We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre, if you are lucky”
Review of Moro - CLOSED

Moro
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 13th Street (1 block from Pennsylvania Avenue and 711)
Description: The contemporary setting of the dining area and exceptional food from 3 time nominated James Beard Chef Michael DiBianca make Moro one of Wilmington's best restaurants. The ambiance has a big city feel while the food and service ranks right up there with the best in the region. Moro offers a cuisine of Just Good Food along with an amazing wine list, Chef tasting menu is available upon request. Moro Wine Dinner Series. Recent acclaims include Zaget's Delaware's Best Restaurant, Wine Spectator Award of Excellence, Delaware Today Magazine - Best New Restaurant, Best Service, Philadelphia Inquirer, Three Bells, Craig LaBan
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
“Mediocre, if you are lucky”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We tried them when we first moved to Wilmington several times and had good but never a memorable meal. Then we had a clunker of a time late food, noisy dining room, with aircon leaking on you.


Gave it a rest for three years and then had three good (but not great) meals and then another clunker this week. Mains came more than 45 minutes after the starters and only because we got up and found the someone at reception. One entree was cold and a duck entrée was partly overcooked and partly raw-all in the same piece! The maître de came over and blamed it on “too many people arriving at once “ which a bit ridiculous if you only take reservations

You can get an experienced waiter but most time the waiters are too young and not well trained in the wine or level of food they aspire (but mostly fail) to achieve

Done with them for good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tbak0114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    44
    20
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“We won't fooled again”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

It may be just my taste, but sitting down in a restaurant and getting blasted with piped in music by The Who was not a welcoming experience. That said, the music quieted down while we we were there but was still mildly annoying the whole time. The food was good, but again, it may be my taste but I found the chef had a bit heavy hand on the sugar. If you go, I recommend the wood baked oysters.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Food, drinks, and service all spectacular. Our server was named Matt M. Ask for him for a truly great experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AES2302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
185 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Wish the service matched the food”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

It would have been a four-dot visit, but the service really disappointed.

First, the good news: the food itself met our expectations. The menu includes mostly small but some large plates, with lots of variety and ambitious but not overly fussy combinations, all priced right -- not cheap but right where they should be for this kind of inventive and grown-up food. Same for the cocktails and wines - all reasonable and lots of excellent options. Three of us shared a dozen fine oysters and a “greens” plate to start, followed by a delicious grilled whole fish and five small plates. We shared two tasty desserts, a good bottle of wine, cocktails -- $200 including tip. All in all, it’d have been a very fair price for the meal. BUT....

BUT here’s the bad news: good service really makes the meal, and here the service let us way, way down.
* We were barely inside the door when the man at the desk said, “Reservation? “Name?” No greeting, no welcome, no let me take your coats, glad to have you. Felt brusque and cold.
* We’d finish a course and our used plates would sit there for a long time as wait staff walked back and forth past our table, oblivious, so we had to repeatedly ask wait staff to remove our used, empty dishes.
* Waiters seemed to be rushed throughout the two hours we were there, creating a kind of frantic air. Maybe okay for a bar or bistro but not for what’s supposed to be a fine dining restaurant.
* Dishes were just kind of plopped onto our table instead of being graciously put before us.
* The oysters came with a lovely tray of four accompaniments, but our waiter neglected to describe them. Sure, the menu had listed them, but by the time they came, who remembered what the menu said?! So we guessed that this one was pineapple, that one was cocktail sauce, that one looked like lemon juice...
* Dishes came with not one piece of service flatware, so we had to use our own used, dirty forks, knives and spoons to take our portions from the shared plates - nothing to cut and serve the fish, nothing to spoon out the mac and cheese, etc.
* The time that elapsed between the arrival of our small plates was way too long. We enjoy a relaxed meal and we know the standard small plates drill: things come out in whatever order the kitchen prepares them. But anywhere from 10 to 15 minutes elapsed between each of our first few small plates, and our large-plate grilled fish was nowhere in sight until almost an hour had passed since our first course, making not for a pleasant, relaxed dining experience but rather for one that signaled a haphazard, disorganized kitchen.
* As we finished the last few bites of our dessert, the waiter brought the check. Didn’t ask if we wanted anything else (more coffee? a cordial? one of the nifty-sounding ports on the menu?).

Too bad. Moro occupies the space that years ago housed the ground-breaking The Silk Purse, Wilmington’s first real nouvelle American fine dining restaurant. We’d hoped that Moro continued the tradition but last night it sure did not.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring City, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
606 reviews
369 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Excellent food, friendly staff”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Recently 4 of us ate at Moro's. It was the first time we had been there and we were very impressed. Our table was available when we arrived and shortly after, the entire place was filled. Every dish we had was excellent. The men in the group chose to order the large entree plates---one had salmon and the other bronzino. Both were cooked perfectly and delicious. Each of the women ordered an excellent tomato soup and several small plates---perfect for sharing and each excellent. The wine was also very good.
Our waiter was very knowledgeable and able to explain each dish.
We had a lovely evening and will go back again. Unfortunately the drive to the restaurant is about an hour each way; otherwise, we would be there much more often.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing