We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Epitome of "Service with a Smile"!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Cayucos, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Epitome of "Service with a Smile"!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

Kudos to the staff at this excellent, and very busy hotel. Special thanks to Jimmie and the entire restaurant crew (Joanne!) - The chef's creations are first-class! Our company will definitely return. Rob was such an efficient host - nothing was lacking in the meeting room. Andre helped me with the AV/sound problem I had, improving the quality of my presentation. Good show all around! The accommodations in the hotel room were very comfortable. I understand they are upgrading to include refrigerators (and microwaves?) in the rooms, however the restaurant is excellent and very convenient!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eclecticreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chapman1118, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you very much for the great review! We will pass your praise on to Joanne!

Yours in Hospitality,

Eric Chapman
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    163
    92
    36
    14
See reviews for
169
99
29
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Natchez, Mississippi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

I just took a group to visit the area and stayed in this hotel for location and based on reviews...wish there were more honest reviews! Cold showers, broken sinks, overflowing toilets, and that does not include the fact that there is an onsite reception facility where music blares until midnight. Most of the issues were blamed on 100% occupancy by management, which to me sounds like they can't handle the volume or over booked considering the age and limitations of infrastructure. Our group of 25 booked six months prior for five nights and in my opinion the staff could have done a better job of placing us away from the banquet hall and the bass from the party two nights of our five night stay. Location is good, food services did a good job with breakfast for our group, but overall we were unhappy with our room experience at this location. Not sure what the other hotels are like in Wilmington but I would take my chances elsewhere if booking a group. If only staying one night you might be okay as long as there isn't a sanctioned party going on just outside of your room.

Room Tip: Ask to be far away from banquet/reception room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chapman1118, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Trevor-
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are sorry that you experienced these issues while you were our guest. We strive to make every stay enjoyable and take these reviews very seriously. We hope that the next time you are in our are you give our hotel another chance after our 5 million dollar re-invention.
Sincerely,

Eric Chapman
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

I chose this hotel based upon ratings and location... Frankly it was a mistake... Overpriced for the value we received. It started with the room itself. The sink was so small I had a hard time placing my mouthwash on the side of it. If you were not careful everything would slide off on the floor. There was no cabinet built around the sink and you certainly did not want to make the mistake on leaning on it.... There was a metal 3-shelf contraption that rocked when placing any of our toiletries upon it. There was no closet only a rack with hangers on it that was mounted at less than 4' above the finished floor... Thus my suit barely cleared the floor. The warm chocolate chip cookie they gave us did not make up for these shortcomings. We acquired far better accommodations on our way home at a Sleep Inn locate in Richmond Virginia for 40% less. The food in their restaurant was acceptable but nothing I would purchase again even if I was hungry.... Overall it was a disappointment.

Room Tip: Don't stay here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfpsdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chapman1118, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input on our service and appointment and we are sorry to hear you were disappointed in the layout and appointment of our guestrooms. We will use your comments as we continue to evolve our guests' experience through amenities and value moving forward and we hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.

Yours in hospitality,
Eric Chapman
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, OR, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

I can't say enough great things about the hotel staff. The staff member who checked us in was especially remarkable. She was very friendly and personable and gave me a great feeling about the hotel. My elderly mom and I stayed in a beautiful, really comfortable suite. We felt warmly welcomed and very safe. Although the prices are higher than many other hotels in which I've stayed, the service and accommodations are worth it! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie L K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chapman1118, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Bonnie-
Thank you for the kind words! We hope to see you again soon!

Yours in Hospitality,

Eric Chapman
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
461 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Your typical business hotel.
Parking lot is close to the entrance. Quick & friendly check in.
Room was big & bed was comfortable.
Fairly big tv screen.
The most notable item was that the room I was in (211) was down the hallway so I heard zero noises. It was quiet & comfortable!
Thanks

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank VicandFawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chapman1118, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for the review. We hope you can stay with us again for your next business trip!

Yours in Hospitality,

Eric Chapman
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

The service was outstanding! The bathrooms were so clean that we could have eaten off of the floors. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The cookies are to die for! Overall, an amazing experience.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmkaplan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chapman1118, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you so much for the great review! Stop back and get a cookie anytime!

Yours in Hospitality,

Eric Chapman
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed here for one night on our way from Williamsburg, Varginia. Property location and service is very nice. Room is good size and bad is very comfortable. Morning front lobby coffee and tea is very good. Next to shopping center were we were not able to go but heard that shopping in delaware is very good because you do not have to pay any tax. Before coming to Hotel walking and boating in Baltimore harbor was good experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravel11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chapman1118, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thanks for staying with us during your road trip! Come back anytime and enjoy the tax free shopping!


Yours in Hospitality,

Eric Chapman
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Brandywine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Inn at Wilmington
Inn at Wilmington
#6 of 12 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel du Pont
Hotel du Pont
#4 of 12 in Wilmington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Westin Wilmington
The Westin Wilmington
#7 of 12 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington
Address: 4727 Concord Pike, Wilmington, DE 19803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington is centrally located near the Concord Mall and Interstate 95 in Brandywine Valley. Complimentary shuttle service is available to shops and restaurants within 3 miles of the property. Philadelphia International Airport is less than 17 miles away. Other features include complimentary WiFi, onsite dining, indoor heated pool, fitness center and our signature warm, delicious chocolate chip cookies. Event and meeting space for up to 300 guests can be accommodated at DoubleTree Wilmington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing