We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a weekend respite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Wilmington
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great place for a weekend respite”
Reviewed March 23, 2012

In town to visit a friend. Was given a nice bottle of wine and two bowls of fruit (plus a hand written note-- nice touch) from the manager. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The fitness center was small but adequate.

Room Tip: high floor, view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zephyr221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJolikko, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Thank you for staying with us during your recent stay. As a well traveled person like yourself, you expect to get good/great service at a Starwood property. This hotel stives to give a human touch to it's guests to make them feel extra special. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope the next time you are in the area you stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    180
    94
    40
    33
See reviews for
112
91
43
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Macedonia, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Nice hotel, good price. Parking garage does not accommodate larger SUVs. A continental breakfast would have been nice and would have earned them another star.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mjmClevOh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJolikko, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Thank you for your comments. An upgrade continental breakfast is available with any Club Room purchase. Also included are upgraded guest room amenities and evening appetizers in a dedicated Club Lounge. The parking garage unfortunately does not accommodate large SUV's but the front desk always has a solution and/or recommendation for parking need.
When you are in the Wilmington DE area in the future, please give us a call as would love for you to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Not only were the accommodations top notch, the service was excellent as well. Reception was enthusiastically and expertly handled by Rich. In the dining room, Courtney, our server, was courteous and attentive. Our wonderfully prepared breakfast, cooked by Andre, the chef, arrived beautifully presented.
We wanted to offer jobs in our company to all of them!
Definitely the place to stay in Wilmington.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewJerseyJosephine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJolikko, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
NewJerseyJosephine, thank you for the very nice comments about the staff. They were read and celebrated in their recent departmental meetings and also put on the employee comment board for everyone to see. GREAT bragging rights for them!!
We all hope that the next time you are in the Wilmington DE area that you stay with us! Thank you again
Eric Jolikko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2012

During my stay at the Sheraton Suites located in downtown Wilmington, I found the hotel to be great, it's updated, clean & very nice place to stay. All staff are the most accomodating as well as very professional. Any requests were immediately handled and everyone was very nice. I will definitely tell my friends and family, in addition to referring other guests.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a great view of the downtown area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJolikko, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Vivian F, thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. The staff does take great pride in giving great service and I am glad that you were able to experience it during your stay. Again thank you and we hope the next time you are in the area you choose to stay at your home away from home, the Sheraton Suites Wilmington!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Checked in to Room 601. After undressing, and about 5 minutes after arriving, another guest walked into my room with his own keycard. Manager was apologetic and promised to comp the room, but never bothered to follow through.

At breakfast buffet in the morning, omelette chef was AWOL -- "out back." After waiting 10 minutes for him to arrive to perform his job duties, I enjoyed a half-decent omelette.

Room was run-down. Scratched desktop, beat-up bathroom, shower control knob about to break off.

My last visit to this property. Used to be better, but too many of the staff have become careless and lazy.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJAinLA90024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJolikko, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Mr. Asch, thank you so much for bringing your concerns to our attention regarding your stay at the Sheraton Suites Wilmington DE. Unfortunately, I was unable to speak to you in person, but I would like to apologize for the inconveniences and lack of service that you encountered during your recent stay.
I checked your checkout folio and noticed that you did in fact receive a comp night as you were only charged for one night on your recent two night stay with the hotel. In addition, I did see that the front desk employee did take off your breakfast charge due to the inconvenience.
The hotel will be starting to replace many guest room items, starting with the couches in June/July. The guest room carpet, the guest hallway carpet, chair & ottoman and some of the case goods will all be replaced in 2012.
Although it may not appear to be true, this hotel and its staff take great pride in delivering a high level service to our customers and will continue to do everything in our power to meet everyone’s expectations. Thank you for making it possible for us to learn of our challenges so that we can turn them into successes.
I truly hope that you will give us another chance and please do not hesitate to call me and/or email me at ejolikko@sheratonwilmington.com with any questions or concerns.

Warm Regards,

Eric Jolikko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wilmington hotels

New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Its hard to find a place in downtown Willmington for a decent price and good service. I usually stay at another hotel, but Shawna Mack was very helpful and nice.

Thanks Again for the good stay

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigone9990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJolikko, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your very nice comments about the hotel and especially Shawna - she was so exicted when she read the review.
We hope that you return to the hotel the next time you are in the Wilmington DE area.
Thank you again for your feedback and we look foward to seeing you again in the future,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

I stay across the way but always come here for supper. The cooks and the food are fantastic. Tremendous steaks and other entrees, with decent prices. Haven't been for lunch or other but supper is a must of you find yourself in downtown Wilmington, DE

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oksanakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJolikko, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Thank you for you very nice comments in regards to the Basil Restaurant. We truly do appreciate guest feedback both good and bad as it allows us to reflect on our performance and improve our service on many levels. Chef Courtney Hall does a great job creating menus and training his staff in order for the guest to experience a fantastic meal. I am glad that you were able to experience his vision.
I hope that you get a chance to visit our hotel / restaurant the next time you are in the Wilmington area. Again, thank you so much for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Pont
Hotel du Pont
#2 of 13 in Wilmington
102 reviews
5.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Westin Wilmington
The Westin Wilmington
#6 of 13 in Wilmington
237 reviews
5.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
4.9 mi away
Inn at Wilmington
Inn at Wilmington
#7 of 13 in Wilmington
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel

Property: Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel
Address: 422 Delaware Ave, Wilmington, DE 19801-1508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Wilmington
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Suites Wilmington is in Brandywine Valley by Rodney Square, Grand Opera House, museums, and many corporate headquarters. Our all-suites hotel has 7 meeting rooms which hold up to 300 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Wilmington Hotel Wilmington
Sheraton Hotel Wilmington
Sheraton Wilmington
Wilmington Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing