We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Dinner”
Review of Eclipse Bistro

Eclipse Bistro
Ranked #5 of 553 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Middletown, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Business Dinner”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

My Boss booked the dinner and said the food was spectacular. The dining room is very relaxed with a small bar to wait at for your guests. Our waiter was very attentive and offered the specials which soounded so good I didnt bother with the menu.
I had the mushroom soup which was simply the best I have ever experienced. The steak that followed didnt let me down and the sauce and seasoning were exquisit. With new potatoes and white asparagus.....
Had a creme Brulee to finish up a superb relaxed business dinner. i will definitely be back for more!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank andyp412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    49
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, DE
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very good but some small portions”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We had dinner there on a Saturday night. We had made reservations in advance which was good since it was busy. Our server was friendly. She had the salad special ($10) and I had the Caesar ($9) for starters. Both were good but a little overpriced - this isn't New York. For the entrees, I had the Steak Frites ($26) which was good although I probably should have had it cooked a little more. She had the scallops ($25) which were good but there was only 4 - and she was still hungry. We ended the meal with the Tiramisu ($8) which was excellent. The kitchen was a little slow but overall it was a good meal.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Woodstock1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant in Wilmington De”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Eclipse is our special occasion place - birthdays, anniversarys. I took my mother there last year, she really liked the papperadella. My favorite dish is the short rib tacos. Love, love it! The staff are attentive and knowledgable.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rusnak51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
300 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“One of my absolute favorites”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

The best meals I have had recently have been at Eclipse. I don't eat meat or poultry and get tired of salmon everywhere else. Eclipse features escolar (butterfish), wahoo and some other uncommon varieties. They cook the fish perfectly which is not always easy to do with thicker cuts and pair it with perfectly cooked sides.
At lunch I generally eat their Nicoise salad which is as good as any I have eaten in France.
If you like calamari, they serve it with a tasty sauce in a large pasta bowl.
Service is always excellent.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank eclairewl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent!”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We used to eat at Eclipse all the time...and for some reason we have not been there in awhile. I suggested Eclipse as a meeting spot for a professional group I work with. So glad I did! The food, presentation, service, atmosphere...could not be better. I convinced the group to order the unique calamari appetizer, although many had never eaten it and were hesitant to try it. They all ate it and loved it. Soup, salad, entrees....everything was great! The only disappointment was that we were too full to order dessert!
All of us will be back!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DelDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eclipse Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Eclipse Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing