We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would do it again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Wilmington/newark
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Wilmington
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
660 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
“Would do it again!”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

At first I was annoyed that all the pet designated rooms on the ground floor were under renovation. I was therefore forced to take a room on the 2nd floor, lugging my stuff and the Cats' stuff. It proved to be minor and the brand new carpet made it worth while. I was not afraid to walk on it. The bathromm was clean but old.The breakfast was impressive and diverse. The loction was fine, close to food and shopping, but a bit off I 95, It worked for the purpose of visiting my elderly aunt and uncle.
Problem with WIFI so just used the smart phone.
The staff was more the friendly.Slept well! I'd go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CATTSAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinnwilm, General Manager at Days Inn Wilmington/newark, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for your comments. You will be happy to know that we will be upgrading the bathrooms also in the near future, we just had a problem with the granite delivery. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, please keep us in mind for your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    147
    142
    59
    77
See reviews for
176
100
66
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
COLLINGDALE
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This was supposed to be a comp stay. When I checked out I was charged $1.00 for a "movie beam"...I have never heard of such a thing, and is ridiculous. I watched no movies and resented paying the $1.00 charge. I believe guests are being ripped off. While it is not the amount, it is the point.

Continental breakfast was awful!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank MICHELE K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinnwilm, General Manager at Days Inn Wilmington/newark, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
I apologize for the confusion, there is a mandatory acces charge to our movibeam system of $1.00 but since your stay was a complimentary stay you should not have been charge. That was not properly communicated to the front desk and for that I apologize. I will rectify the situation as soon as possible.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAMPTON
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The breakfast was outstanding and the room were extremely clean but there was a slight odor in room. Internet kept downing and speed was slow. Recommend upgrading to a better Internet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank KENDALL F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinnwilm, General Manager at Days Inn Wilmington/newark, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your response, the management and staff appreciate you taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

...a chain hotel has to meet at least some minimum standards. My room smelled heavily of "air freshener" (it permeated my clothes so much I could still smell it when I got back home), the bathroom tub/shower had mildew stained caulking (see photo), the water pressure was low, the footfalls from upstairs were very noticeable, the “neighbors” (non-local construction workers who were obviously there for an extended stay - there were pick-up trucks loaded with construction equipment all thoughout the parking lot) were noisy and were cooking outside with hot pots and electric burners… Frankly (and no disrespect intended), it felt like a migrant workers camp... Can’t say I’ll be coming back… Very disappointing local experience for a national chain with a somewhat good reputation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scheubox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinnwilm, General Manager at Days Inn Wilmington/newark, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
I apologize your stay with us was less than satisfactory. We pride ourselves on trying to meet the standaed set by our founder. Mr. Day believed in in a clean, comfortable room at a reasonable price. I see from the photo that cleanliness was an issue and again I apologize. I thank you for bringing this issue to my attention and I will definitely discuss it with the appropriate staff members. We are currently in the process of upgrading our property with all new amenities in our rooms and it is our hope that when we are finished you would give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hanover, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Had a wonderful time at this hotel the staff was friendly and helpful. The Continental Breakfast was delicious had a wide variety of things to eat. Fresh everyday. The breakfast server Abigail Vega was kind, friendly, attentive, always made sure there was food available to the public. I would definetely recommend this place to stay.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor facing the highway and really never heard any traffic. They had o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinnwilm, General Manager at Days Inn Wilmington/newark, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out this survey. We appreciate your time and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.8 mi away
Inn at Wilmington
Inn at Wilmington
#6 of 12 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Brandywine Valley Inn
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Brandywine
5.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Wilmington/newark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Wilmington/newark

Property: Days Inn Wilmington/newark
Address: 5209 Concord Pike, Wilmington, DE 19803-1416
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Wilmington/newark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Days Inn Wilmington/newark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Wilmington Hotel Wilmington
Wilmington Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing