We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, very accommodating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2014

A group of us stayed here for my son's wedding in June. They reserved a block of rooms for us at a great price, so we had a decent crowd. The bride and groom's suite was included for the price of a regular room and was very nice. (Avani was great to work with.) One disappoint was that the hotel bar recently switched to an outside franchise and was not yet permitted to stay open after 11:00pm on a Sunday night. Our reception ended at 8:30 so we were counting on the hotel bar for the "after hours party". Even after trying to bribe the bartender, they wouldn't bend, no matter how much we tried :-). However, to compensate, the bar manager offered to set us up in a private room for as long as we wanted, for free...With whatever beer, wine or liquor we wanted to purchase before the bar closed. Now that's service!! As it turns out, there is a pretty cool bar right next door that does stay open late on Sundays so we just strolled on over there for until closing.
Our hotel rooms were clean and the managemnt staff very polite. They were able to get rooms from the previous night cleaned for us to check in early for the wedding. They were also very gracious about late checkout. (Very important when partying late after a wedding.) There is ample free parking and as I said, a bar within 25 yards from the hotel if their's is closed.
All in all a very good experience for a very good price. We plan on going staying here again in the near future.

Room Tip: The hotel has two towers. If staying here with multiple couples, ask to stay in the same tower. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (709)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

558 - 564 of 709 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2014

Driveway is currently under construction and you have to circle around to get there. Hotel itself is very nice. The Staff is friendly, the rooms are nice. Bar area was nice. Service was good when we had some drinks.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Mausi69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

It was a reasonably good hotel for the price we paid. It is located in ~7 miles from Longwood Gardens at PA with the beautiful gardens and events so the Double Tree hotel is a perfect place to stay after visiting the gardens. Our room was clean and quite, the reception staff - friendly and helpful, breakfast was nourishing and delicious. I would recommend this hotel to stop by.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Natalia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chapman1118, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Thank you so much for the review. Next time you are in the area, come back and stay with us! There are plenty more gardens in the area for you to visit!

Yours in Hospitality,

Eric Chapman
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

No one was accountable at this hotel. I made a reservation for 7 nights at this hotel. The reservationist quoted one price on the phone, but my email confirmation had a different price. Front desk reaction-- Not my job! The bed in my room was old, lumpy, too low to floor, extremely uncomfortable for sleep. Called the front desk to request another room/another bed. Front desk sarcastic reaction-- All the beds are the same! Shower brown rusty water, spitting out rocks Front desk reaction-- let water run for awhile To conserve energy Doubletree Hilton policy is. will change sheets every third night. After sleeping on the same linen for “FIVE” nights, I request that my linen be changed. Housekeeper first rude reaction-- It’s every four nights. When I showed her the Doubletree Hilton Card with the printed policy. Housekeeper second rude reaction-- We don’t have clean sheets! When I suggested the hotel should be closed and the board of health notified. Front desk reaction-- We’ll send the manager up to room! Manager reaction-- Didn’t bother to come! My reaction-- Checked out two days earlier than planned. Found another hotel. Regret not checking out sooner. Lesson Learned-- Never Again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Lois D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chapman1118, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to comment on Trip Advisor. Comments from our guests help us to ensure the quality and comfort of our guests. I would like to apologize for your recent stay with us. I have forwarded these comments to our staff. Thank you again and hope to see you in the future.

Yours in Hospitality,

Eric Chapman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

So we picked this place on a recommendation from a friend and we were pretty pleased. First impressions are everything, and when the girl at the front desk hands you a stack of warm chocolate chip cookies (warmed with a toaster underneath the desk), you don't have to do much else to win me over. Well, I'm kidding about that part. Room was clean, facilities were as well. The fitness center was nice (overlooks the pool), and the restaurant had a nice selection for the breakfast buffet as well. My only complaint is that the filters in the AC unit were a tad filthy - we usually take these out and clean them ourselves when we first get to the room. It makes for a nicer sleeping experience when you're not breathing in as much dust that can build up in those things...

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chapman1118, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Thanks Pete! We appreciate the kind words about the hotel and can agree with you about how amazing our cookies are!

Yours in Hospitality,

Eric Chapman
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed here for a wedding we were attending in the area. The staff was very friendly and even though we arrived 3 hours before check in time, they found a room for us to stay in. The room is very nice, pillows and bed very comfortable. There was a coffee maker in the room and it was good and very hot. The shower was excellent as the force of the water was strong. We only had breakfast there but, it was quite delicious. Over all, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank ConnieR919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chapman1118, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Connie-
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate the kind words and taking the time to write the review.

Please come back again anytime!

Yours in Hospitality

Eric Chapman
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I had a wonderful stay at the hotel. All staff were very nice and friendly. The GM, catering manager, and restaurant manager talk with my group personally to ask about our stay. The hotels rooms were great. The hotel is in a great location for shopping. The breakfast buffet was the best hotel breakfast I had in a long time. The front desk staff Jasmine was friendly and took her time to answer all our questions. I would continue to use this hotel for weekends with friends.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Sharita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chapman1118, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Thank you for the great review. We appreciate your kind words. Please come again soon!

Yours in Hospitality
Eric Chapman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District
0.2 mi away
Inn at Wilmington
Inn at Wilmington
#8 of 13 in Wilmington
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Brandywine
5 mi away
HOTEL DU PONT
HOTEL DU PONT
#2 of 13 in Wilmington
257 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Westin Wilmington
The Westin Wilmington
#6 of 13 in Wilmington
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington

Address: 4727 Concord Pike, Wilmington, DE 19803-1408
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range: $106 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington is centrally located near the Concord Mall and Interstate 95 in Brandywine Valley. Complimentary shuttle service is available to shops and restaurants within 3 miles of the property. Philadelphia International Airport is less than 17 miles away. Other features include complimentary WiFi, onsite dining, indoor heated pool, fitness center and our signature warm, delicious chocolate chip cookies. Event and meeting space for up to 300 guests can be accommodated at DoubleTree Wilmington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing