to view a room or an object of interest off to the side, you were chided and told to keep up with the group. All in all, it was a pleasant experience, but the house tour was definitely a downer.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Marketing Department at Winterthur Museum, Garden & Library, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your experience was. We are sorry to hear the house tour was not as satisfactory as you had hoped. We will share this feedback with the appropriate parties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Winterthur - Dupont and Downton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

Visited Winterthur on Friday, May 16. Bought a combined ticket for the basic house tour and Downton Abbey exhibit. The house tour was very good. The collections in the house are interesting and extensive. The tour groups are small and well organized. You can take the house tour whenever one is available. Go to the counter in the foyer and the staff will advise of what times are available. The Downton Abbey exhibit is very well done. Of interest to fans of the show or those with interest in textiles and costumes. The tickets for the Downton exhibit are purchased for a specified time slot (two hours). The times on the ticket indicate only when you can enter the exhibit. You can stay in the exhibit as long as you wish (beyond the time on your ticket). Unfortunately, I can't comment on Mr. Dupont's beloved gardens as we experienced non-stop rain on the day of our visit. The garden tram was not available as a result and it was too miserable to do much walking. We hope to return and visit the gardens. If you are interested in decorative arts, you should also visit the adjacent museum which is also included in the price of your ticket. Extensive collections include furniture, textiles, porcelain etc. Had a good lunch in the café at the Visitor Center. There was a good variety of food available.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank happywanderer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Marketing Department at Winterthur Museum, Garden & Library, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
We appreciate your feedback on your visit! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the exhibition and the house. We hope you can make it back for another visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winterthur Museum, Garden & Library also viewed

 

Been to Winterthur Museum, Garden & Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing