We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Downtown Location for Business Trips”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed here on Business for a week and I liked the central location except for the fact that downtown Wilmington gets deserted by 5.00 PM everyday. The opera house is just across the road. Taxis are easy to get. The breakfast spread is sumptuous but does get monotonous as the don't change the spread often as they should. Rooms are nice and they have a great pool. Parking is not free of charge and I don't like that.

Room Tip: Take the higher rooms so you get a better view of the river.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davieb0i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Wilmington Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 193 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

Nice, clean and comfortable and very quiet. There is a little Bistro off the lobby where you can have a sandwich and a beer of coffee. There is free parking in a separate building around the corner. Bed was comfortable.

Room Tip: There is a glass door to exit in the parking garage a little closer to the hotel.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stayed there for 2 nights while in Wilmington for work and I must say the hotel is quite sufficient for that purpose. The location is very good as it is right in the downtown area and walking distances to most major offices. The area gets shady if you walk too far out, but the immediate proximity is ok.

The hotel's lobby is very boutique-like and quite nice. It has a well decorated dining area and, while it doesn't have any fancy dinner dining, it actually has quite a healthy breakfast. I was very surprised by that! Try the Healthy Start sandwich at the lobby - they even have the calories published. It's delicious and really is healthy - everything about it. The overall breakfast selection is very good for the healthy-eaters.

The gym is small but ok - it's clean and neat. It has 3 cardio machines. I was there at 5.30am and didn't have a problem getting one, but if you come in shortly after 6am, you don't stand a chance, unless someone is leaving. It has a very small weights area and only one yoga mat, but is ok overall.

The room was a pleasant surprise in that it had a fridge and a microwave!! I was on to making my Teavana tea right away! No mini-bar, but who needs one given the fridge! I was on a high floor, so didn't hear any noise. Bed was ok. So was the bathroom.

The one thing I did not like was that there is a smoking area right outside the dining area and every time the door opens, a thick cloud of nasty smoke comes in right into the dining area. I couldn't sit on some of the otherwise very nice tables because of that. They really need to eliminate this smoking area.

Service was very nice - I asked for water to be brought to the room and I got it promptly. There is no room service for breakfast.

I'd stay again there if I am in town.

Room Tip: High floor
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GizelleAnaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

First and foremost, the staff was awesome and accommodating. There is a cafe on site that serves Starbucks so that was also a plus. The hotel was clean.

Now for the not so good...The rooms are VERY small. If you are a business traveler, know that there is a not a phone on the desk. The building itself is very old and while there are clearly new fixtures, it still seems to be in need of a renovation. There is no sink space in the bathroom for your toiletries. There is absolutely NO view. The window to our room literally faced a brick wall. The hotel is bordered on 2 sides by a garage and the other 2 sides are buildings. Since the hotel is inside of a block there is no view of anything. The hotel clearly skimps on small amenities like trash can liners and a channel listing cards. Finally, you should know that the parking garage is around the block, so be prepared to drop your luggage at the door and then walk. The hotel was definitely overpriced and not what I am used to seeing with Courtyards.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kndrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is right downtown, but there are limited options at night. Staff was friendly and responsive. There is a parking garage next door and you need to get a card from the front desk to get out without paying. There is a bus stop in front of the garage and I think this is what caused some of the concerns. I walked all over at night with no issues other than a few requests for handouts. There are several good restaurants within a couple of blocks.

Only complaint is there was a lot of truck noise early in the morning (backup alarms and banging).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim5618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is a very good business hotel that is reasonably priced and right near all of the businesses in Wilmington. It had a workable gym and a good breakfast restaurant. The rooms were clean and pretty quiet. I would ask to be located differently in the hotel next time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitch R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I traveled to Wilmington to attend a concert at the Grand Opera House with some friends. I picked the Courtyard do to the location and price. Hotel was very nice. It seemed to have an updated lobby with a small shop for drinks and snacks. Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. Room was a nice size but overall pretty average. The only problem that occurred in the room was the heat. I could never find a good temperature. Either it was drafty by the window or very hot with the heat on. Parking wasn't great. A bit confusing to find and you need a key to get into the garage. Made it a little difficult after we checked out. Location was very business so restaurants within walking distance are few and far between. If I find myself in Wilmington again, I would have no problem staying here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyOwnUtopia128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Pont
Hotel du Pont
#2 of 13 in Wilmington
125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
4.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington
1.4 mi away
The Westin Wilmington
The Westin Wilmington
#6 of 13 in Wilmington
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Wilmington Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Wilmington Downtown

Address: 1102 West Street, Wilmington, DE 19801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range: $128 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Wilmington Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Wilmington Downtown Hotel is the perfect choice when traveling to Wilmington, DE or the Brandywine Valley. Our hotel features a new state-of-the-art lobby, providing greater flexibility and choices for guests. The Courtyard Wilmington Hotel lobby features inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard. The highlight of our new lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect., which provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. Our downtown Wilmington, Delaware hotel is located in the heart of downtown Wilmington, within the city's Financial and Legal District, minutes from dining, shopping and entertainment attractions of the Market Street Mall and the exciting Riverfront area of Wilmington. Visit top attractions such as Longwood Gardens, Winterthur Museum and Frawley Stadium when you stay at our Wilmington, DE hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Courtyard Wilmington Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Wilmington Downtown Hotel Wilmington
Wilmington Marriott
Wilmington Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing