We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor service left more to be desired”
Review of Toscana

Toscana
Reserve with OpenTable
Toscana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #193 of 549 Restaurants in Wilmington
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Delaware Avenue
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor service left more to be desired”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We went to Toscana for Wilmington restaurant week since it is one of our favorites. However, once it took us 15 minutes after we sat down to just get a glass of water, let alone drinks and our order, that set the tone for the night.

Me and my girlfriend ordered off of the restaurant week menu, which actually is probably more than what we would normally spend at that restaurant. I ordered the gazpacho for appetizer, short rib ravioli for the entree and chocolate karma for desert. My girlfriend ordered the calamari for an appetizer, salmon for the entree and chocolate karma for desert.

The calamari we received came to us cold - the plate was hot, but the food clearly had been setting out for a while ready for us, but our server did not bring it to us. We sent it back and was able to get freshly cooked calamari. Thankfully the gazpacho came out correctly. Our entrees were overcooked but because of the problems we had had with our service, the food was hot, so we ate it - The food tasted excellent even though the entrees were slightly overcooked.

We discovered that night we were there there was a large party going on in the party room and thats what appears why there were all of these problems. We overheard the waitress serving a table next to us say to them "I'm not going to be here a lot because we have a party going on." Not exactly something I'd want to here, but at least she was honest with them.

It wasn't our table that was limited to the poor service, the entire main dining area, we saw was just not being attended to and not once did we have a manager come to our table apologizing or offering us anything.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank flyr1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    29
    19
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Birthday dinner”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Shared a dinner there for my partner's birthday on a quiet Friday evening. As usual, the food and service were excellent. I ordered a specialty cocktail from the menu, but our server informed me they were out of the particular liqueur needed to make it, so they comped me a free drink instead. When dessert was delivered 'Happy Birthday' was written in chocolate drizzle on the plate--such a nice touch, and why this is a great place to go for a special occasion.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RBfromDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
150 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Food-Great Service”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I went to Toscana with some girlfriends and we had a fantastic time. We all commented that our food was some of the best we've ever had. I ordered risotto with truffle oil - fabulous! The service was excellent - attentive but not pushy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington DE
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Sunday Night Buffet”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We had 7pm reservations. The dining room was maybe half full. Our wonderful waiter told us he usually has his customers look at the buffet to see what is offered, but "there is a problem tonight with the kitchen and everything is empty". What??? Apparently they were not expecting such a large crowd (?) and the kitchen was not prepared.
So what wound up happening is they got already prepared food from their other place, Toscana to Go, and did make some things. The soup became turkey chili (average), 1 salad became several--a delicious multi colored beet, a caprese, and a chicken/artichoke. The hot foods were gloppy and dried out until replaced. There was chicken and roasted vegetables, meatballs, a seafood risotto, and a tortellini. They were all much better when replaced and kept hot.
Around the corner from the main foods were mini pastries, some sad fruit salad, cheeses and salami, and oranges and mustard. The cheese seemed to be a sort of soft goat cheese, and strongly flavored swiss.
Clean plates were slow to come out, and some were dirty and were sent back.
Do I think they had an off night? Yes. Would we try it again? Yes.
Our server was delightful, tried to accept responsibility when he had none, and was wonderful.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beryl g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
281 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Toscana is one of the better restaurants in the Wilmington area. The selections are always new and innovative. Parking in the area can be an issue.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toscana also viewed

 

Been to Toscana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing