We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“I don't think so” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Wilmington/newark

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Days Inn Wilmington/newark
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Wilmington
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I don't think so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Days Inn in Wilmington, DE is probably not the best place to stay if you have kids. This past Saturday night, there were four State Troopers at the motel for noise complaints. On the first floor there was a room full of black teenagers partying very loudly. This was two o'clock in the morning. They were drinking and cursing outside their room and playing their stereos as loud as it would go. The Troopers shut them down but it started again on Sunday night. Several of them came to the second floor and started talking loudly outside my room. I was afraid to go out and ask them to tone it down. The room was $90 for a room that should have been $39.99. One one good note, Chris, the young man at the front desk was VERY friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was not to bad. I probably won't stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GiuseppeGuarneri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinnwilm, General Manager at Days Inn Wilmington/newark, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
I apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay with us. That incident is in no way indicative of a typical night at our property. When the clerk became aware of the situation he did the most reasonable thing to protect all of our guest, himself and the property by alerting the authorities as soon as possible. We try to monitor our property to make sure the careless behavior and actions of others do not invade the pleasurable experience others are trying to enjoy at our property, I am sorry that was not the case on your stay with us. Again my deepest apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    126
    122
    54
    68
See reviews for
145
92
61
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Shower knob comes off can't take a shower, asked the desk to fix it by the time I get back from a days work, NOT DONE. The key was disabled so i had to go down and get a new key. Since the shower knob was not repaired I had to change out the room at 11:30 pm. Did anyone assist me on the move NO!
Went for breakfast that morning, juice machine out of order place is a mess and eggs that I would not feed to my dog.
It gets better, at check out they charge me a $1.50 per day safe fee, a safe that I did not use. You people need to clean house marketing and operations

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinnwilm, General Manager at Days Inn Wilmington/newark, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
I apologize for the maintenance issues you had on your stay with us. I will address your concerns with our maintenance department. I also apologize for the issue you had with breakfast as we normally get good reviews on our breakfast I will look into what was the issue in your case. The $1.50 safe fee is not mandatory and can be removed if the guest does not use the safe.As I do not have your full name if you contact the hotel I can remove this charge for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wilmington hotels

New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My main concern was extra charges. When I checked in I was asked to initial a charge for TV movies. When I told them that I did not want this the desk clerk said he would not charge me for this. However, on check out I was charged $1.00 for this. The desk clerk on duty insisted that the manager required everyone to pay. I also noticed a safe charge of $1.50. When I pointed out I did not use the safe they removed this charge.
While, the charges were smal feel that the room rate should have covered them.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Lewis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinnwilm, General Manager at Days Inn Wilmington/newark, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
I apologize for the confusion with the additional charges, My staff are trained to explain them at check in to avoid any issues at check out. The $1.00 charge is for access to our television system in which you can watch up to 50 free movies, pay per view television, and regular television including HBO. As you can see we offer a lot for the fee and it is mandatory for all guest, I am sorry it was not explained properly and I will address it with my staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

.This hotel is absolutly not confortable, bed is bad and little.
Noise al the night.
The bedroom smelt.
The hotel is expensive for the quality.
Don't go here.
Noise al the night.
The bedroom smelt.
The hotel is expensive for the quality.
Don't go here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank extraor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinnwilm, General Manager at Days Inn Wilmington/newark, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
I apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We strive to make sure every guest has a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us and I am sorry this was not the case in your situation. I am at a lost to know what happened in your case. Please if you can contact me directly at the hotel I will give this situation my absolute focus to rectify this situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
0.8 mi away
Inn at Wilmington
Inn at Wilmington
#5 of 12 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 stars 333 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Brandywine Valley Inn
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Brandywine
5.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Wilmington/newark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Wilmington/newark

Property: Days Inn Wilmington/newark
Address: 5209 Concord Pike, Wilmington, DE 19803-1416
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Wilmington/newark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Days Inn Wilmington/newark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Wilmington Hotel Wilmington
Wilmington Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing