We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value, Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Wilmington
Catonsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Value, Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

Our family stayed 2 nights on the club level, which included a fantastic continental breakfast, and wonderful attendant. The tone of our stay began with a hotel employee (who turned put to be an awesome chef, thank you for the omelette!), advising we park somewhere else, due to concern about our bikes. He offered several safer options, including the garage we didn't realize was there. Thanks for the tip! As a trainer, I loved seeing the foam roller, ropes, and massage sticks in the gym. The pool and gym hours worked well with our schedules. In all, a comfortable stay.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank chrisembr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJolikko, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you chrisembr for your review of the hotel. I am pleased that the staff was able to take great care of you during your stay in both the restaurant and in parking your vehicle. The staff strives to give great service to every guest and I am glad to read that you too experienced that type of service during your stay. Enjoy the rest of your summer and we look forward to seeing you and your family again in the future.
Warm Regards,
Eric Jolikko
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    172
    90
    39
    32
See reviews for
106
87
42
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Thomaston
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

We spent to nights at the downtown Sheraton while we were there to see Longwood
Gardens and Winterthur. The hotel was lovely, the rooms were large with nice amenities such as bottled water, toiletries, and disposable bedroom shoes (nice touch). There was plenty of parking below, and there was a wonderful restaurant open in the evenings right down the street. The breakfast buffet was outstanding, and there is a chef to make you an omelet if you so desire. The entire staff was more than cordial, and that means a lot when you have been on the road.

Room Tip: Stay on one of the top floors--wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJolikko, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you Mary Ann M (Thomaston) for your very nice review. The staff and I truly appreciate the feedback and glad to read that you and your family had a great stay. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you and your family the next time you are in the area.
Have a fantastic rest of the summer
Eric Jolikko
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
235 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Staff checking us in was awesome. Parking easy. Room really pretty with great amenities in bathroom but we had 3 adults (my husband, adult daughter and me). The foldaway sofa was uncomfortable and we got sheets and a thin blanket, no pillows at all for that sofa (and we had to make the bed). The regular bed was not comfortable and the room was loud -- we could hear people all surrounding us very late into the night. It was a little above average, but not very good so I rated it below.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJolikko, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you Chris O for your feedback regarding your stay with the hotel. I do apologize for you and your family not being comfortable with your accommodations. I can tell you the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds typically get rave reviews. I am however very pleased to read that you felt that the front desk staff was awesome. Thank you for your comments and truly hope that you have a great rest of the summer.
Warm Regards
Eric Jolikko
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

While vacationing in Delaware, my wife and I stayed three nights at this hotel. The staff really is professional and courteous. Upon our arrival, LaAsia went out of her way too make us feel welcome and cared for. We stayed on the 16th floor, which gave us the quiet we were seeking. The rooms, although a bit use wearied, we're clean, comfortable and spacious. The king beds are conducive for restful sleep. This centrally located property made day trips to Dover, the Brandywine Valley and Philadelphia extremely easy. Caution, many of the the local, small restaurants near the location are not open on Sundays.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rehclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJolikko, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
I hope you had a great vacation and glad see that the staff, especially LaAsia made you feel welcome and cared for during your stay. The hotel strives to give every guest an “at home” experience”.
We hope that you have a great summer and look forward to you visiting us again in the near future.
Warm Regards
Eric Jolikko
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

This was a last minute booking for us, with our family of 5. (Our children range from 7 to 12 y.o.)
The hotel was easily found via the GPS, but warning to those who will look it up, make sure you pick the one with the right zip code. Searching for the address alone gave us 3 different destinations with the same address. The only thing different was the zip code.

The staff were very friendly and knowledgable about the area. We wanted to place to eat outside for breakfast and they gave us some good suggestions.

Our room was nice and spacious. We liked the layout. The pull-out bed was adequate for our 3 children. However, when we looked in the closet, there was no extra linen for the pull-out bed. We called the front desk, and they were quick to provide the sheets and pillows.

The street noise was pretty bad, but the air conditioning muffled most of that down.

The shower could use a little upgrade. The pressure was good, but the shower knob was a little difficult to adjust to get the right temperature. The bathroom is spacious enough, though.

Appliances included are:
-refrigerator
- coffee maker
- microwave
- hair dryer
- iron and ironing board

There is a safe in the closet for valuables.

There is a pool in the 2nd floor that my children truly enjoyed. There is also a fitness center, too that is fully equipped.


Overall a good night sleep for everyone. We were pleased with this overnight stay and will come back here again if given the chance.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pi3point14nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJolikko, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you pi3point14nj for your review of the hotel and your recent stay. We are glad that you had a good overnight stay. The staff and I hope that you decide to stay with us again when you are in the Wilmington area in need of a hotel.
Have a great summer
Eric Jolikko
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
807 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

A nice, comfortable hotel in Wilmington's downtown that could use a little upkeep. The staff is very friendly and was very accommodating with our dog. Dogs under 40 pounds are welcome. The rooms are nice and large, with huge bathrooms but could use a little maintenance. The shower particularly wasn't in great condition and the head kept spinning into the corner or over the curtain. Still, very convenient to downtown and a great place to stay with a dog.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tyler L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJolikko, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you TylerL for your feedback regarding your stay at the Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown. I am glad to read that you felt comfortable during your stay. In November/December of 2012, the wallpaper, rugs and sofas where installed. The hotel also replaced the chair, ottoman and lighting package in the hotel in March 2013. The hotel has additional renovations that will be completed in 2014/2015 as well which will include the bathrooms. Thank you again for your comments and hope that you have a great summer.
Eric Jolikko
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

I've stayed at this hotel half a dozen times on business trips during the past 3 years.

The staff here is very friendly and knows a lot of "regulars" by name or facial recognition. The food at the onsite restaurant is also very good and extremely convenient. All of the waitstaff are very professional and provide great service -- Gloria is a very personable, friendly waitress who serves evening meals with excellent service. In the morning, Andre cooks up a great breakfast and Glenn serves it to you with speed and a smile.

This place is my home away from home on frequent business trips to Wilmington DE. Overall, the hotel is reasonably well appointed with large, clean comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJolikko, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for he fantastic comments regarding both Glen and Gloria, it was very nice to outstanding employees to receive recognition from you. Thank you for your loyalty and the staff and I look forward to seeing you on a regular basis
Have a super summer
Eric Jolikko
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Pont
Hotel du Pont
#4 of 12 in Wilmington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Westin Wilmington
The Westin Wilmington
#7 of 12 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington
5.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
4.9 mi away
Inn at Wilmington
Inn at Wilmington
#6 of 12 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel

Property: Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel
Address: 422 Delaware Avenue, Wilmington, DE 19801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Wilmington
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Suites Wilmington is in Brandywine Valley by Rodney Square, Grand Opera House, museums, and many corporate headquarters. Our all-suites hotel has 7 meeting rooms which hold up to 300 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Starwood and Travelocity so you can book your Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Wilmington Hotel Wilmington
Sheraton Hotel Wilmington
Sheraton Wilmington
Wilmington Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing