We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
philadelphia, United States
1 review
“nice place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

The hotel was a convenient location for all our needs, comfortable accommodations, staff friendly, especially security staff. Kalvin, with security went out of his way to assist our group when we unknowingly got a little too noisy. He was very friendly and professional. We will return and we highly recommend this hotel for group occasions.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin D, Social Media Champion at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thanks for the great review! So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    163
    92
    36
    14
See reviews for
169
99
29
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
derbyshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

The hotel is situated on a busy highway on the outskirts of Wilmington. It is an ideal business location. There are a number of chain restaurants close by and many shops and malls to choose from. Overall it is a nice hotel, with friendly staff and good facilities. I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank amusedDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin D, Social Media Champion at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your 5 star review! We are so pleased that you had a great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

My mother and I spent a couple of nights at this hotel in October 2013. The goal of our trip was to visit Nemours, Longwood Gardens and Winterthur. This hotel was about 15 minutes from all of these attractions.

Our experience with the front desk was very positive - nothing says "welcome" better than a warm chocolate cookie. Our room was on the fifth floor (no view to speak of) and was clean and comfortable - the bed and pillows especially cozy. We had a toilet issue on our first night - we called down to the front desk and were greeted by a friendly and professional plumber just minutes later. He fixed our problem in a matter of minutes.

We ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant our first morning - the buffet was reasonably priced (~$12 with coffee & juice), fresh, and with many choices.

I was slightly annoyed on Saturday when the restaurant sign said that the lounge opened at 3pm. When we asked the front desk, they said it opened at 4pm. We waited until 4:20pm and went somewhere else instead. Other than that it is important to note that this hotel seems to be a wedding depot. I saw fliers for 3 weddings over the weekend we stayed. We were staying next door to someone in the wedding party - and Friday night was a bit rowdy. Saturday was more controlled. I'm a heavy sleeper though, it may be of concern if you sleep light.

I'd stay here again if the price was right. I would also consider staying in one of the other area hotels if they offered a more competitive price (this area is not lacking in moderately priced hotel options).

Room Tip: If there are wedding parties staying on that weekend ask to be placed as far from the wedding party...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stryker4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin D, Social Media Champion at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your review and for staying with us when you were visiting the area. We are glad that you received a warm welcome and had a positive experience with the Maintenance, Front Office & breakfast. We are so sorry that the restaurant was not available during your stay. We will bring this up with our Restaurant staff to ensure that we are opening at the correct time of 4pm. We did have a number of groups staying with us during the weekend that you visited, so thank you for your patience with any guests that may have been a little loud. Thank you for letting us know, and we hope to enjoy your company again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The night attendant Dominique was a great help going out of her way the assure our stay was a pleasant one. The hotel housekeeping was great and did a great job on our room after having friends over and a night o drinking and football.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Llbrown2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin D, Social Media Champion at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your 5 star review and for staying wtih us! We are so glad that you had a great experience and we'll be sure to pass along your great comments about Dominique! Come back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

The front desk clerk put us on a floor with a rowdy wedding party. The noise started at 1:30am and lasted through 5am. Rowdy drunken jerks roamed the halls. We called security twice and the second time the guard threatened the jerks with a police call. Since we didn't want to see anyone arrested we just put pillows over our heads. The morning check out clerk was very kind and gave us a discount on the room and a free breakfast. I would still never stay there again. The toilet overflowed and the cooling/heating system did not work properly. I alternately froze and sweated all night, at least during the few moments I was able to sleep with all the commotion going on outside the door.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Luvthebeach2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin D, Social Media Champion at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
I’m so sorry for the noise issues you experienced during your stay. We work diligently with our staff to ensure each of our guests is respectful of others, while still enjoying their stay and special event and we regret you experienced a noise level that made your stay unpleasant. We hope you will give us another shot the next time you are in the area as we are eager to make your stay with us the best hotel experience possible.
Please provide us with the room you stayed in so that we can double check the toilet & HVAC to ensure they are in excellent working order.

Thank you,
Erin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

The hotel staff were very helpful and professional. The cleanliness,and room size/quality were great. Unfortunately, our room was right next to the elevator, and the noise from hotel guests congregating all night near the elevator was pretty loud. I'd say a little bit of soundproofing would really help this particular room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Shay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin D, Social Media Champion at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your 4 star review! We are sorry that you encountered some noise challenges during your stay. Next time you are here, we will be happy to pre block your room away from the elevator to make your stay a bit quieter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Good location, Negotiate the breakfast into the price of the hotel...great buffet but a bit expensive if purchased separate. No refridgerator or micro-wave in the rooms. Difficult to access from the other side of the highway. A great hotel otherwise!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Gregory R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin D, Social Media Champion at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thanks for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Brandywine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Inn at Wilmington
Inn at Wilmington
#6 of 12 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel du Pont
Hotel du Pont
#4 of 12 in Wilmington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Westin Wilmington
The Westin Wilmington
#7 of 12 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington
Address: 4727 Concord Pike, Wilmington, DE 19803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington is centrally located near the Concord Mall and Interstate 95 in Brandywine Valley. Complimentary shuttle service is available to shops and restaurants within 3 miles of the property. Philadelphia International Airport is less than 17 miles away. Other features include complimentary WiFi, onsite dining, indoor heated pool, fitness center and our signature warm, delicious chocolate chip cookies. Event and meeting space for up to 300 guests can be accommodated at DoubleTree Wilmington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing