We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Average accommodations on short notice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Brandywine Valley Inn

BEST WESTERN Brandywine Valley Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Brandywine Valley Inn
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Wilmington
West Grove, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Average accommodations on short notice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We booked a room at this hotel at the last minute when we lost power (and water) to our house in the aftermath of Hurricane Sandy. We received a decent AAA rate (100/night plus a $25 pet fee). The room was cramped but comfortable with two double beds. Further inspection did notice a few things that one wouldn't expect to find in a Best Western "Plus" facility: a very small bathroom with signs of past water damage near the floorboards; wallpaper bubbling from the wall at the seams, and spiders.

The most disappointing thing about this hotel is that it is laid out in the style of a motor inn with entrances on the exterior (I suspect it used to be a HoJo's because there is a former HoJo's restaurant next door, now the Hollywood Grill). This is fine if you have one of the rooms facing inwards towards the pool area, but we were relegated to the outside of the hotel facing the parking lot and very close to Route 202. Consequently, noise from the parking lot and 202 were not insignificant. It wasn't enough to keep me awake at night, but it was more than I would have expected. There was also a huge puddle of water in the parking lot right outside our door from all the rainfall - I guess they were having drainage problems.

I do give the staff kudos for finding us a room that we could take occupancy of many hours before the official check-in time so we could all warm up and shower. That was much appreciated.

The hotel does offer a free continental breakfast catered by Manhattan Bagels with plenty of food and drinks.

In summary, this hotel is an interesting hybrid. It bills itself as a hotel for business travelers and those wishing to see the sights of the Brandywine Valley like Longwood Gardens and Winterthur, but in places it seems like a $45/night motor inn a trucker might stay in. Apparently the hotel does offer more luxurious rooms, but that was not what we were looking for that night - just a warm place with running water to sleep.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the parking lot area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelS1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    44
    44
    26
    40
See reviews for
60
53
18
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

It's seldom that I would write a bad review, but my impression was the management doesn’t really care about the property. My coworker booked this place for $100/night on Priceline. The staff was very friendly and the morning breakfast was okay…but that’s about it. For a business traveler, the room was a total let down. It was cramped, this internet was slow, the bathroom was extremely small, the room had extension cords scattered about, the carpets were dirty and it just seemed like management did a shoddy job at keeping up the room &property. The worst part: I left the “do not disturb” sign on my door intentionally, but someone came into my room during anyway. All front desk could do was apologize and let management know. I would not recommend this place to anyone, period.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Audifanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wilmington hotels

White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Like Capistrano sparrows, we return annually to places we like. Actually, we find the Best Western Plus Brandywine Valley Inn so convenient, we sometimes return two and three times in a year.

Located just off I95 in the outskirts of Wilmington, DE, it's convenient to Brandywine Valley cultural attractions (think Hagley, Nemours, Winterthur, Longwood Gardens) and to the art museums in Philadelphia, Wilmington, Chadds Ford, and Baltimore. And for us, it's a convenient stop-over for friends at the Delaware beaches, in Maryland, and northern Virginia.

It's often booked weeks and months in advance -- corporate business travelers for Astra-Zeneca, Ashland, and Dupont, and railroad, utility and construction crews find it handy, too -- so don't wait until the last minute to make reservations.

We think the Inn and the no longer associated diner next door used to be a Howard Johnson property, which accounts for the 1950's style motel construction underlying the Best Western Brandywine. The upshot? First floor rooms can be noisy, so book second floor when you can. We particularly like the suites (standard twin bed room with attached "living room" with fold-out couch, bathroom, and desk) when available.

The Best Western Brandywine has been renovated twice since we began staying there, the last time about five years. It's probably not ready for a major renovation: today it's clean, functional, but tired. It needs fresh carpet, paint, ding and dent repairs, and bathroom spruce-up. In short, it's clean, working, but stale.

Unfortunately, the staff is stale, too. No one's nasty or difficult, but from front desk to housekeeping, the staff is just going through the motions. Time for a new manager. And a fresh cup of coffee.

Room Tip: Rooms in the south wing, second floor are quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I was here for a day in 2nd of July... checked in around 1 am... it was smooth & quick... the gentleman at the front desk was welcoming...
I really liked the way the rooms are around the swimming pool... felt like I am in a vacation spot somewhere... anyways checked into the room... it was neat & specious... the toilet was very small... the only problem... the AC in the room was very noisy...
Next morning the breakfast was ok... you know the free breakfasts in US hotels are not always that good anyways... they had few things to munch...
Over all the stay was ok... might come back again...

Room Tip: I think the rooms around the pool are better ones!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zahid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Hit by the Baltimore blackout and needing a hotel, this was the closest room available. Staff was very helpful and kind- reassigned another reservation so we could have a room with WiFi so my husband could work those 3 days. Room was very clean, small bathroom with toilet/bathtub squeezed into a very tiny space. Adequate free breakfast, loved the free chilled water bottles. Lots of shopping nearby. Not luxury but not bad either.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelMaven613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I'm not sure if they've recently renovated but our room was exactly what you'd expect in a no frills hotel like a best western. The room was fairly modern, and clean and comfortable. Beds had new sheets, bathroom was small but clean when we arrived and cleaned well everyday we were there. Our phone didn't work and the maintenance guy came within 5 minutes and replaced it.

The free breakfast was your standard hotel fare. Bagels, juice, coffee, cereal, waffles, yoghurt. There were free cookies put out in the lobby at 6pm each night! And coffee, tea and hot Chocolate were available between 6 and 9pm.

Our only two negative comments are that the walls were very thin (as they often are in hotels sadly) and our neighbors were partying still at 2am one night, and when ppl smoked in the courtyard below our second floor room the smoke would rise and pool under the eaves outside our door and the smell got into the room a bit (it was non smoking room).

We stayed 3 nights while touring the many attractions of the BRANDYWINE region. Definitely recommend this hotel for families or couples on a budget. It was good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ausasaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
123 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

I stayed at this hotel because it was there..I had not planned ahead. The staff was friendly and helpful and treated us to their "Winterthur" rooms at an attractive rate. Staying in these rooms made the experience just a little bit better than the average Best Western Experience.
The rooms were decorated in high style, tho' a bit small. That didn't matter however, as I had the room to myself, and enjoyed the "fancy" experience. Another plus, for the "lost" traveler is that the Hollywood Grill is right next door..A large diner w/ the usual diner food but cheerful decorations..not your average cookie-cutter "casual dinning' American experience. The free breakfast was pretty awful..but the price was right..

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gemswinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
2.2 mi away
Inn at Wilmington
Inn at Wilmington
#6 of 12 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 stars 344 reviews
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Brandywine
3.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District
2.8 mi away
Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Brandywine Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Brandywine Valley Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Brandywine Valley Inn
Address: 1807 Concord Pike, Wilmington, DE 19803-2901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Brandywine Valley Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your BEST WESTERN Brandywine Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Brandywine Valley Hotel Wilmington
Best Western Wilmington
Wilmington Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing