We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Hotel - fantastic service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Wilmington
Maine
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - fantastic service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed at this hotel while traveling on business and this had made me seriously consider the Sheraton chain for family travel. The bed was VERY comfortable, the service in the restaurant, at the counter and for room service was perfect, Room was spacious clean and well kept, Never saw pool or gym but will definitely be booking this hotel for a return visit.
Quiet with no noise from other rooms made it easy to sleep- now if they could just block the sound of the incessant sirens from out on the streets :)

Restaurant and breakfast was very good. Homefries were frozen type so i skipped but everything else was very fresh and cooked wonderfully.
Parking garage seemed a little narrow, i might be leery of bringing a long or large vehicle into it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zoozwee2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJolikko, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. I definitely agree that the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Beds are EXTREMELY comfortable and if you are interested the beds and bedding package are available for purchase at Sheraton.com.
The staff and I truly appreciate your business and hope that you will consider using Starwood properties for all your travel needs.
Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the future
Warm Regards
Eric Jolikko
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    169
    85
    36
    31
See reviews for
104
83
40
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed at the hotel this past weekend and I love the upgrades, we stayed on the club level and the renovations are excellent. Comfortable beds and friendly front desk staff! Bonus: got it on Priceline for $50.00

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimba1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJolikko, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with the hotel. The following areas were updated in November/December: Replace all wallpaper (guest room and guest hallway), Replace all carpet (guest room and guest hallway), Replace room drape package (both living room and bedroom), Light package replaced (guest room and guest hallway). Also the hotel will be replacing the chair and ottoman in the middle of February 2013. There will be additional items completed in the rooms as well in 2013.
Thank you again and please visit “us” again when you are in the area.
Sincerely,
Eric Jolikko
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We were traveling up to Philly and decided to stay slightly out of the city for $ reasons. It only about 45 minutes to the center of Philly. We grab this room from Hotwire's "hidden" 4-star selections as we were getting close to Philly. I would say Wilmington is a great cheaper alternative right before Philly if you are on 95. It was a 2-room suite with lots of room for our family. It nice and comfortable. We have to say it comparable to our usual Marriott or Hilton selection. The only down side is the $16 to park....but you could use the private lots right behind it for 6-8 for the night if you willing to walk across the street (they are literally right behind the hotel for $8/day).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank momdadsefi2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJolikko, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. The hotel and Wilmington are conveniently located close to both Philadelphia and Baltimore and sometime at a substantially lower cost as it appears that you were able to take advantage of. We hope the next time you are planning a trip into the area, you again chose the Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown.
Warm Regards
Eric Jolikko
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
108 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

I've been staying here often for business lately. A few positives: the staff is quite friendly, provides helpful insights and suggestions on places to dine, directions, etc; rooms are spacious, in fact bigger than I'd ever need; rooms are clean, with free bottle water, starbucks coffee, refrigerator, and sink; not so positives: hard to come by...maybe just that they charge for parking.

Some suggestions: place is taken over by business travelers, so expect lines for check in to be long on Monday evenings. Show up before 6, or after 8. The complimentary wine and appetizers on Tuesdays is amazing...in fact, it becomes my meal more often than not.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pbutala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJolikko, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your continued loyalty and your feedback. Both are truly appreciated. With a lot of choices in hotels and hotel chains, this hotel strives to stand out by giving the best service in the Wilmington area. In addition, the hotel is completed “Phase 1” of its renovation process, which will also help enhance the guest experience.
We hope that you continue to choose the Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown and please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you ever have any questions and/or concerns.
Warm Regards
Eric Jolikko
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Dominique was excellant, even though our booking showed 3 beds but rooms did not have 3 beds, she was quite accomidating. parking to quite tough to manuvere and very tight. frig did not work. rooms were spacious.
I can still see Dominque smile..... very warm and inviting....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lenny b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJolikko, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give the hotel feedback about your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that Dominique took good care of you during your stay. The staff’s goal is to give excellent service to all guests. I do however apologize for your in-room refrigerator not working. I hope that after the staff was notified it was fixed quickly.
Again thank you for choosing the Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown and we hope that the next time you are in the area you stay with us again.
Warm Regards,
Eric Jolikko
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

The elevators only work one at a time, despite there being three. Not sure why they can't get that fixed - I've stayed here every week for awhile and its the same deal every week.

Also beware - if something isn't quite right - they are quick to offer you star points as compensation but they will never show up on your star points balance - they're all talk and no follow through.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jvldmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJolikko, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with the hotel. The staff and I apologize for any inconvenience that you may have encountered during your stay. The staff strives to meet/exceed all guest expectations, however if they do fall short on this goal, they definitely will try to compensate the guest. If you did not receive SPG points that where promised you please contact me immediately so I can rectify the issue. Thank you again and Happy Holidays to you and your family!
Eric Jolikko
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

After a long flight from Dallas, I was expecting an unattentive staff awaiting me. I was pleasantly suprised to be greated by Shawna Mack working the Front Desk. She greeted me with a smile and an eagerness to assist me. I thought I was going to have trouble when my corporate credit card was somehow declined. She took great steps in reassuring me that everything would be taken care of. Shawna brought the issue to a quick resolution. Along with her colleague Dominique, got my stay off to otherwise wonderful start. As for the rooms, they were clean and smelled fresh. The beds however were not to my liking, a bit hard. Overall the hotel is great, in a great location and enough amenities to satisfy the most demanding of customers.

Room Tip: Great place to eat and socialize is Washington Street Ale.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heycap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJolikko, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback. Both Shawna and Dominique are part of a hotel staff that enjoys giving get service. I know the ladies were excited to see their names on the Trip Advisor forum and I thank you for acknowledging the service that you received from them. We look forward to seeing you in your future trips to the Wilmington area.
Happy Holidays
Eric Jolikko
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District
1.3 mi away
The Westin Wilmington
The Westin Wilmington
#7 of 12 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Pont
Hotel du Pont
#3 of 12 in Wilmington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington
5.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel

Property: Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel
Address: 422 Delaware Avenue, Wilmington, DE 19801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Wilmington
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Suites Wilmington is in Brandywine Valley by Rodney Square, Grand Opera House, museums, and many corporate headquarters. Our all-suites hotel has 7 meeting rooms which hold up to 300 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Wilmington Hotel Wilmington
Sheraton Hotel Wilmington
Sheraton Wilmington
Wilmington Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing