We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing - try somewhere else.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Wilmington/newark
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Wilmington
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I stayed at the Days Inn in Wilmington while I attended a conference nearby. With all the options locally and for what I paid, I would have expected better. The room smelled like a menagerie. The shower turn on knob was broken and the hot water was accessible only sometimes. The front desk was helpful when I left a piece of jewelry there after check out, going to my room to rescue it for me to pick up later. But that was really the only redeeming feature. The outer walkways and stairways were disgustingly soiled as were the runner outside the rooms. For $90 a night, I will stay elsewhere next time I am in town.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chryscenthia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinnwilm, General Manager at Days Inn Wilmington/newark, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Dear Diane,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your review. I apologize you stay with us was less than satisfactory. I have definitely looked into the issues mentioned in your review to make sure that none of our other guest have to go through the same thing. I know you have decided to stay somewhere else the next time you are in the area, but It is my hope that you would contact us directly at the hotel instead of using a third party channel next time and give us the opportunity to improve the quality of your stay with us. We appreciate your choice to stay with us in the past and hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (571)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

387 - 393 of 571 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2014

This is a great well maintained hotel especially for the reasonable price. I give most of the credit to the wonderful breakfast gal named Sonal - she's very pleasant and makes sure the food area is clean and food is appetizing. I've been lodging at this hotel for many years when I'm in Wilmington and she is always there in the morning with such a pleasant welcoming attitude. The only reason I did not give 5 stars is bc although the rooms are nice, housekeeping needs to pay more attention to the details of cleaning. Prior to checking out, as I was giving the room a double look over to be sure I don't forget anything - I looked under the bed and OMG...I'm sure no one had vacuum under the bed in months...it was sooo filthy. Most of the stars go to Sonal, the wonderful breakfast girl.

Room Tip: great breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dahlicia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinnwilm, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Wilmington/newark, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Hello Ms. Dahlicia,

I want to take the time to thank you for your review of the hotel. The breakfast lady, Sonal, is an absolute gem to the company. We are truly grateful to have her here, and it makes me more than happy to hear that she was able to make your trip more enjoyable each visit. As far as the housekeeping staff, I addressed them promptly about this issue, and it has and will be corrected in the future. I apologized that you had to see that. I do thank you again for your review and we look forward to accommodating your future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Donald J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
daysinnwilm, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Wilmington/newark, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Luis C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
daysinnwilm, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Wilmington/newark, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
daysinnwilm, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Wilmington/newark, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Shari H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
daysinnwilm, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Wilmington/newark, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Brandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
daysinnwilm, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Wilmington/newark, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.8 mi away
Inn at Wilmington
Inn at Wilmington
#8 of 13 in Wilmington
401 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington
2.9 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Brandywine Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
5.6 mi away
Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel
5.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Wilmington/newark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Wilmington/newark

Address: 5209 Concord Pike, Wilmington, DE 19803-1416
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range: $70 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Wilmington/newark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Days Inn Wilmington/newark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Wilmington Hotel Wilmington
Wilmington Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing