We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A bit of a dissapointment!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Brandywine Valley Inn

BEST WESTERN Brandywine Valley Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Brandywine Valley Inn
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Wilmington
Office
Level Contributor
87 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A bit of a dissapointment!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I was attending a trade show in the area and the organization had a reduced convention rate for the event. I have stayed at other Best Western Plus properties which were very well maintained and updated. The Brandywine Valley Inn was neither. The Inn is a drive up Motel that looks like the drive up Motel we stayed in when we were on the family vacation when we were kids. Not much has changed in the forty or so years. The room were small and cramped. The beds were not great. The bathroom was very small and the shower head had something in it so only the right side of the shower head worked. Travelers beware! I would not recommend this Motel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whytegroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryT687, Manager at BEST WESTERN Brandywine Valley Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Whytegroup,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we have used the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 302-543-6155.


Sincerely,

Mary J. Taylor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    44
    44
    26
    40
See reviews for
60
53
18
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The location is close to restaurants and my family's home. So I will probably stay there again but the size of the room was small. I have stayed in a few different hotels and the rooms with two beds were larger including the beds.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank AISHA O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at this Best Western. The most important feature to me for any stay is a hot tub. This hot tub was nice and hot. The jets worked and it was clean. So I was happy. I had several special needs -- printing, faxing, and checking out the night before due to a very early departure for the airport. Hotel staff, from maids, groundskeepers, and reception were friendly and helpful. My room was next to a staff area -- so there were some interesting noises during the day... dryers running and a little chatter. This was fine because at night it was very quiet -- just the way I like it. The room decor was attractive and harmonious. I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Md USA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Bought a package for 2 nights and 3 days with tickets for Longwood Gardens, Hagley Museum and Winthertur included. At time of booking I requested 2 double beds. The person doing the reservation assured me this would be done. I explained to the reservation person that we were 2 friends traveling and we really needed to have 2 double beds. She expressed understanding of the situation. Arrived at the hotel and was told that what we have is a queen size bed. I do not even quite understand why we have this bed except that the checkin person says 2 double beds was not part of the package. Why did they not say that when we booked? I was very disappointed. We were given a rollaway but it was not the same. It just used up more space that was already limited. Room and bathroom was very small but clean and smelled fresh. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. That was a big plus. Staff attitude was excellent and the only reason I would return to this hotel is because of the staff. A bitter taste was left in my mouth with the bed situation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bliteful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It's a small & nice Hotel, with Fitness Center, swimming pool end jacuzzy (only for summer). In the rooms you have high speed wifi connections, small fridge and microwave. The staff was very nice and helpful. They have a shuttle service which will help me a lot.

Room Tip: The inner rooms have lees highway traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Grove, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We booked a room at this hotel at the last minute when we lost power (and water) to our house in the aftermath of Hurricane Sandy. We received a decent AAA rate (100/night plus a $25 pet fee). The room was cramped but comfortable with two double beds. Further inspection did notice a few things that one wouldn't expect to find in a Best Western "Plus" facility: a very small bathroom with signs of past water damage near the floorboards; wallpaper bubbling from the wall at the seams, and spiders.

The most disappointing thing about this hotel is that it is laid out in the style of a motor inn with entrances on the exterior (I suspect it used to be a HoJo's because there is a former HoJo's restaurant next door, now the Hollywood Grill). This is fine if you have one of the rooms facing inwards towards the pool area, but we were relegated to the outside of the hotel facing the parking lot and very close to Route 202. Consequently, noise from the parking lot and 202 were not insignificant. It wasn't enough to keep me awake at night, but it was more than I would have expected. There was also a huge puddle of water in the parking lot right outside our door from all the rainfall - I guess they were having drainage problems.

I do give the staff kudos for finding us a room that we could take occupancy of many hours before the official check-in time so we could all warm up and shower. That was much appreciated.

The hotel does offer a free continental breakfast catered by Manhattan Bagels with plenty of food and drinks.

In summary, this hotel is an interesting hybrid. It bills itself as a hotel for business travelers and those wishing to see the sights of the Brandywine Valley like Longwood Gardens and Winterthur, but in places it seems like a $45/night motor inn a trucker might stay in. Apparently the hotel does offer more luxurious rooms, but that was not what we were looking for that night - just a warm place with running water to sleep.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the parking lot area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelS1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

It's seldom that I would write a bad review, but my impression was the management doesn’t really care about the property. My coworker booked this place for $100/night on Priceline. The staff was very friendly and the morning breakfast was okay…but that’s about it. For a business traveler, the room was a total let down. It was cramped, this internet was slow, the bathroom was extremely small, the room had extension cords scattered about, the carpets were dirty and it just seemed like management did a shoddy job at keeping up the room &property. The worst part: I left the “do not disturb” sign on my door intentionally, but someone came into my room during anyway. All front desk could do was apologize and let management know. I would not recommend this place to anyone, period.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Audifanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wilmington hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
2.2 mi away
Inn at Wilmington
Inn at Wilmington
#6 of 12 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 stars 344 reviews
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Brandywine
3.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District
2.8 mi away
Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Brandywine Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Brandywine Valley Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Brandywine Valley Inn
Address: 1807 Concord Pike, Wilmington, DE 19803-2901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Brandywine Valley Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your BEST WESTERN Brandywine Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Brandywine Valley Hotel Wilmington
Best Western Wilmington
Wilmington Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing