We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, prices, atmosphere and staff. Worth the wait if there is one...”
Review of Charcoal Pit - CLOSED

Charcoal Pit
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
287 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great food, prices, atmosphere and staff. Worth the wait if there is one...”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Skip all the chain restaurants on 202 and head to Charcoal Pit where you will get fast friendly service and delicious food. From their burgers, and steaks to soups and salads, everything is good. I've been coming here for over 35 years. The hot fudge icecream cake is a must- they will even cut it in have for you if you have two kids sharing it that fight like cats and dogs about sharing like my sister and I did when we were little. I've tried pretty much everything on the menu at this point, and I've been sticking to the tuna salad salad which is reallly good. I know- who gets salad at a place called "Charcoal Pit" but it is really tasty, and that way there's no guilt when you order one of their fabulous dessert creations! Most booths have a small jukebox at the table which is always a nice touch. They tend to get very crowded, so try them at off peak times, like during the week or later on a Saturday night. The line always moves fast though, and it is worth the wait.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cin4513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    30
    20
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Grove, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not what it used to be”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We were directed to sit at dirty, wet tables that were wiped with a sour rag. Service was friendly but the food took forever.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food. Fun atmosphere”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

One downfall, last time we were here someone played the same 8 minute song on the jukebox about 4 times in a row. I felt like I was being broken down prior to an interogation.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Padge9281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Mills
Level Contributor
86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very good burger restaurant”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We have been going to the Charcoal Pit for about 20 years. The food is always good, fresh, and plenty of it. The burgers are top grade ground beef, the fries are large and cooked just right, and not too salty. When you are finished the entree you will certainly want to order one of the hand made desserts, which are large and tasty. All in all this is just a great old fashioned burger restaurant with very good service and reasonable prices.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peace1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
77 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“For kids only”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Healthy is not how I would describe the Pit! Surely it is a good treat for small children on rare occasions-- with greasy french fries, milkshakes and burgers---not where I would want to eat beef.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank pacemsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charcoal Pit also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing