We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced Not a Great Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Overpriced Not a Great Choice”
Reviewed July 7, 2009

We were very disappointed with this hotel. We picked it because of the ratings at this site, but our experience was not as good as others. The staff could be nice, but somewhat young and clueless. We are HH Diamond and none of our perks were given or offered, not major, but it's suppose to be done. This hotel was priced about $ 70 more than the others in the area and it was just not worth it.

One major complaint was the breakfast. It was one of the worst hotel breakfasts we have had in a while. It consisted of what was suppose to be make your own eggs benedict yuck - it was really bad, one waffle maker for entire crowd (could not get near it), three generic cold cereals, unidentified fruit, yogurt, and terrible store bought bagels and bread slices. We left hungry.

The room was nice and the furnishings were nice. Two entire walls one in bedroom and one in living room had the wallpaper all buckled up. The bath was done cheaply with plastic shower insert and wallpaper coming loose. The kitchen looked good, but we were not there long enough to use it.

The pool is outdoors and we arrived on a really cool night - were not able to use it.

Overall, may be good for a family staying for a while or a business traveler whose company pays the check, but overall not up to quality of other Homewoods.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank joan3boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    129
    20
    8
    6
See reviews for
206
141
22
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2009

I always try to stay here whenever I am in town. Provides good breakfast and manager evening meals (good enough for dinner). It's on 202 .. walking distance to several restaurants - Olive Garden, Red Lobster, Lone Star .... and opposite the Concord Mall.

Internet access in the hotel is wireless but seems to slow down considerably in the evenings. (I assume this is because more people come back to the hotel in the evening and are on it)

I won't say the service is that great .. can get better service in other hotels.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ultraelite_archer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mechanicsville,va.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2009

Stayed May 20. One-bedroom suite cose $200(tax incl.) Suite has serviceable kitchen(tiny), sitting area (with a sleeper couch that was like sitting on a park bench) and bedroom. The sinks are outside the bathroom. Basically generic. A good breakfast is provided. And, suprisingly, M-TH an adequate dinner is also provided. Perhaps that accounts for the high rates. Four restaurants (Olive Garden, Red Lobster, Famous Dave's, and TGIF ) are within walking distance. Front desk staff not very professional. Considering plusses and minuses, I can't really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnnybeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2009

I'm now approaching 100 stays at Homewood Suites properties in North America. This hotel is lucky I didn't judge the entire group based on my impressions here -- my first encounter with the brand. The weekend front desk staff was breathtakingly stupid. Seriously, dumb as a box of rocks.

It took about twenty minutes to get checked in. Memorable quote: "You know, you shouldn't book through the website - it doesn't work sometimes." Lie - I am a Hilton HHonors member and know that while the Hilton website can sometimes be really buggy, it does not lose reservations.

Turned out, he couldn't spell my last name, which I had given up trying to spell for him after about six tries before handing him my driver's license, which didn't fix the problem.

I now believe that the gentleman was functionally illiterate. That, or high as a kite: My last name is extraordinarily simple, as is the name of my town, not to mention the street I live on. All three were horribly misspelled when he printed out the form for me to sign.

Attempts to get someone else to help me turned out to be a bad idea - his colleague was worse, thanks to her very limited grasp of the English language. I find it appalling that the owners of this hotel would put such a pair at the front of the house. Do they not know that there is nothing more frustrating after a long journey than watching the blind leading the blind behind a front desk, staring at a computer screen as if clarity will suddenly come by staring just a little harder or punching a few more random keys?

Anyway...thank goodness I didn't let this turn me off, because this property turned out great. It really is my favorite place to stay in the Wilmington area; ask for a room facing the horse farm out back.

The road leading out the back of the hotel takes you straight into the countryside, while if you need shopping and restaurants, they're right out the front door. It's one of the more pleasant extended stay / boring suburban chain hotel locations I've ever seen. You can take the back roads up to Hank's in Chadds Ford, PA for breakfast and be there in about 15 minutes (Just Google map it so you don't get lost.) That's where the Wyeths still eat breakfast many mornings. It's a wonderful place. Also close by is the crazy Booths Corners farmers market - 10 mins drive or so, also in PA. I love going there to people watch - not to mention eat dinner. Definitely look this place up.

Bottom line: This hotel is highly recommended for visits to the Brandywine, no matter what side of the state line you intend to spend time on, just make sure you stick to back roads, so you don't spend your entire weekend in traffic on the Concord Pike. Get a map - navigating this beautiful region can be surprisingly simple, no reason to be on the main roads at all.

Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank heycollegeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2008

The hotel is really good, with very spacious suite. You can get anything you need in the kitchef, from plates to glasses, knifes, forks, etc. Besides, the location is perfect, close to several restaurants, shopping mall and city attractions. Excellent choice in Wilmington!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mendesas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2008

My wife and I stayed here from Fri 8/15 to Sun 8/17. We got a AAA rate of $119/night through the hotel's website. Weekdays are significantly more.

The hotel is set back from the road quite a bit (see Google Maps satellite view - it is the hotel furthest from the main road) and has a pasture/horse farm direcly behind it. The road it is on is directly accross from some college's satellite location.

The hotel appears to be brand new - everything was in excellent condition. There was a nice sized workout room, a computer center, and a "store" with plenty in it (frozen meals, neckties, toiletries, etc.). The pool is beautiful and a good size.

The rooms are all suites. We stayed in Room 414 and had a good view of the field. The kitchen has a full-sized refrigerator/freezer, dishwasher, stovetop, sink, dishes, silverware, pans, cups, etc. The living area had a tv, chair, sofa-bed, coffee table and desk. The bathroom was standard. The bedroom had a large closet, dresser, tv, and bed. No chair or desk in the bedroom.

The breakfast was very good, but not the best ever. I'd give it a 9/10. It is served in a corner, so traffic flow can be a bit awkward. Also, trays for plates are in high demand - never seemed to be enough to go around. They had scrambled eggs, doughnuts, bacon, Eggo-type waffles, pancakes, french toast, yogurt, several cereals, fruit (not fresh), bagels topped with cheese and sausage, homefries, etc.

We chose to eat by the pool Saturday and it was very pleasant. Tables and chairs are well-placed to watch the pasture and pool. You can also eat inside in a very-well appointed sitting area with two large TV's.

The evening desk shift seemed to be more friendly and helpful than the dayshift, but really nothing to complain about.

A mall is 1-2 miles away and there are plenty of chain restaurants nearby as well. The hotel is also pretty close (10-15 minutes) to Longwood Gardens (the point of our visit).

I've also submitted several pictures of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jmsbmck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2008

I regularly stay in this hotel during summer. The hotel is located in a strip mall, with several chain restaurants within walkable distance. The hotel backs onto a nature reserve, with horses, and hiking trail. The outdoor pool and patio are fantastic. The exercise room is adequate – several cardio machines and some free weight. The breakfast buffet is always excellent; much better than other hotels in the same chain. The hotel is just short drive away from Longwood gardens, and other Brandywine Valley attractions. They have discounted weekend rates. The hotel is always clean, and the staff is always courteous and helpful. I’ve never had any problems here, and highly recommend this hotel for a summer weekend break.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NJtravel099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington
0.1 mi away
Inn at Wilmington
Inn at Wilmington
#7 of 13 in Wilmington
375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Brandywine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District
5.0 mi away
Hotel du Pont
Hotel du Pont
#3 of 13 in Wilmington
62 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Westin Wilmington
The Westin Wilmington
#6 of 13 in Wilmington
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
Address: 350 Rocky Run Pkwy, Wilmington, DE 19803-1515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#1 Family Hotel in Wilmington
#1 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley Hotel Wilmington
Hilton Wilmington
Homewood Suites Wilmington
Homewood Wilmington
Homewood Suites Brandywine Valley
Wilmington Hilton
Wilmington Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing