We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value from Priceline for avg hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Wilmington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value from Priceline for avg hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Paid a total of $70 on Priceline for what ended up being a king suite. The suite itself is very large with a nice layout. There are flat screens in both rooms.

As for the negatives. The sofa is quite hard. The carpet has a bunch of stains and the bathroom had some hair in the corners of the floors. Priceline showed that the room had free wifi but it turns out that it's $10 per device per day. Hotel parking costs $16/day.

Overall good for what I payed but not up to actual 4 star standards.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sultan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJolikko, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the hotel. It is truly appreciated. The hotel aware of many of the condition issues that exist in the hotel and we are excited that we have finally started a much needed renovation in many of these areas and it will all be completed before year end of 2012.
Thank you again for your comments and we hope that the next time you are in the area you will decide to stay with us again. Please ask for a newly renovated room.
Happy Holidays
Eric Jolikko
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    172
    90
    39
    32
See reviews for
106
87
42
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Our party came to Wilmington for the Grand Gala and had excellent accommodation at the Sheraton. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Our rooms were very well appointed and surprising large. The only problem we had with the room was one of the showers drained slowly.

Our breakfast in the hotel restaurant was the usual hotel fare but well presented and very large portions. The restaurant wait staff were very attentive and happy to accommodate special request.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJolikko, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments concerning your stay with the hotel. The staff was excited to read your comments as they are committed to guest satisfaction with every guest. Hopefully you let the staff know about the drain issue so we can address it. If not please feel free to contact the hotel directly. Thank you again and Happy Holidays.
Eric Jolikko
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We visit Wilmington often as my family lives there. We stayed in the Sheraton Suites about three years ago and it was passable. My husband made the reservation this time and I could hardly believe the difference. Every employee was obviously so well trained and friendly. Our experience was very good and we will definitely return. Rooms were spacious and everyone so friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJolikko, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience that you encountered during your recent stay. The staff and I take great pride in delivering service that exceeds guest expectations (or at minimum meets those expectations). I glad to hear that you experienced that type of service this past weekend. It was also a pleasure to talk to both you and your husband. Again, thank you so much for your feedback.
Happy Holidays !!
Eric Jolikko
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Wilmington is quiet at night, so the center of downtown location is most convenient, without usual noise, yet near I 95, excellent restaurants, and the suburban attractions. Layout of the two rooms was excellent, and view from 11th floor through large windows was a pleasure, especially at sunset. The staff were friendly and always helpful. I enjoyed my stay so much that I extended by one night, and was given a discounted rate.

Being on the club floor last weekend was not worth the extra costs, since they didn't provide some of the amenities, supposedly because too few people were staying on the floor, and they forgot to tell me to go to their restaurant for snacks and breakfast. The parking is a bit expensive, considering the tiny spaces, so often two full size cars took up three spaces.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJolikko, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay with the hotel. I do apologize that the staff didn’t inform you have all the required information needed regarding the Club Floor / Club Lounge. Please do not hesitate to call me the next time you are in the area and I will ensure that you are upgraded at no additional cost. Thank you again and Happy Thanksgiving!
Eric Jolikko
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

The neighborhood is dangerous on weekends when nearby businesses are closed. Sat morning at 9:30 AM, my purse was snatched as I walked out of the hotel to my car. There are NO security guards or bellman out front. Desk staff was barely helpful at all and would not give me a copy of the incident report. I chased the thief for three to four blocks with my husband and an "engineer" from the hotel who just happened to be out front. I fell, and now have a hand/wrist injury. DO NOT EVER GO HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! When I came back about 4 hours later to ask for the report again, my husband actually recognized the same guy malingering in front of the hotel. I asked the desk staff to call 911 and they did not respond. REPEAT: STAY AWAY.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ny24ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJolikko, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your response regarding the incident that occurred outside of the hotel. The hotel and I are extremely saddened that something like this would happen to you or any person. Please know that the hotel takes the safety and security of all our guests extremely seriously. I have contacted the Wilmington Police, the Mayor’s Office, the Conventions & Visitors Bureau, Downtown Visions and several other key offices and departments in the city’s government in regards to this unfortunate situation. The hotel and these organizations/agencies will be working very closely to continue ensuring the safety and security of Wilmington and its guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Spacious suites and friendly staff in downtown Wilmington. Fresh and ambitious cooking in the hotel restaurant "Basil" Soups and main dishes were delicious. A new dessert menu with in-house made items is coming soon...I would wait for that. While the hotel is extraordinary value on weekends, the restaurant had prices more in line with a downtown business hotel...which it is.

There seems to be no ventilation in the bathroom...the building is in decent shape but is not the newest.

This hotel is definitely a good choice if staying in Wilmington.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christoph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJolikko, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for recognition about the staff. They strive to exceed expectations for all guests and truly appreciate your comments! Happy Thanksgiving! Please do not hesitate to give us a call the next time you are in the area.
Eric Jolikko
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We had wanted to stop off in Philadelphia on our way south, but everything was booked. We took a chance with this place, and found it convenient, comfortable, clean, and an excellent value. We reserved a room on the "club" level, and it was great. The staff are warm and friendly.

I'm picky when it comes to cleanliness, and our suite was pristine. The bed was comfortable, and the rooms were huge.

It's a little bit of a pain that they charge for wifi (but it didn't show up on our bill). We did park on the street (meters are free during the weekend). The neighborhood is definitely dicey. (You don't want to walk there at night without knowing exactly where you are going.)

For $139 for "club" level, I think we ended up getting much more value than we would have in Philadelphia. This was a personal trip, but I'll go back when I need to be in the vicinity for business.

Room Tip: See if you can book a room on the club level. You'll get snacks during the day (fresh fruit, pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trulyglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJolikko, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your response concerning your recent visit. We were pleased to hear that you had at convenient, comfortable, clean, stay. The staff loves to hear great responses from the guests and they take great pride getting them. Thank you again for the feedback! Have a Happy Thanksgiving and we look forward to seeing you when you are the area in the future.
Eric Jolikko
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Pont
Hotel du Pont
#4 of 12 in Wilmington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Westin Wilmington
The Westin Wilmington
#7 of 12 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington
5.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
4.9 mi away
Inn at Wilmington
Inn at Wilmington
#6 of 12 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel

Property: Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel
Address: 422 Delaware Avenue, Wilmington, DE 19801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Wilmington
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Suites Wilmington is in Brandywine Valley by Rodney Square, Grand Opera House, museums, and many corporate headquarters. Our all-suites hotel has 7 meeting rooms which hold up to 300 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Wilmington Hotel Wilmington
Sheraton Hotel Wilmington
Sheraton Wilmington
Wilmington Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing