We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Absolute Delight!”

Winterthur Museum, Garden & Library
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Once a Du Pont family country retreat, this estate's spectacular gardens surround a 175-room mansion housing the world's finest collection of American decorative arts from 1640-1860.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“An Absolute Delight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

We had a wonderful 2 day experience exploring Winterthur Gardens and Museum. Our tram tour guide was delightful, well informed and very educational. The house tour was also excellent and this being our first visit, we were quite surprised at how amusing and enjoyable we found our visit to the Campbell Collection of Soup Tureens.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank PhillyNee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    547
    148
    45
    15
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“The peonies are glorious at Winterthur Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

I have always come too early or too late to see the peonies at Winterthur Museum and Gardens, but this year I hit the jackpot and got to see the peonies in their new location. I had wondered where they went, but they are all concentrated in a walled garden now on the walk between the visitor center and the museum--and is it gorgeous!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DelawareToni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallkill
Level Contributor
144 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent museum and gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

Too much to see in one day Could spent several days in the house if you could book the various tours. Unbelievable gardens, one could go twice a week at this time of year and see new things each time. Would suggest the open tram to get a feel for where you want to walk. Wear your hiking footwear, lots of walking

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank harold66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The Garden tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

The Azaleas were unbelievably beautiful. Walking through the gardens was awsome too.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank weigandygoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Grove, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

No place can compare to this. Great place to visit and tour. You will see a type of lifestyle from an era that does not exist any longer. I recommend the membership so you can visit more then once. And be sure that you come during Christmas to see the Yuletide decorations.

Helpful?
1 Thank Beth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winterthur Museum, Garden & Library also viewed

 

Been to Winterthur Museum, Garden & Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing