We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
HOTEL DU PONT(Wilmington)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Fairview Inn(Wilmington)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Budget Inn(New Castle)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (509)
Filter reviews
509 results
Traveler rating
136
186
105
43
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
186
105
43
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub levelunderground garagehotel restaurantsitting areabed was very comfortablegreat rateseparate bedroomthis past weekendcoffee makerper dayfitness centercheck in was easyfront desk staffguest roomsvery nice hotelhotel staffbusiness hotel
Filter
Updating list...
435 - 440 of 509 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2010

We booked this hotel on hotwire and saved a lot. But there were a few catches. We had a king bed, but for some reason there were no king sheets. They put on flat queen size sheets so at the foot of the bed you felt matress and by morning every side had pulled loose. Also, as indicated you had to pay for internet. And though it indicated 'self-park' it didn't say you had to pay-it was $12 for Fri and Sat and $16 for all other days. But the suite was very nice, lots of very hot water, clean, spacious.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HorryTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights this past weekend. We had some friends in Wilmington we wanted to visit and since they just had their 2nd baby we declined their offer to stay with them and went on Priceline and got this hotel. We won with a very low bid and were very happy to get a hotel a few miles from them.

We stayed on a Friday and Saturday night and the hotel was not very crowded. We got the impression that most people stay here for business during the week. We were very happy with the size of the suite. The front room had a microwave, a fridge, and an LG flat screen TV. The bedroom also had a flat screen TV and also a vanity area with a large mirror that my wife thought was very nice. The bathroom was pretty basic.

The one issue we had was a sneaky suspicion that they did not give us new towels the 2nd day even though we left the towels on the floor as instructed to receive clean towels. My wife found a makeup stain on one of the towels the 2nd day that she remembered leaving the first night when she was doing her makeup. Even if it wasn't the same towel, some of the makeup on the new towel came off when she rubbed it so it wasn't a permanent stain from a different towel. It was either her previous towel (pretty sure) or someone else's towel that wasn't cleaned very well. Either way, ewww.

Aside from that issue, everything else went pretty smooth. But it left us with a weird feeling and we would probably stay elsewhere our next time in Wilmington.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelRinck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

We went to a soccer tournament with our 13-year-old's team this past weekend. I was a bit skeptical about the team manager's choice of hotels - since the reviews were mixed, at best. Once again, turns out the TripAdvisor's mixed reviews were right.

First the good points of this hotel. The rooms were pretty nice and big - except for the fact that one of the false cabinet fronts under the countertop decided to fall out on its own, revealing a dirty mess of pipes/wires behind it - and we couldn't get it back on. The desk staff was nice and very accomodating for the most part. The lobby was big, modern and functional. And the rates were reasonable (they really have to be, otherwise no one would stay - see below). The hotel was fairly clean (except for the carpets in every single elevator - which had dark stains all over them. What's up with that?)

Now for the bad points. First off - the location is sketchy at best - only a couple of restaurants even close to the hotel - but the neighborhood is so on the border between good and bad, no one wanted to venture out to explore those few options. Meaning that if you didn't want to hop in your car and drive a mile or so to find a string of good options - you are held hostage by their one and only expensive restaurant inside the hotel - which didn't open until 7 a.m. for breakfast on a day we had to be out of there by 6:20 a.m. (Oh - we could have ordered room service - anyone for a $16 breakfast for one person? - and even that wouldn't have been in time). For lunch/dinner - a hamburger and fries is $13, and that's one of the cheapest items on the menu. And don't even thinking about finding something in the lobby store to make do - of course, no cereal or milk. Just some cookies, candy, soda, etc. - all to make you spend the money in the restaurant or on room service.

The parking garage - pricey, tiny spaces, dark, scary. So you have the choice to park your car there for $12/night, or taking your chances parking it in an outdoor lot across the street - choose your poison.

Security seemed reasonable - you need your hotel room key card to get in and out of the parking garage, and again to allow you to select a room floor once you're in the hotle elevator. But that was only an illusion - one of our coaches was assaulted in a hallway (hit and jumped from behind) while he was opening the door to his own room! So clearly security is not what it appears to be. Thank goodness he wasn't seriously hurt, and the perpetrator was caught.

Finally - one morning we left our room at around 6:15 a.m., and returned at approximately 3:30 p.m. - and our room still hadn't been cleaned by housekeeping. Instead of apologizing to us when we called, the lady at the desk matter-of-factly informed us that the maids are there until 5, and it will eventually get done. Which it did - while we were still in the room getting ready for dinner that evening.

Bottom line - for the most part staff was friendly, but the large size of the rooms doesn't make up for the negatives if I had the choice to stay on our own. But it was okay in taking one for the team.

And I don't want the manager chiming in with his apologies after reading this - just fix what you can. Especially the food options and pricing of them in your own hotel, the facilities for parking, and the organization of the housekeeping staff to be more timely and proactive.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConnecticutYankee_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyGM, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2010

Hello "ConnecticutYankee_9",
Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback from your recent stay with us. We do listen to all feedback and hope to grow from it. I appreciate you pointing out the good points of your stay including the spacious suites and the staff being friendly. In addition to the Hotel's food and beverage offereings, there are plenty of restaurants in walking distance that are highly recommended. As a urban Hotel, security is of the utmost importance to us and I can assure you that at no time was the Hotel's security compromised. I am sorry that we did not live up to your expectations or ours during your stay. I can assure you that we will evaluate what we can do differently to ensure we are exceeding all of our guest's expectations. I hope your 13 year old's soccer team performed well in their tournament.
Warm regards,
Jeremy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

We needed a last minute place to stay with 2 young children and we had a great experience at this hotel. It was a great location- just a minute off of 95 and the suite ability gave our kids a chance to fall asleep while my husband and I had our own space. The breakfast buffet was fantastic and the staff was extremely hospitable

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bscoop76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyGM, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2010

Good day "bscoop76",
We are happy you chose to stay at the Sheraton Suites Wilmington Hotel with your family when traveling by on Interstate 95. We consider our spacious suites "Family Friendly" for any occasion. We take pride in the service provided by our restaurant staff as evidenced by your positve cooments about the team. Thanks again for staying with us and look forward to your return!

Jeremy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

We stayed here this weekend for the Nascar race. The room was excellent and the staff attentive. Any problems were quickly rectified (no towels in the bathroom/billing error) We were happy with the convenient location although downtown is quite quiet on weekends. We parked on the street outside the hotel without a problem-we had a large van and decided based on previous reviews that the street parking would do fine. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 506canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyGM, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2010

Hello "506canuck",
I am happy to hear you had an "excellent stay" with us. Our convenient location is a major reason guests enjoy staying with us. Let our team know when you will be returning and we would be happy to assist you in taking advantage of all the wonderful things to do in the greater Wilmington area on the weekends.
Jeremy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews